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Instructions for Preparing Form 500 
Virginia Corporation Income Tax Returns for 2016

What’s New 

Advancement of Virginia’s Fixed Date Conformity with the Internal Revenue Code
Virginia’s date of conformity with the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) was advanced from December 31, 2014 to 
December 31, 2015, with limited exceptions. Virginia will continue to deconform from the bonus depreciation 
allowed for certain assets under federal law; the five-year carryback of certain federal net operating loss (NOL) 
deductions generated in Taxable Year 2008 or 2009; the federal income tax treatment of applicable high yield 
discount obligations; and the federal income tax treatment of cancellation of debt income realized in connection 
with certain business debts.
At the time these instructions went to print, the only required fixed date conformity adjustments were those 
mentioned above. However, if legislation is enacted that results in changes to the IRC for the 2016 taxable year, 
taxpayers may need to make adjustments to their Virginia returns that are not described in these instructions. 
Information about any such adjustments will be posted on the Department’s website at www.tax.virginia.gov.

Food Crop Donations to a Nonprofit Food Bank Tax Credit
For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2016, but before January 1, 2022, a tax credit is allowed for 
taxpayers that are engaged in the business of farming for growing food crops in the Commonwealth and donating 
such crops to a nonprofit food bank. The amount of the credit is equal to 30% of the fair market value of such 
crops. No taxpayer is permitted to claim more than $5,000 in credits for a taxable year. This credit is subject to 
a $250,000 annual credit cap.
To the extent a credit is allowed for growing food crops in the Commonwealth and donating such crops to a 
nonprofit food bank, an addition to a taxpayer’s federal taxable income is required for any amount claimed by the 
taxpayer as a federal income tax deduction for such donation.

Modified Method of Apportionment for Taxpayers with Enterprise Data Center Operations
A taxpayer with an enterprise data center operation that enters into a memorandum of understanding with the 
Virginia Economic Development Partnership Authority (“VEDP”) to make a new capital investment of at least $150 
million in an enterprise data center in Virginia is required to apportion Virginia taxable income using a single sales 
factor method of apportionment. This modified method of apportionment is phased in as follows: 

•	 From July 1, 2016 until July 1, 2017, qualifying corporations are required to use a quadruple-weighted sales 
factor; and 

•	 From July 1, 2017, and thereafter, qualifying corporations are required to use the single sales factor method 
of apportionment. 

Research and Development Expenses Tax Credit
For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2016, several changes were made to the existing Research 
and Development Expenses Tax Credit. Such changes include increasing the annual credit cap from $6 million 
to $7 million, increasing the amount of credits each taxpayer may claim, allowing a taxpayer to determine the 
credit using a simplified method in lieu of the primary statutory method, extending the sunset date for the credit 
from taxable years beginning before January 1, 2019 to taxable years beginning before January 1, 2022, and 
prohibiting a taxpayer from claiming both this credit and the new Major Research and Development Expenses 
Tax Credit for the same taxable year.

Major Research and Development Expenses Tax Credit 
Taxpayers with Virginia qualified research and development expenses in excess of $5 million for a taxable year 
may claim the new Major Research and Development Expenses Tax Credit. The amount of the credit is equal 
to 10% of the difference between the Virginia qualified research and development expenses paid or incurred 
by the taxpayer during the taxable year; and 50% of the average Virginia qualified research and development 
expenses paid or incurred by the taxpayer for the 3 taxable years immediately preceding the taxable year 
for which the credit is being determined.  If the taxpayer did not pay or incur Virginia qualified research and 
development expenses in any one of the 3 taxable years immediately preceding the taxable year for which the 



credit is being determined, the credit is equal to 5% of the Virginia qualified research and development expenses 
paid or incurred by the taxpayer during the taxable year. The total amount of Major Research and Development 
Expenses Tax Credits that may be issued for each fiscal year is limited to $20 million.

Exception to the Captive REIT Addition
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, any voting power or value of the beneficial interests 
or shares in a real estate investment trust (“REIT”) that are held in a separate asset account of a life insurance 
corporation are excluded from consideration for purposes of determining whether a REIT is a captive REIT 
subject to the Virginia income tax addition for captive REITs.

Assistance

www.tax.virginia.gov

The Department’s website contains valuable information to help you. 

•	 Online Services - Link to online registration, filing, payment, and other electronic services. 

•	 Laws, Rules & Decisions – Access the Code of Virginia, Tax Regulations, Legislative Summaries, Rulings 
by the Tax Commissioner, Tax Bulletins and Attorney General Opinions. 

•	 e-Alerts – Sign up and stay informed. By subscribing, you will periodically receive automatic e-mail 
notifications regarding legislative changes, filing reminders, and other relevant information.

Contact the Department

	 Customer Service Inquiries 	 Forms Request Unit 
	 Department of Taxation	 Department of Taxation
	 P.O. Box 1115	 P.O. Box 1317
	 Richmond, Virginia 23218-1115	 Richmond, Virginia 23218-1317
	 Phone:	(804) 367-8037	 Phone:	 (804) 367-8037
	 FAX:	 (804) 254-6111



INSTRUCTIONS FOR PREPARING FORM 500 
VIRGINIA CORPORATION INCOME TAX RETURNS FOR 2016

(References are to the Code of Virginia, unless otherwise noted)

General Information

Corporations Required to File
Every corporation organized under the laws of Virginia, every 
foreign corporation registered with the State Corporation 
Commission for the privilege of doing business in Virginia, 
and every corporation having income from Virginia sources, 
aside from corporations that qualify for an exception, must 
(with the exceptions stated in these instructions) file a 
return through the Federal/State e-File program. The return 
should be submitted and accepted on or before the 15th 
day of the 4th month (15th day of the 6th month for nonprofit 
corporations) following the close of its taxable year.
Receivers, trustees in dissolution, trustees in bankruptcy, and 
assignees, operating the property or business of corporations 
must make returns of income for such corporations. If a 
receiver has full custody of and control over the business 
or property of a corporation, he is deemed to be operating 
such business or property, whether he is carrying on the 
business for which the corporation was organized or is only 
in marshaling, selling, or disposing of its assets for purposes 
of liquidation. (Va. Code § 58.1‑441).
A Foreign Sales Corporation (FSC) and any income attributable 
to an FSC are exempt under Virginia law; however, it may be 
necessary for an FSC to file an information return if it meets 
the provisions of Va. Code § 58.1-441 and the regulations 
thereunder.
Any electric supplier, pipeline distribution company, gas utility, 
or gas supplier that is subject to federal income tax is also 
subject to the Virginia corporation income tax and should file 
a Virginia Corporation Income Tax Return, Form 500.
Electric suppliers may be subject to a minimum tax instead 
of the corporate tax for any taxable year that their minimum 
tax liability is greater than their corporate income tax liability. 
Schedule 500EL is used to compute the minimum tax and 
determine which tax applies.
Electric Cooperatives are subject to tax on all modified net 
income derived from nonmember sales and must file a Form 
500EC even if no tax is due. Electric cooperatives may be 
subject to a minimum tax instead of the modified net income 
tax if their minimum tax liability is greater than their modified 
net income tax liability.  See Schedule 500MT.
Beginning on or after January 1, 2009, a Captive REIT is 
required to add back any federal deduction for dividends 
paid to its shareholders. It will then allocate and apportion 
income, and pay Virginia income tax, in the same manner as 
other corporations. A Captive REIT is defined as a REIT (i) 
whose shares are not publicly traded, (ii) 50% or more of the 
shares are owned by a corporate entity, and (iii) more than 
25% of the income of the REIT consists of rents from real 
property. Exceptions are provided to ensure that an affiliated 
group of REITs will not be considered captive REITs unless 

the ultimate ownership of the group is by a single corporate  
entity. Also, entities organized under the laws of Australia and 
other foreign countries that are similar to REITs will not be 
considered a captive REIT, if they are widely held. In addition, 
for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, any 
voting power or value of the beneficial interests or shares 
in a REIT that are held in a separate asset account of a life 
insurance corporation are excluded from consideration for 
purposes of determining whether the REIT is a captive REIT 
for purposes of the addition.
Electing small business corporations, not taxable as 
corporations under Va. Code § 58.1-400, are required to file 
Form 502, for pass-through entities. 
Exempt Corporations
Corporations not organized for pecuniary profit, which 
are also exempt from income tax under IRC § 501(c), are 
taxed only on their unrelated business taxable income and 
must report that unrelated business income on Form 500; 
otherwise, no returns are required.
Public service corporations that pay a state franchise tax or 
license tax upon gross receipts, insurance companies that 
pay a state license tax on gross premiums and reciprocal or 
inter‑insurance exchanges that pay a premium tax to the state 
are not required to file an income tax return. Additionally, state 
and national banks, banking associations, trust companies, 
and credit unions organized and conducted as banking 
institutions are not taxed on their income by Virginia and are 
not required to file an income tax return. In addition, effective 
for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, 
Interest-Charged Domestic International Sales Corporations 
(IC-DISCs) are exempt from Virginia Corporation Income Tax 
and are not required to file an income tax return. (Va. Code 
§ 58.1-401.)
Nonprofit Hospitals 
Nonprofit hospitals are required to provide the Department 
with a copy of the hospital’s federal Form 990 or Form  
990-EZ (or the successor form to such form) that was filed 
with the Internal Revenue Service for the relevant year. Non-
Profit Hospitals are not required to file a Form 500; therefore, 
a paper copy of the federal Form 990 or Form 990-EZ must be 
mailed directly to the Department. A paper copy of  the form 
shall be provided to the Department within 30 days following 
the filing of the federal Form 990 or Form 990-EZ tax form 
with the Internal Revenue Service. In addition, such hospital 
shall provide the Department a copy of any interim tax form, 
report, or return that the hospital filed with or provided to the 
Internal Revenue Service for the relevant year pursuant to 
Title 26 of the United States Code or the rules and regulations 
thereunder. The copy of the interim tax form, report, or return 
shall be provided to the Department within 30 days following 
the filing of the same with, or the providing of the same to, 
the Internal Revenue Service.

Page 1



Page 2

Period to be Covered by Return
A corporation’s taxable year is the same as its taxable year 
for federal income tax purposes. If a corporation’s taxable 
year is changed for federal income tax purposes, its taxable 
year also changes for state income tax purposes. (Va. Code 
§ 58.1-440.)
Accounting Methods
A corporation’s method of accounting is the same as its 
method of accounting for federal income tax purposes. In 
the absence of any method of accounting for federal income 
tax purposes, Virginia taxable income shall be computed 
using the accounting method that is regularly used in the 
corporation’s bookkeeping, provided such method clearly 
reflects income in the opinion of the Department. If a 
corporation’s accounting method changes for federal income 
tax purposes, it also changes for state income tax purposes. 
(Va. Code § 58.1-440.) 
Standard Apportionment Method for Corporations 
A double-weighted sales factor is used for corporate 
apportionment. Under this formula, the sales factor 
is weighted 50% and payroll and property are both 
weighted 25% in determining the overall corporate income 
apportionment factor. 
Apportionment for Manufacturers - Alternative Election
Qualifying manufacturing corporations may elect to determine 
their Virginia taxable income by using a single sales factor 
method of apportionment based on sales. This modification 
will be phased in as follows:
• 	A triple-weighted sales factor method of apportionment may 

be elected for taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 
2011, but before July 1, 2013;

• 	A quadruple-weighted sales factor method of apportionment 
may be elected for taxable years beginning on or after July 
1, 2013, but before July 1, 2014; and

•	 A single sales factor method of apportionment may be 
elected for taxable years beginning on and after July 1, 
2014.

For purposes of this election, a manufacturing corporation 
is defined as a domestic or foreign corporation primarily 
engaged in activities that in accordance with the North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS), United 
States Manual, United States Office of Management and 
Budget, 1997 Edition, would be included in Sector 11, 31,32, 
or 33. See the instructions for Schedule 500A for details on 
how to compute apportionment factors. 
Apportionment for Retail Companies
Retail companies are required to use a single sales factor 
method of apportionment for taxable years beginning on and 
after July 1, 2015.
For purposes of this requirement, a retail company is defined 
as a domestic or foreign corporation primarily engaged in 
activities that, in accordance with the North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS), United States Manual, United 
States Office of Management and Budget, 1997 Edition, 
would be included in Sectors 44-45.

See the instructions for Schedule 500A for details on how to 
compute apportionment factors.
Apportionment for Certain Enterprise Data Center 
Operations
A taxpayer with an enterprise data center operation that 
enters into a memorandum of understanding with the Virginia 
Economic Development Partnership Authority (“VEDP”) to 
make a new capital investment of at least $150 million in 
an enterprise data center in Virginia is required to apportion 
Virginia taxable income using a single sales factor method 
of apportionment. This modified method of apportionment is 
phased in as follows: 
•	 From July 1, 2016 to July 1, 2017, qualifying corporations 

are required to use a quadruple-weighted sales factor; 
and 

•	 From July 1, 2017, and thereafter, qualifying corporations 
are required to use the single sales factor method of 
apportionment. 

When to File
Every corporation income tax return must be submitted on 
or before the 15th day of the fourth month (15th day of the 
6th month for nonprofit corporations) following the close of a 
corporation’s taxable year. (Va. Code § 58.1-441).
How to File
The Department requires that corporation income tax returns 
and payments be submitted electronically. There are two 
options available. Returns may be filed through the Federal/
State e-File program, or certain Virginia corporations 
may qualify to file a Form 500EZ using eForms on the 
Department’s website. See below for more information. 
e-File (Form 500)
The e-File system is supported by numerous commercial 
software programs. e-File software will automatically check 
for completeness, correct errors, generate the applicable 
corporation income tax schedules, and electronically 
transmit the return and payment to the Federal/State e-File 
processing systems.  A list of approved commercial software 
is available on the Department’s website.  If a tax payment 
is required, the payment can be made through e-File or 
eForms as a direct debit, or the corporation may pay with 
an ACH Credit established through the corporation’s bank. 
The e-File program provides many benefits to corporations:
•	 The federal and state returns may be filed electronically 

at the same time.
•	 The federal return is automatically provided to the state 

electronically.
•	 Consolidated and combined returns are supported.
•	 Portable Document Format (PDF) files of required  

documents may be attached.
•	 Choice of approved e-File software programs. 

Corporations may find their current software already 
supports e-Filing.

•	 The ability to schedule to pay a tax due through direct 
debit for a future date when filing before the due date. 
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•	 e-File prior year returns for up to 2 tax years.
In order to successfully e-File, the corporation must:
•	 Use an approved commercial e-File software product. 

Approved e-File software vendors will be listed on our 
website.

•	 Be able to create a readable PDF.  This means you must 
either have a scanner that allows you to scan documents 
into a PDF file, or software that allows you to save 
documents as a PDF. This feature will allow you to e-file 
your state return if the IRS does not support the federal 
return and/or schedules through the e-File system. You 
can attach unsupported federal returns and schedules 
as PDF files to the state return electronic transmission.

•	 The Virginia e-File program has been designed to accept 
transmission of the federal and state return together 
or separately. This is often referred to as a state-only 
transmission. The state only transmission option can be 
used when the federal return being filed is not supported 
by the federal e-File system.  This allows the state return 
to be e-Filed by itself. Most software vendors support the 
electronic transmission of the federal and state returns 
together or separately. 

•	 Large corporations must decide whether to use an 
Electronic Return Originator (ERO) to electronically file 
the return or prepare and e-File the return themselves. 
If a corporation chooses to prepare and e-File the 
return themselves, they may have to register and apply 
with the IRS to obtain an Electronic Filing Identification 
Number (EFIN) and possibly an Electronic Transmitter 
Identification Number (ETIN) depending upon the e-File 
option chosen. See our website for detailed information.  

•	 Small corporations should use an online provider to avoid 
having to register with the IRS for an Electronic Filing 
Identification Number (EFIN).

eForms (Forms 500EZ, 500CP, 500V, and 500ES)
An online return, Form 500EZ, is available through the 
eForms application on the Department’s website.  This 
return is a shorter version of the existing Form 500, and 
is designed to simplify the filing process. You can submit 
corporation income tax payments electronically through 
eForms as well. This includes return payments (Form 500V), 
estimated payments (Form 500ES) and extension payments 
(Form 500CP).  Using eForms is a fast and free way to file 
and pay state taxes. 
To be eligible to file Form 500EZ, you must meet all of 
the criteria below:
•	 100% of the corporation’s business is in Virginia. 
•	 The total additions to federal taxable income are $1,000 

or less.
•	 The total subtractions from federal taxable income are 

$1,000 or less.
•	 The corporation may not claim the Savings and Loan 

Association Bad Debt Deduction.
•	 The corporation is not included in a consolidated or 

combined filing of another entity. 

•	 The corporation claims no tax credits other than tentative 
tax payments or estimated tax payments. 

•	 The corporation is not required to pay federal Alternative 
Minimum Tax. 

•	 The taxpayer is not a Telecommunications Corporation 
required to file Form 500T or an Electric Cooperative 
required to file Form 500EL.

•	 The corporation will not claim a Net Operating Loss 
Deduction for the year being filed.

•	 The Corporation is not a Pass-Through Entity.
•	 The Federal Taxable Income of the Corporation may not 

exceed $40,000 for the taxable year of this form.
•	 The Corporation may not have any Fixed-Date Conformity 

Adjustments or Modifications
If the corporation meets the above conditions, complete and 
file Form 500EZ on the Department’s website under eForms 
at www.tax.virginia.gov.
Waiver Request
If you are unable to file and pay electronically, you may 
request a waiver.  All requests for waivers must be 
submitted to the Department in writing using the Corporation 
Income Tax Electronic Filing Waiver Request form on the 
Department’s website at www.tax.virginia.gov. 
Extension of Time
An automatic extension of time to file is granted until the date 
6 months after the due date for filing the corporation income 
tax return or 30 days after the extended date for filing the 
federal income tax return, whichever is later. 
If Form 500 is filed within the automatic extension period, but 
less than 90% of the tax liability was paid by the original due 
date, an extension penalty will apply.  The extension penalty 
is imposed at the rate of 2% per month or part of a month on 
the balance of the tax due with the return from the original 
due date through the date of filing to a maximum of 12%. If 
an additional tax payment is needed to ensure that the tax 
liability has been paid, the extension payment must be made 
electronically.  The Department provides two secure online 
options for submitting extension payments, eForms (using 
Form 500CP) and Business iFile.  Corporations can also 
pay using an ACH Credit transaction.  Electric cooperatives 
are required to make sufficient payments based on their 
estimated modified net income tax liability.  If the return is 
filed after the extended due date, a 30% late filing penalty 
will apply on the balance of tax due with the return.  The 
minimum penalty for failure to file timely is $100. 
If any amount of the tax is underestimated, interest accrues 
at the underpayment rate set in IRC § 6621, plus 2%. 
Penalties and Interest 
If the return is filed within the 6-month extension, but the 
corporation failed to pay 90% of the tax due by the original due 
date, then the corporation is subject to an extension penalty of 
2% per month or fraction of a month thereof from the original 
due date to the filing of the corporation income tax return to 
the date of payment. The penalty is applied to the balance 
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of tax due with the return from the original due date through 
the date of filing. The maximum extension penalty is 12% of 
the tax due. If the return is filed after the extended due date, 
the extension provisions do not apply and the corporation is 
subject to the late filing penalty. (Va. Code § 58.1-455.) In 
no case will the penalty for failure to file timely be less than 
$100, and this minimum $100 penalty applies whether or not 
tax is due for the period covered by the return. If Form 500 is 
filed within the extension period and the total amount due is 
not included with the return, the late payment penalty will be 
assessed at the rate of 6% per month from the date of filing 
through the date of payment, up to a maximum of 30% of the 
tax due. Civil and criminal penalties may be imposed for filing 
a fraudulent return. The criminal penalty for filing a fraudulent 
return is a Class 6 felony. (Va. Code § 58.1-451 and Va. Code 
§ 58.1-452.) Interest on the unpaid balance of any tax and 
penalty is charged at the underpayment rate established by 
IRC § 6621, plus 2%, from the due date until paid.
Penalty for Returned Check or EFT Nonpayment.
If your bank does not honor your payment to the Department, 
the Department may impose a penalty of $35, as authorized 
by Va. Code § 2.2-614.1. This penalty will be assessed in 
addition to other penalties due.
Return Forms and Schedules
Listed below are the available forms and schedules to 
submit through the Federal/State e-File Program.
Form 500 - Corporation Income Tax Return.  Used to 
compute a corporation’s income tax liability and to determine 
the amount of tax due or the amount of the refund.
Schedule 500ADJ - Schedule of Adjustments.  Used to 
report additions to or to claim subtractions from Federal 
Taxable Income and to claim withholding reported to a 
corporation by a Pass-Through Entity on Virginia Schedule 
VK-1. Also, used to compute the corrected tax liability for an 
amended Form 500. 
Schedule 500CR - Schedule of Credits.  Used to claim 
both nonrefundable and refundable credits.
Schedule 500FED – Schedule of Federal Line Items.  Used 
to report specific line items from the corporation’s federal 
income tax return.
Schedule 500A - Multistate Corporation.  Used to allocate 
and apportion income by corporations that transact or conduct 
part of their business within Virginia and part of their business 
outside Virginia.
Schedule 500AB – Schedule of Related Entity Add 
Backs and Exceptions.  Used to: (i) add back certain 
deductions that may be taken by a corporation on its federal 
return for interest, royalties, and other expenses related to 
intangible property such as trademarks and patents; (ii) report 
payments; and (iii) identify exceptions.
Schedule 500AC – Schedule of Affiliated Corporations.  
Corporations filing as Combined or Consolidated are required 
to submit a Schedule 500AC for each member, including the 
parent company, that is doing business in Virginia, or that has 
Virginia source income, and is part of the group included in 
this tax return. The number of Schedules AC enclosed with 

the return must equal the number of affiliates reported on 
Form 500, Page 1.
Form 500C – Underpayment of Estimated Tax.  Used to 
determine if an addition to tax charge is owed for failure by 
the corporation to pay sufficient estimated tax during the 
taxable year.
Form 500T – Telecommunication Companies Minimum 
Tax.  Every telecommunications company as defined by 
statute and certified by the State Corporation Commission 
must complete and submit Form 500T.
Schedule 500EL – Electric Suppliers Corporation 
Minimum Tax and Credit Schedule.  Every electric supplier 
as defined by statute and certified by the State Corporation 
Commission must complete and submit Schedule 500EL. 
Attach Copy of the Federal Return  The corporation must 
submit a copy of the income tax return that it filed with the 
IRS to the Department. 
Not all federal income tax returns are available to 
electronically file.  If the federal income tax return is not 
available to file electronically, then the federal return can be 
attached as a PDF file to the Virginia electronic return.
Consolidated or Combined Returns
If one corporation owns 80% or more of the outstanding 
voting stock of another corporation(s), or if 80% or more of 
the outstanding voting stock of two or more corporations is 
owned by the same interest, a consolidated or a combined 
return may be filed by those corporations that are subject 
to Virginia income taxes. Returns filed on a consolidated 
or combined basis must enclose with the group return a 
completed Schedule of Affiliated Corporations, Schedule 
500AC, for each member included in the combined or 
consolidated Virginia return, including all affiliates and the 
parent company.
If a corporation elects to file on a separate, consolidated, 
or combined basis, all returns thereafter must be filed on 
the same basis, unless the Department grants permission 
to change the election. (Va. Code § 58.1-442.)  A binding 
election is made in the first year in which a group of affiliated 
corporations is eligible to file a consolidated or combined 
return in Virginia. Prior elections continue in effect and can 
be changed only if permission is granted by the Department.
If a group of affiliated corporations has previously elected to 
file separate returns or a combined return for two or more 
members, then permission to file a consolidated return will 
generally be denied unless the group: (1) files a consolidated 
federal return, and (2) includes corporations that are required 
for Virginia purposes to use different apportionment factors. 
Any request to switch from one filing method to another must 
be submitted on or before the due date for the first return to 
use the requested filing method.
For purposes of Va. Code § 58.1-442:
(1)	a consolidated return means a single return for a group 

of corporations affiliated within the meaning of Va. Code 
§ 58.1-302, prepared in accordance with the principles 
of IRC § 1502 and the regulations thereunder;
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(2)	a combined return means a single return for a group 
of corporations affiliated within the meaning of Va. 
Code § 58.1-302, in which income or loss is separately 
determined in accordance with the following:

	 a.	Virginia taxable income or loss is computed separately 
for each corporation;

	 b.	allocable income is allocated to the state of commercial 
domicile separately for each corporation;

	 c.	 apportionable income or loss is computed utilizing 
separate apportionment factors for each corporation; 
and

	 d.	 income or loss computed in accordance with a through 
c above is combined and reported on a single return 
for the affiliated group.

All supplementary and supporting schedules filed with 
a consolidated or combined return should be prepared 
in columnar form, one column being provided for each 
corporation included in the consolidated or combined return. 
Supporting schedules for consolidated returns should also 
include a column for totals of like items before adjustments 
are made, a column for intercompany eliminations and 
adjustments, and a column for totals of like items after 
giving effect to the eliminations and adjustments. The 
items included in the columns for eliminations should be 
symbolized to readily identify contra items affected, and 
suitable explanations should be added if necessary.
Prohibition of worldwide consolidation or combination. The 
Department shall not require, and no corporation may elect, 
that a consolidation or combination of an affiliated group 
include any controlled foreign corporation, the income of 
which is derived from sources outside of the United States. 
(Va. Code § 58.1- 443.)
Effective for applications filed with the Department on or 
after July 1, 2003, a group of affiliated corporations that has 
filed Virginia income tax returns on the same basis for at 
least the preceding 20 years will be granted permission to 
change the basis of the type of return filed from consolidated 
to separate or from separate or combined to consolidated if: 
(1) the tax computed under the affiliated group’s requested 
return basis would be equal to or greater than the tax for the 
full taxable year immediately preceding the taxable year for 
which the requested return basis would be applicable; and 
(2) the affiliated group agrees to compute its tax liability under 
both the requested return basis and the elected return basis 
and pay the greater of the two amounts for the taxable year 
in which the requested return basis is effective and for the 
immediately succeeding taxable year.
In-State Corporations
If the entire business of the corporation is transacted or 
conducted within Virginia, the tax is computed upon the entire 
Virginia taxable income of the corporation for each taxable 
year. The entire business of the corporation will be considered 
to have been transacted or conducted within this state if the 
corporation is not subject to a net income tax, a franchise tax 
measured by net income or a franchise tax for the privilege 
of doing business in another state. (Va. Code § 58.1-405.)

Multistate Corporations 
A corporation having income from business activity that 
is taxable both within and without Virginia must allocate 
and apportion its net income as provided in Va. Code § 
58.1-406 through Va. Code § 58.1-421. Such a corporation 
must complete and attach Schedule 500A to the return. A 
corporation is not taxable in another state if that state is 
prohibited from imposing an income tax on the corporation 
because its business activity in the state does not exceed 
the minimum standards set forth in Public Law 86‑272. (15 
U.S.C.A. §§ 381 - 384.)
Report of Change in Federal Taxable Income
If the amount of a corporation’s federal taxable income as 
reported on its federal income tax return for any taxable 
year is changed or corrected by the IRS (or other competent 
authority), or is changed as the result of a renegotiation of a 
contract or subcontract with the United States, the taxpayer 
must report this change to the Department within one year. 
Any taxpayer filing an amended federal return must also file 
an amended state return and must pay any additional tax 
and interest due, if applicable. 
Refund of Virginia Tax
A corporation may file an amended return to claim a refund 
within the later of:
(1)	3 years from the due date of the return or extended due 

date (whichever is later);
(2)	1 year from the final determination of any change or 

correction in the liability of the taxpayer for any federal tax 
upon which the state tax is based, provided that the refund 
does not exceed the amount of the decrease in Virginia 
tax attributable to such federal change or correction;

(3)	2 years from the filing of an amended Virginia return 
resulting in the payment of additional tax, provided that 
the amended return raises issues relating only to the 
prior amended return and the refund does not exceed the 
amount of the tax payment made with the prior amended 
return; or

(4)	2 years from the payment of an assessment, provided that 
the amended return raises issues relating only to the prior 
assessment and the refund does not exceed the amount 
of tax paid on the prior assessment.

Attach a copy of federal Forms 1120X or 1139, the Revenue 
Agent’s Report, Statement of Adjustment to Your Account, or 
other forms or statements showing the nature of any federal 
change and the date that it became final. For an Electric 
Cooperative subject to the modified net income tax, an 
amended return may be filed on Form 500EC.
The Federal/State e-File program only supports amended 
returns for the current taxable year and the 2 preceding 
taxable years. Amended returns for prior taxable years 
must be filed by paper.  Amended Forms 500EC will also 
need to be filed by paper. For the above-mentioned types 
of amended returns, write to: Virginia Department of 
Taxation, P.O. Box 1500, Richmond, Virginia 23218-
1500.
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Net Operating Loss Deductions
Note: Virginia tax law generally conforms to the IRC as it 
existed on December 31, 2015. There is no specific Virginia 
statutory provision allowing net operating loss deductions, 
carrybacks or carryforwards. However, because the starting 
point (Line 1, Form 500) for computing Virginia taxable 
income is federal taxable income, taxpayers are generally 
permitted to claim net operating loss deductions, carrybacks, 
and carryforwards for Virginia tax purposes to the extent that 
such losses were included in federal taxable income. Since 
federal income must be modified for Virginia additions and 
subtractions, the additions and subtractions of the loss year 
follow the federal loss to the year the loss is utilized. Thus, if 
the federal net operating loss is fully utilized in a carryback or 
carryover year, the net amount of additions and subtractions 
will be applied in the same ratio to the applicable year. The 
federal net operating loss deduction may be used only to 
reduce federal taxable income, and a federal net operating 
loss deduction cannot create or increase a federal net 
operating loss.
Also, due to the reduced tax liability in carryback and carry 
forward years, any credits previously claimed in those years 
may need to be adjusted as well as the credit carryover 
amounts. An amended Form 500 should be filed indicating 
the change in the amount of credits claimed and the corrected 
carryover amounts  Attach a revised Schedule 500CR to the 
amended returns filed to report the changes to the credit(s) 
claimed or carryover amount resulting from the net operating 
loss carryback.
In most cases, the carryback period for net operating losses 
will be the same for federal and Virginia purposes.  However, 
under IRC § 172(b)(1)(H),taxpayers may carryback net 
operating loss deductions generated in taxable years 2008 
and 2009 for 5 years for federal purposes. Virginia does 
not conform to that provision of the IRC and such losses 
may only be carried back for 2 years for Virginia purposes.  
Consequently, to the extent that federal and Virginia net 
operating loss carrybacks and carryforwards differ, separate 
accounting will be required.  
Note: Do not file Form 500 to carryback a net operating loss. 
Use Form 500NOLD, Corporation Application for Refund 
Carryback of Net Operating Loss.  Be sure to file the correct 
form. Using the incorrect form will delay the processing of 
your return and may result in having your tax return sent 
back to you. File Form 500 NOLD by paper; the form is not 
supported by the Federal/State e-File Program. For a copy 
of the Virginia regulations, visit www.tax.virginia.gov. For 
more information, call (804) 367-8037 or write to Virginia 
Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 1115, Richmond, VA 
23218-1115. Tenemos servicios disponibles en Español.
Estimated Income Tax 
Corporation estimated income taxes (Form 500ES) must be 
filed and paid electronically.  Visit www.tax.virginia.gov for 
details on electronic payment options which include e-Forms, 
Business iFile, and ACH Credit EFT. 
In case of any underpayment of estimated tax by a corporation, 
Va. Code § 58.1-504 requires that an addition to tax be made 

at the established interest rate for underpayments  unless 
one of the exceptions in that section applies. Use Form 500C 
to compute this addition to the tax and/or to indicate that an 
exception applies.
Calendar Year Filers
Every corporation subject to Virginia income tax that uses 
a calendar year accounting period is required to make a 
declaration of estimated tax for the calendar year if its Virginia 
income tax for that period can reasonably be expected to 
exceed $1,000. Payment of the estimated tax must be made 
to the Department as follows: 25% by April 15, 25% by June 
15, 25% by September 15, and 25% by December 15.
Fiscal Year Filers
If a corporation’s accounting period is a fiscal year, the 
corporation is required to make a declaration of estimated 
income tax and pay 25% of the amount due to the Department 
by the 15th day of the 4th month following the beginning of 
its fiscal year. Subsequent installments will be payable by 
the 15th day of the 6th month, the 15th day of the 9th month, 
and the 15th day of the 12th month following the beginning of 
its fiscal year. (Va. Code § 58.1-500 - Va. Code § 58.1-504.)
Virginia Taxable Income
Virginia taxable income for a taxable year means the 
federal taxable income for such year of a corporation (or 
the “investment company taxable income” of regulated 
investment companies, or the “real estate investment trust 
taxable income” of real estate investment trusts, to which shall 
be added in each case any amount of capital gains taxable to 
the corporation under federal law) or the unrelated business 
taxable income of organizations exempt from income tax 
under IRC § 501(c), adjusted as provided under Va. Code § 
58.1-402; except a corporation subject to the provisions of 
Va. Code § 58.1-403. 

Form 500 Instructions

Fiscal Year Filers or Short Year Filers: Complete this line 
only if your taxable year is not from January 1 to December 
31. You must use the same taxable period on your Virginia 
return as on your federal return.
Check if:
•	 Initial Filer - This is your first time filing in Virginia.
•	 Name Change - Your name has changed since your 

last filing.
•	 Mailing Address Change - Your mailing address has 

changed since your last filing.
•	 Physical Address Change - Your physical address has 

changed since your last filing.
Be sure that your federal employer identification number, 
name, mailing address and physical address are correctly 
reported. Enter the date and state or country of incorporation.
Entity Type Enter the entity type code from the list below:
•	 CC	  - 	 C-Corp
•	 SC	  - 	 S-Corporation 
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•	 LL	  - 	 Limited Liability Company
•	 NZ	  - 	 Non-Profit Organization
•	 NP	  -	 Non-Profit Corporation
•	 BA	  - 	 Bank
•	 SL	  - 	 Savings and Loan
•	 CO	  -	 Cooperative
•	 PS	  - 	 Public Service
•	 OB	  - 	 Other Business
•	 UB	  - 	 Unknown Business
•	 LP	  - 	 Limited Liability Partnership
•	 PG	  - 	 General Partnership
•	 PL	  - 	 Limited Partnership

NAICS Code: Enter the 6 digit North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS) code. You can access 
a list of these codes on the Department’s website, 
www.tax.virginia.gov. 
Check the Applicable Boxes to indicate any of the following: 
•	 Consolidated - Schedule 500AC Attached
•	 Combined - Schedule 500AC Attached
•	 Change in Filing Status
•	 Multistate Corporation Schedule 500A Attached 
•	 Schedule 500AB Attached 
•	 Nonprofit Corporation 

If the box for either the consolidated or combined return is 
checked, enter the number of affiliates included in the return 
on the line provided. Enclose a Schedule AC for each member 
included in the combined/consolidated return, including the 
parent company.
Final Return - If this is the final return, check the applicable 
boxes and provide the requested information.
Telecommunications Company - Corporations - Complete 
Form 500T and enter the amount from Form 500T, Line 7 
on Page 1 of Form 500 in the Telecommunications Company 
section and Line 11 on Page 2 of Form 500. 
Noncorporate Telecommunications Companies: Complete 
Form 500T, check the Noncorporate Telecommunications 
Company Box, and enter the amount from Form 500T, 
Line 10 on Form 500 on Page 1 in the Noncorporate 
Telecommunications section and Line 11 on Page 2 of Form 
500.
Electric Supplier Company - Complete Schedule 500EL 
and enter the amount from Schedule 500EL, Line 7 or 14.
Amended Return - Check the amended box if this is an 
amended return. Also, check other applicable boxes to 
indicate the reason for filing the amended return. Complete 
Form 500, Schedule 500ADJ, Schedule 500CR, and all other 
applicable forms and schedules.  Complete the amended 
Form 500 using the corrected figures, as if it were the original 
return. Do not make any adjustments to the amended return 
to show that you received a refund or paid a balance due 

as a result of the original return. This computation is made 
in Section C of Schedule 500ADJ. Include any original 
schedules filed (as adjusted) as well as any new or added 
schedules. You must also provide an explanation of changes 
to income and modifications. Provide the line reference from 
the Form 500 for which a change is reported, and give the 
reason for each change. Show any computation in detail and 
include any applicable schedules. Also, include federal Form 
1120X if an amended federal return was filed.
The Federal/State e-File program only supports amended 
returns for the current taxable year and the 2 preceding 
taxable years. Amended returns for prior taxable years must 
be filed by paper.  Amended Forms 500EC will also need to 
be filed by paper. Note: Do not file Form 500 to carryback 
a net operating loss. Use Form 500NOLD, Corporation 
Application for Refund Carryback of Net Operating Loss. 
Be sure to file using the correct form. Using the incorrect 
form will delay the processing of your return and may 
result in having your tax return sent back to you. File Form 
500 NOLD by paper; the form is not supported by the 
Federal/State e-File Program.
Questions and Related Information - Complete questions 
A - F.

Line Instructions
Line 1	 Federal Taxable Income
Enter taxable income after net operating loss deductions 
and special deductions for dividends as it appears on the 
federal income tax return filed with the Internal Revenue 
Service. Line 1 may not be less than zero except to report a 
net operating loss in the current year. Any corporation that 
is included in a consolidated return for federal income tax 
purposes, but files separate or combined Virginia returns or 
files a consolidated Virginia return with fewer than all of the 
members included in the federal return, must include with 
the Virginia return, schedules and statements necessary to 
reconcile actual consolidated federal taxable income to the 
federal taxable income reported on the Virginia return.
Line 2	 Total Additions from Schedule 500ADJ
Enter the total additions reported on Schedule 500ADJ, 
Section A, Line 7.
Line 3	 Total. Add Line 1 and Line 2.
Line 4	 Total Subtractions from Schedule 500ADJ
Enter the total subtractions reported on Schedule 500ADJ, 
Section B, Line 10.
Line 5	 Balance. Subtract Line 4 from Line 3.
Line 6	 Savings and Loan Bad Debt Deduction
If a Savings and Loan Association used the percentage of 
income method to compute its federal deduction for bad 
debts, then it must add the federal bad debt deduction and 
recompute the bad debt deduction for Virginia purposes by 
multiplying the amount on Line 5 by 40%. If the Savings and 
Loan Association used the percentage of loans method or the 
experience method, enter the amount claimed for addition 
Code 13 on Schedule 500ADJ.  (Va. Code § 58.1-403.)
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function on Line 8(d). If the taxpayer has previously claimed a 
subtraction for nonapportionable investment function income 
with respect to any investment assets, the addition is required 
for any subsequent losses generated by such assets.
Burden of Proof: As a prerequisite to the ability to claim 
an adjustment on Lines 8(c) and 8(d) (which effectively 
allocates income other than dividends) the taxpayer must 
be able to demonstrate that the application of Virginia law 
to their particular facts will be unconstitutional. The burden 
is on the taxpayer to provide clear and cogent evidence 
that the capital investment was completely separate from 
its operations, and that the taxpayer’s investment function 
was located outside of Virginia. The taxpayer must also 
demonstrate that the classification of the capital asset and 
its income for Virginia purposes is consistent with the manner 
in which the income has been allocated and apportioned 
with other state tax authorities. The taxpayer will be under a 
particularly heavy burden of proof in cases where the asset 
was clearly operational at any time. Objective evidence is 
required; an unsubstantiated statement as to the taxpayer’s 
intent, purpose, or state of mind will be insufficient to meet 
the burden.
Taxpayers claiming an adjustment for nonapportionable 
income on 2016 corporate tax returns must attach a 
statement to the return stating the nature of the adjustment 
and the basis for the position that relief is provided under 
the Constitution. Supplemental evidence should be clearly 
referenced and included with the return. The taxpayer should 
submit all evidence considered necessary to support the 
taxpayer’s position. For additional information, see Virginia 
Tax Bulletin 93-4 (4/6/93).
Line 9	 Income Tax
Multiply the income (Line 7 or Line 8(a), whichever is 
applicable) by 6%. 
Line 10 Nonrefundable Tax Credits
Enter the total nonrefundable credit amount allowable this 
year from Schedule 500CR, Section 2, Line 1B. 
Line 11	 Adjusted Corporate Tax
Subtract Line 10 from Line 9. Telecommunication Companies 
should refer to Form 500T. Electric Supplier Companies 
should refer to Schedule 500EL.
Line 12	 Estimated Income Tax Credits 
Enter the total amount paid as estimated income tax. Include 
the amount of overpayment for the taxable year 2015, elected 
as a credit against 2016 estimated tax.
Line 13	 Extension Payments
Enter the amount of any extension payments. 
Line 14	 Total Refundable Tax Credits 
Enter the amount from Schedule 500CR, Section 4, Line 1A.
I f  f i l ing a combined or consolidated return with a 
telecommunications company, do not enter refundable credits 
included on Form 500T. 

Line 7	 Virginia Taxable Income 
Subtract Line 6 from Line 5. This is your Virginia taxable 
income if the entire business of the corporation is transacted 
or conducted within Virginia. Corporations other than 
multistate corporations, skip to Line 9.
Line 8	 Multistate Corporations Only
Multistate corporations with no Virginia income must enter 
zeroes in 8(a) and 8(b). Otherwise, follow the instructions for 
Lines 8(a) through 8(d) below. 
Line 8(a)  Income Subject to Virginia Tax
A corporation with income from business activity that is 
taxable both within and without Virginia should enter its 
multistate income that is subject to Virginia tax from Schedule 
500A, Section B, Line 3(j).
Line 8(b) Apportionment Factor
Enter the apportionment factor from the appropriate line from 
Schedule 500A, Section B, Line 1 or 2(g).
Line 8(c) and 8(d) Nonapportionable Investment
Nonapportionable Investment Function Net Income and Loss 
(applicable only to multistate corporations):
Virginia law does not provide for an addition or subtraction 
of this income, nor does the law provide for the allocation of 
any income other than dividends. Lines 8(c) and 8(d) on the 
Form 500 recognize that some taxpayers may be entitled 
to an alternative method of allocation and apportionment 
if they can demonstrate that the application of Virginia’s 
apportionment law to their particular facts for the taxable year 
would be contrary to the principles set forth in Allied Signal, 
Inc. v. Director, Div. of Taxation, 504 U.S. 768 (1992).
In Allied Signal, Inc., the Court reaffirmed the continued 
validity of apportionment of any income received directly by 
the taxpayer, including investment income such as capital 
gains, unless the capital transaction serves an investment 
function that is completely unrelated to any operational 
activities carried on in the state. The Court also reinforced 
the principle that investment income may be included in 
apportionable income if there is a unitary relationship between 
the taxpayer and the entity in which the taxpayer has invested. 
However, the Court made it clear that the absence of a unitary 
relationship does not necessarily preclude apportionment.
These adjustments are only available to those multistate 
corporations that file a Virginia Schedule 500A  to apportion 
and allocate their income, and provide clear and cogent 
evidence that the asset producing the income serves an 
investment function that is unrelated to operational functions. 
The denominator of the relevant apportionment factors shall 
also be adjusted to exclude items related to the investment 
assets.
Any taxpayer who qualifies for an alternative method of 
allocation and apportionment for this type of income is 
required to add back any loss included in federal taxable 
income that is attributable to the acquisition, ownership, 
management, stewardship, sale or exchange of investment 
assets that are unrelated to the taxpayer’s operational 



Line 15 Pass-Through Entity Withholding from Schedule 
500ADJ 
Enter the total amount of Virginia income tax withheld from 
Page 2, Section D, of Schedule 500ADJ. 
Line 16 Total Payments and Credits 
Add Lines 12 through 15.
Line 17 Tax Owed
If Line 11 is greater than Line 16, subtract Line 16 from Line 
11.
Line 18 Penalty for Return Filed After the Original Due 
Date With or Without Payment of Amount Due
(a)	If filed within the extended period and the balance of tax 

due exceeds 10% of the actual tax liability (Line 9), enter 
2% per month or fraction thereof of the balance (Line 17). 

	 The maximum extension penalty is 12% of the tax due.  
Note:  In addition, if the tax is not paid in full when the 
return is filed, a late payment penalty will be assessed 
on the amount of tax due (Line 17) at the rate of 6% per 
month or part of a month from the date the return is filed 
through the date the tax is paid, up to a maximum of 
30%.  If the return is filed during the extension period, 
but the tax due is not paid when the return is filed, both 
the extension penalty and the late payment penalty may 
apply. The extension penalty will apply from the due date 
of the return through the date the return is filed, and the 
late payment penalty will apply from the date the return 
is filed through the date of payment. To avoid paying the 
late payment penalty during the extension period, the tax 
owed must be paid when the return is filed.

	 or
(b)	If filed after the extended due date, enter 30% of Line 17 

or $100, whichever is greater.
Line 19 Interest
Enter the amount due at the underpayment rate established 
by IRC § 6621, plus 2%, from the due date of the return until 
payment. This underpayment rate is subject to quarterly 
adjustment. When penalty is entered under 18(a) above, 
interest is added from the due date to the date of payment.
Line 20 Additional Charge
Enter the amount from Line 17, Form 500C. Attach Form 
500C.
Line 21 Total Due
Enter the total of Lines 17, 18, 19 and 20. This is the total 
amount due. Payment options: Direct Debit through the e-File 
system or ACH Credit transaction.  If you choose Direct Debit, 
you can schedule to pay your tax due for a future date, when 
filing before the due date. In addition, payment may be made 
using eForms (Form 500V). 
Line 22 Overpayment
If Line 16 is greater than Line 11, subtract Line 11 from Line 
16.

Line 23 Amount to be Credited to 2017
Enter the amount of overpayment that you want credited to 
your 2017 estimated tax, if any.
Line 24 Amount to be Refunded
Subtract Line 23 from Line 22 and enter the amount to be 
refunded.

Instructions for Schedule 500ADJ

FIXED DATE CONFORMITY UPDATE FOR 2016
Virginia’s date of conformity with the Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) was advanced from December 31, 2014 to December 
31, 2015, with limited exceptions.  
Bonus Depreciation: Virginia will continue to disallow any 
bonus depreciation claimed for certain assets under IRC § 
168(k) during Taxable Year 2001 and thereafter.  Virginia 
will also continue to disallow bonus depreciation claimed 
under IRC §§ 168(l), 168(m), 1400L, and 1400N.  To the 
extent that such bonus depreciation was claimed for federal 
income tax purposes, the depreciation deduction must be 
recomputed for Virginia income tax purposes. For taxable 
years when the recomputed Virginia depreciation deduction 
is less than the federal deduction, the taxpayer must claim 
a Virginia addition equal to the difference. For taxable years 
when the recomputed Virginia depreciation deduction is more 
than the federal deduction, the taxpayer may claim a Virginia 
subtraction equal to the difference. 
Applicable High Yield Discount Obligations: Virginia 
will continue to deconform from IRC § 163(e)(5)(F), which 
suspends the application of the applicable high yield debt 
obligation (“AHYDO”) rules for certain debts issued between 
September 30, 2008, and December 31, 2009. For federal 
purposes, special rules generally apply to computing the 
interest deduction that applies to certain high-yield original 
issue discount obligations. Because Virginia will continue 
to deconform from the federal provision that suspends the 
AHYDO rules, such rules will continue to apply for Virginia 
income tax purposes.  Any resulting difference in the federal 
and Virginia deduction should be claimed as a modification 
on your Virginia return.
Cancellation of Debt Income: Under IRC § 108(i), 
taxpayers were permitted to defer the income realized upon 
the reacquisition of certain business debt during 2009 and 
2010, and instead report such income in Taxable Years 2014 
through 2018. 
Virginia deconformed from this federal provision and required 
taxpayers to claim a Virginia addition equal to the amount of 
the federal exclusion.  However, for transactions completed 
on or before April 21, 2010, taxpayers were permitted to 
partially defer such income by claiming the Virginia addition 
over three taxable years.
A taxpayer who previously claimed the Virginia cancellation 
of debt addition may claim a subtraction on his or her Taxable 
Year 2016 Virginia income tax return, to the extent such 
income was reported on his or her 2016 federal income tax 
return.
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Attach Schedule 500AB. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 B.8 and Va. 
Code § 58.1-402 B.9.)
Line 4	 Net income taxes and other taxes, including franchise 
and excise taxes, which are based on, measured by, or 
computed with reference to net income, imposed by this 
state or any other taxing jurisdiction to the extent deducted 
in determining federal taxable income. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 
B.4.)
Line 5	 Interest, less related expenses to the extent 
not deducted in determining federal taxable income, on 
obligations of any state other than Virginia or of a political 
subdivision of any state other than Virginia unless it was 
created by a compact or agreement to which this state is a 
party. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 B.1.)
Line 6 	 Other Additions to Federal Taxable Income.
On Lines 6a - 6c, enter the two-digit code, listed below, in 
the boxes followed by the amount of the addition. If you 
are filing electronically and have more than 3 additions, do 
not enter “00” in the first box and the amount since all the 
addition codes and amounts can be entered. If Code 99 is 
claimed, provide a detailed explanation in the applicable 
space provided, by the software program. 
If you are filing by paper and have more than 3 of the 
additions listed below, enter “00” and the amount of the total 
other additions in the first box and attach an explanation of 
each other addition claimed, including the applicable code.  
If Code 99 is claimed, attach an explanation and supporting 
documentation, if applicable.

Code
01	 A gas supplier, pipeline distribution company or gas 

utility shall add to federal taxable income any amount 
that was deducted in determining taxable income as 
a net operating loss carryover from any taxable year 
beginning on or before December 31, 2000. (Va. Code 
§ 58.1-403 8.)

02	 A gas supplier, pipeline distribution company or 
gas utility shall add to federal taxable income any 
amount that was actually deducted in determining 
taxable income as a net operating loss carryover or 
net capital loss carryover which would have been an 
allowable deduction as a net operating or net capital 
loss carryover in computing taxable income for a year 
beginning after December 31, 2000, except that such 
loss had been carried back for a taxable year beginning 
prior to January 1, 2001. (Va. Code § 58.1-403 9.)

03	 Unrelated business taxable income as defined by IRC 
§ 512 (to the extent excluded from Line 1, Form 500). 
(Va. Code § 58.1-402 B.5.)

05	 The amount required to be included in income for 
the purpose of computing the partial tax on an 
accumulation distribution under IRC § 667. (Va. Code 
§ 58.1-402 B.7.)

10	 Interest or dividends, less related expenses to the 
extent not deducted in determining federal taxable 

At the time these instructions went to print, the only required 
adjustments for “fixed date conformity” were those mentioned 
above. However, if federal legislation is enacted that results in 
changes to the IRC for the 2016 taxable year, taxpayers will 
be required to make adjustments to their Virginia returns that 
are not described in the instruction booklet. Information about 
any such adjustments will be posted on the Department’s 
website at www.tax.virginia.gov.
Section A - Additions to Federal Taxable Income
Line 1 	 Fixed Date Conformity Addition – Depreciation. 
Enter the amount that should be added to Federal Taxable 
Income based upon the recomputation of allowable 
depreciation. If depreciation was included in the computation 
of your Federal Taxable Income and one or more of the 
depreciable assets received the special 30% or 50% bonus 
depreciation deduction for federal purposes in any year from 
2001 through 2016, then depreciation must be recomputed 
for Virginia purposes as if such assets did not receive the 
special 30% or 50% bonus depreciation deduction for 
federal purposes in any year from 2001 through 2016. If the 
total 2016 Virginia depreciation is less than 2016 federal 
depreciation, then the difference must be recognized as 
an addition on Line 1. For further instructions, see Virginia 
Tax Bulletins 10-8, 11-1, 12-1, 13-3, 14-1, 15-1 and 16-1 at  
www.tax.virginia.gov or call (804) 367-8037. 
Line 2	 Fixed Date Conformity Addition – Other.
Disposed Asset – If an asset was disposed of in 2016 
and such asset received the special 30% or 50% bonus 
depreciation deduction for federal purposes in any year from 
2001 through 2016, and a gain or loss was recognized for 
federal purposes, then the gain or loss must be recomputed 
as if such asset did not receive the special 30% or 50% 
bonus depreciation deduction for federal purposes in any 
year from 2001 through 2016. The adjustment will be the 
difference in the federal and Virginia basis of the asset 
when sold. If the federal basis of the asset is greater than 
the Virginia basis, (resulting in a lower gain reported for 
federal purposes), then the difference between the bases 
is an addition on the Virginia return. For further instructions, 
see Virginia Tax Bulletins 10-8, 11-1, 12-1, 13-3, 14-1, 15-1 
and 16-1 which are available on the Department’s website:  
www.tax.virginia.gov or call (804) 367-8037. 
Other changes not listed – Please refer to the Supplemental 
Fixed Date Conformity Instructions on the Department’s 
website, www.tax.virginia.gov, for information on any other 
additions that are necessary due to federal tax legislation 
passed after the printing deadline for these instructions. 
The Department’s website will also reflect any action by the 
Virginia General Assembly to advance the date of conformity 
to the IRC that may take place before the due date for your 
return.  Enter any amounts described in the Supplemental 
Fixed Date Conformity Instructions. Also, please attach a 
schedule and explanation of such additions.  
Line 3	 Enter the amount on Line 10, Schedule 500AB, as the 
taxable amount of payments to a related entity in connection 
with trademarks, patents and similar intangible property. 
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income, on obligations or securities of any authority, 
commission or instrumentality of the United States, 
which the laws of the United States exempt from federal 
income tax, but not from state income taxes. (Va. Code 
§ 58.1-402 B.2.)

13	 The deduction for bad debts allowed in computing 
federal taxable income for a state or federal savings 
and loan association. (Va. Code § 58.1-403 1.)

14	 Enter the amount of dividends deductible under IRC § 
561 and IRC § 857 by a REIT. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 
B.10.)

16	 Income from Dealer Disposition of Property 
Enter the amount that would be reported under 
the installment method from certain dispositions of 
property. If, in a prior year, the taxpayer was allowed a 
subtraction for certain income from dealer dispositions 
of property made on or after January 1, 2009, in the 
years following the year of disposition, the taxpayer 
is required to add back the amount that would have 
been reported under the installment method. Each 
disposition must be tracked separately for purposes 
of this adjustment. (Va. Code §  58.1-402 (F).)

18	 Telework Expenses - Corporations that claim the 
Virginia Telework Expenses Tax Credit are not allowed 
to exclude those expenses from Virginia taxable 
income. To the extent excluded from federal taxable 
income, any expenses incurred by a taxpayer that are 
used to claim the Telework Expenses Tax Credit must 
be added to the Virginia return.

19	 Food Crop Donation - To the extent a credit is 
allowed for growing food crops in the Commonwealth 
and donating such crops to a nonprofit food bank an 
addition to the taxpayer’s federal taxable income is 
required for any amount claimed by the taxpayer as a 
federal income tax deduction for such donation.

99	 Other - Enter the amount of any other income not 
included in federal taxable income, which is taxable 
in Virginia. If you are filing electronically, provide a 
detailed explanation in the space provided by the 
software program. If you are filing by paper, attach 
an explanation and supporting documentation, if 
applicable. 

Line 7 Total Additions
Enter the total of Lines 1 - 5 and all amounts for Line 6(a)-(c) 
here and on Form 500, Line 2.

Section B - Subtractions from Federal Taxable Income
Enter the amount by which any of the following changes 
increased your federal taxable income.
Line 1 Fixed Date Conformity Subtraction – Depreciation. 
Enter the amount that should be subtracted from Federal 
Taxable Income based upon the recomputation of allowable 
depreciation. If depreciation was included in the computation 
of your Federal Taxable Income and one or more of the 
depreciable assets received the special 30% or 50% bonus 
depreciation deduction for federal purposes in any year from 

2001 through 2016, then depreciation must be recomputed 
for Virginia purposes as if such assets did not receive the 
special 30% or 50% bonus depreciation deduction for 
federal purposes in any year from 2001 through 2016. If the 
total 2016 Virginia depreciation is more than 2016 federal 
depreciation, then the difference must be recognized as a 
subtraction on Line 1. For further instructions, see Virginia 
Tax Bulletins 10-8, 11-1, 12-1, 13-3, 14-1, 15-1 and 16-1 at  
www.tax.virginia.gov or call (804) 367‑8037. 
Line 2 Fixed Date Conformity Subtraction – Other.
Disposed Asset - If an asset was disposed of in 2016 
and such asset received the special 30% or 50% bonus 
depreciation deduction for federal purposes in any of 
the years 2001 through 2016, and a gain or loss was 
recognized for federal purposes, then the gain or loss must 
be recomputed as if such asset did not receive the special 
30% or 50% bonus depreciation deduction for federal 
purposes in any of the years 2001 through 2016. The 
adjustment will be the difference in the federal and Virginia 
basis of the asset when sold. If the federal basis of the asset 
is lower than the Virginia basis (resulting in a greater gain 
for federal purposes), then the difference between the two 
bases is included as a subtraction on the Virginia return. 
For further instructions, see Virginia Tax Bulletins 10-8, 
11-1, 12-1, 13-3, 14-1, 15-1 and 16-1 on the Department’s 
website: www.tax.virginia.gov, or call (804) 367-8037. 
Other changes not listed – Please refer to the Supplemental 
Fixed Date Conformity Instructions on the Department’s 
website, www.tax.virginia.gov for information on any other 
subtractions due to federal tax legislation passed after the 
printing deadline for these instructions. The Department’s 
website will also reflect any action by Virginia’s General 
Assembly to advance the date of conformity to the IRC that 
may take place before the due date for your return.  Enter 
any amounts described in the Supplemental Fixed Date 
Conformity Instructions.  Also, please attach a schedule and 
explanation of such subtractions.  
Line 3 Enter the amount of income (interest, dividends 
and gain) derived from obligations or the sale or exchange 
of obligations of the United States and on obligations or 
securities of any authority, commission or instrumentality of 
the United States to the extent included in federal taxable 
income, but exempt from state income taxes under the 
laws of the United States. This includes, but is not limited 
to, stocks, bonds, treasury bills and treasury notes. It does 
not include interest on refunds of federal taxes, equipment 
purchase contracts or normal business transactions. (Va. 
Code § 58.1-402 C.1.)
Line 4 Any amounts included under the provisions of IRC § 
78. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 C.5.)
Line 5 The amount of any refund or credit for overpayment 
of income taxes imposed by this state or any other taxing 
jurisdiction. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 C.4.)
Line 6  Any amount included therein by the operation of IRC 
§ 951 (subpart F income). (Va. Code § 58.1-402 C.7.)
Line 7  Any amount included in federal taxable income which 
is foreign source income and defined as follows:



	 1.	Interest other than interest derived from sources within 
the United States;

	 2.	Dividends other than dividends derived from sources 
within the United States;

	 3.	Rents, royalties, license, and technical fees from 
property located or services performed without the 
United States or from any interest in such property, 
including rents, royalties, or fees for the use of or the 
privilege of using without the United States any patents, 
copyrights, secret processes and formulas, goodwill, 
trademarks, trade brands, franchises, and other like 
properties; and

	 4.	Gains, profits, or other income from the sale of intangible 
or real property located without the United States. (Va. 
Code § 58.1-402 C.8.)

Line 8  The amount of any dividends received from 
corporations in which the taxpaying corporation owns 50% 
or more of the voting stock, to the extent they are included 
in federal taxable income and to the extent not otherwise 
subtracted from federal taxable income. (Va. Code § 58.1-
402 C.10.)
Line 9  Other Subtractions from Federal Taxable Income.  
On Lines 9a - 9c, enter the two-digit code, listed below, in the 
boxes followed by the amount of the subtraction. If you are 
filing electronically and have more than three subtractions, 
do not enter “00” in the first box with the total amount since 
all of the subtraction Codes and amounts can be entered. If 
Code 99 is claimed, provide an explanation in the applicable 
space provided, by the software program. 
If you are filing by paper and have more than three of the 
subtractions listed below, enter “00” and the amount of 
the total other subtractions in the first box. If you are filing 
electronically, provide a detailed explanation in the space 
provided by the software program. If you are filing by paper, 
attach an explanation and supporting documentation, if 
applicable. 
Code
50	 The amount of wages and salaries eligible for the 

federal Work Opportunity Tax Credit that are not 
deducted for federal tax purposes. (Va. Code § 58.1-
402 C.6.)

51	 The dividends of a Domestic International Sales 
Corporation, 50% or more of the income of which was 
assessable for the preceding year, or the last year, in 
which such corporation has income under Virginia law. 
(Va. Code § 58.1-402 C.3.)

52	 The amount of income received as a result of 
payments made under the Tobacco Master Settlement 
Agreement, and the National Tobacco Grower 
Settlement Trust. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 C.18.)

54	 The amount contributed to the Virginia Public School 
Construction Grants Program and Fund that has not 
been claimed as a deduction on the corporation’s 
federal income tax return. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 C.15.)

55	 There shall be subtracted from federal taxable income, 
by a gas supplier, pipeline distribution company or 
gas utility company, the amount that could have been 
deducted as a net operating loss carryover or net 
capital loss in arriving at taxable income except that 
such loss or portion thereof had been carried back for 
federal purposes. (Va. Code § 58.1-403 9.)

56	 A subtraction for gas suppliers, pipeline distribution 
companies, gas utility companies, and electric 
suppliers, except cooperatives, for the amortization 
of the Virginia tax basis of assets that are recoverable 
for financial accounting and/or income tax purposes 
placed in service prior to the first day of the taxable 
year that the company became subject to Virginia 
corporate income tax (adjustment date). “Virginia tax 
basis” means the aggregate adjusted book basis less 
the aggregate adjusted tax basis of such assets as 
recorded on the company’s books of accounts as of 
the last day of the taxable year immediately preceding 
the adjustment date. The amortization of the Virginia 
tax basis shall be computed using the straight-line 
method over a period of thirty years, beginning on the 
adjustment date. Gain or loss on the disposition or 
retirement of any such asset shall be computed using 
its adjusted federal tax basis, and the amortization of 
the Virginia tax basis shall continue thereafter without 
adjustment. (Va. Code § 58.1-440.1.)

57	 A subtraction for intangible expenses and costs added 
to the federal taxable income of a related member as 
shown on the Schedule 500AB attached to the Virginia 
return filed by such related member. (Va. Code § 58.1-
402 C. 21.)

58	 For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 
2006, there shall be subtracted from federal taxable 
income contract payments to a producer of quota 
tobacco or a tobacco quota holder as provided 
under the American Jobs Creation Act of 2004. (P.L. 
108-357.) If the payment is received in installment 
payments, then the recognized gain may be subtracted 
in the taxable year immediately following the year 
in which the installment payment is received. If the 
payment is received in a single payment, then 10% of 
the recognized gain may be subtracted in the taxable 
year immediately following the year in which the single 
payment is received. The taxpayer may then deduct an 
equal amount in each of the nine succeeding taxable 
years. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 (D).) For more information, 
visit www.tax.virginia.gov. 

59	 Income from Dealer Disposition of Property - An 
adjustment is available for certain income from dealer 
dispositions of property made on or after January 1, 
2009. In the year of disposition the adjustment will 
be a subtraction for gain attributable to installment 
payments to be made in future taxable years provided 
that (i) the gain arises from an installment sale for 
which federal law does not permit the dealer to elect 
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installment reporting of income, and (ii) the dealer 
elects installment treatment of the income for Virginia 
purposes on or before the due date prescribed by 
law for filing the taxpayer’s income tax return. In 
subsequent taxable years, the adjustment will be an 
addition for gain attributable to any payments made 
during the taxable year with respect to the disposition.  
Each disposition must be tracked separately for 
purposes of this adjustment. (Va. Code § 58.1-402 (F).)

60	 Gains from Land Preservation Tax - Enter the 
amount of federal gain or income recognized as a 
result of the sale of Land Preservation Tax Credits. 
(Va. Code § 58.1-513 (D).)

61	 Certain Long-Term Capital Gains - Provided the long-
term capital gain or investment services partnership 
qualified income is attributable to an investment in a 
“qualified business” as defined in Va. Code § 58.1-
339.4 or any other technology business approved 
by the Secretary of Technology, it may be allowed 
as a subtraction. For taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2011, enter any qualified income 
taxed as a long-term capital gain for federal income 
tax purposes, or any income taxed as investment 
services partnership interest income (otherwise known 
as investment partnership carried interest income) 
for federal income tax purposes. To qualify for this 
subtraction, the income must be attributable to an 
investment in a “qualified business,” as defined in Va. 
Code § 58.1-339.4, or in any other technology business 
approved by the Secretary of Technology, provided 
that the business has its principal office or facility in 
the Commonwealth and less than $3 million in annual 
revenues in the fiscal year prior to the investment. The 
investment must be made between the dates of April 1, 
2010, and June 30, 2020. No taxpayer that has claimed 
a tax credit for an investment in a “qualified business” 
under Va. Code § 58.1-339.4 shall be eligible for the 
subtraction under this subdivision for an investment in 
the same business.  (Va. Code § 58.1-402 C.24.)

62	 Historic Rehabilitation - To the extent included in 
federal taxable income, any amount of gain or income 
recognized by a taxpayer in connection with the Historic 
Rehabilitation Tax Credit is allowed as a subtraction 
on the Virginia return.

99	 Other - Enter the amount of any other income included 
in federal taxable income, which is not taxable in 
Virginia.  If you are filing electronically, provide a 
detailed explanation in the applicable space provided 
by the software program. If you are filing by paper, 
attach an explanation and supporting documentation, 
if applicable.

Line 10 Total Subtractions.
Add Lines 1-8 and 9a-9c. Enter here and on Form 500, Line 4.

Section C Amended Return
If you are filing an amended return, complete a new return 
using the corrected figures, as if it were the original return. 
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Do not make any adjustments to the amended return to show 
that you received a refund or paid a balance due as the result 
of the original return. Be sure to fill in the Amended Return 
section on Page 1, Form 500.
In cases where a Form 500NOLD is filed to carryback or carry 
forward a net operating loss, an amended Form 500 should 
be filed indicating the change in the amount of credits claimed 
and the corrected carryover amounts. Attach a revised 
Schedule 500CR to the amended returns filed to report the 
changes to the credit(s) claimed or carryover amount resulting 
from the NOL carryback.
The Federal/State e-File program only supports amended 
returns for the current taxable year and the 2 preceding 
taxable years. Amended returns for prior taxable years must 
be filed by paper.  Amended Forms 500EC will also need to 
be filed by paper.

Section D Schedule of VK-1 Withholding
If you are claiming withholding on Line 15 of Form 500, 
complete Page 2 of Schedule 500ADJ. 

Tax Credits 

Attach Schedule 500CR to your return when claiming 
a credit(s). See the instructions below for additional 
requirements. When claiming a credit(s) that requires 
documentation, you will need to attach a PDF of such 
documentation when filing electronically. If you are filing by 
paper and claiming a credit(s) that requires documentation, 
the information must be attached.  Missing attachments may 
cause delays in processing the return and may cause a credit 
to be disallowed.
The following rules apply when claiming credits on Schedule 
500CR.
•	 Nonrefundable credits without a carryover provision are 

claimed first.
•	 Carryover credits must be fully used before any 2016 

credits (current year credits) are allowed.
•	 To maximize allowable credit, carryover credits may be 

claimed in their order of expiration, regardless of the order 
shown on Schedule 500CR.

Neighborhood Assistance Act Tax Credit 
The Virginia Neighborhood Assistance Tax Act provides 
tax credits to businesses that donate money, marketable 
securities, property, limited professional services and 
contracting services directly to pre-approved Neighborhood 
Assistance Program organizations whose primary function 
is to provide educational or other qualified services for the 
benefit of low income families.  Licensed veterinarians, 
physicians, dentists, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician 
assistants, optometrists, dental hygienists, professional 
counselors, clinical social workers, clinical psychologists, 
marriage and family therapists, physical therapists, 
chiropractors, pharmacists and physician specialists or 
mediators who donate their services for an approved 
organization may be eligible for tax credits. In addition, a 
trust or a fiduciary for a trust, may receive a tax credit for a 



donation made to an approved organization. The amount of 
credit attributable to a partnership or S corporation must be 
allocated to the partners and shareholders in proportion to 
their ownership or interest in the partnership or S corporation.  
Any unused tax credits may be carried forward for the next 
5 taxable years.  For a list of approved organizations or 
additional information, write to: Virginia Department of 
Social Services, Neighborhood Assistance Program, 
801 E. Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219-3301 or the 
Virginia Department of Education, 21st Floor, P.O. Box 
2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, Division of Finance and 
Operations, ATTN: Neighborhood Assistance Tax Credit 
Program for Education. 

Enterprise Zone Act Credit
Businesses located within an Enterprise Zone that have 
initiated the use of the Enterprise Zone General Income Tax 
Credit or have a signed agreement with the Commonwealth 
regarding the use of such credits in place by July 1, 2005, 
may be eligible based on job creation to take a credit against 
the tax due on zone taxable income in an amount equal to  
80% of the tax due for the first year and 60% of the tax due 
for the second through the tenth years. Excess general tax 
credit, if any, may not be carried forward. Such credits are 
authorized through fiscal year 2019.
In addition, businesses located within an Enterprise Zone 
that have initiated the use of the Zone Investment Tax 
Credit or have a signed agreement with the Commonwealth 
regarding the use of such credits in place by July 1, 2005, 
may be eligible for a credit against zone taxable income. 
The investment credit can be carried forward until the full 
amount is used. Such credits are authorized through fiscal 
year 2019. If the annual tax credit requested exceeds the 
annual appropriation, the Virginia Department of Housing and 
Community Development (DHCD) will issue a proportionate 
amount to each qualified business firm requesting the credits.
To claim the Enterprise Zone Credits, businesses qualified 
by DHCD must complete Enterprise Zone Credit Form 301, 
and transfer the computed amount to the applicable line(s) 
on Schedule 500CR. Attach Form 301, and Schedule 500CR 
to your return. For application forms and specific information, 
write to: Virginia Department of Housing and Community 
Development, Community Revitalization Office, Main 
Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 
VA  23219, call (804) 371-7030 or visit www.dhcd.virginia.gov.

Conservation Tillage Equipment Credit
A corporation purchasing and using conservation tillage 
equipment for the purpose of agricultural production may take 
a tax credit equaling 25% of conservation tillage equipment 
expenditures (but not to exceed $4,000 or the total amount 
of tax owed, whichever is less) in the year of purchase. The 
term “conservation tillage equipment” means a planter, drill, 
or other equipment used to reduce soil compaction including 
guidance systems to control traffic patterns that are designed 
to minimize disturbance of the soil in planting crops, including 
planters, drills or other equipment designed to reduce soil 
compaction which may be attached to equipment already 

Page 14

owned by the taxpayer. If the amount of such credit exceeds 
the taxpayer’s liability for the taxable year, the amount that 
exceeds the tax liability may be carried over to the next 5 
taxable years. The credit shall be allocated to individual 
partners and shareholders in proportion to their ownership 
or interest in the partnership or S-corporation.
Attach a statement to your return showing the conservation 
tillage equipment purchase date, a description of the 
equipment, and the credit computation when claiming this 
credit.

Biodiesel and Green Diesel Fuels Tax Credit
Beginning on January 1, 2008, a credit is available for Virginia 
biodiesel and green diesel fuel producers who produce 
up to 2 million gallons of fuel per year. This credit is only 
available during the first 3 years of production. Taxpayers 
may claim a nonrefundable credit against their tax liability for 
the production of these fuels. To claim the tax credit, attach 
a copy of the certificate from the Department.
Form BFC is used to apply to the Department for a Biodiesel 
Fuels Credit after the Department of Mines, Minerals 
and Energy has certified that you have satisfied all of the 
requirements of Va. Code § 58.1-439.12:02. 
The amount of the credit is $0.01 per gallon, not to exceed 
$5,000 annually. Any credit not used for the taxable year may 
be carried over to the next 3 taxable years. The amount of the 
credit allowed cannot exceed the tax liability for the taxable 
year in which the credit is being claimed.
The credit may be transferred to another taxpayer. The 
transfer of the credit must be completed before the end of a 
taxable year in order to use the credit for that taxable year. 
For more information, write to: Virginia Department of 
Taxation, Tax Credit Unit, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA 
23218-0715, or call (804) 786-2992.

Precision Fertilizer and Pesticide Application  
Equipment Credit

Any corporation engaged in agricultural production for market 
that has in place a nutrient management plan approved by 
the local Soil and Water Conservation District by the required 
tax return filing date may claim a tax credit equaling 25% of 
all expenditures made by such corporation for the purchase 
of equipment.  The amount of the tax credit shall not exceed 
$3,750 or the total amount of the tax imposed by this chapter, 
whichever is less, in the year of purchase. If the amount 
of such credit exceeds the taxpayer’s tax liability for such 
taxable year, the amount which exceeds the tax liability may 
be carried over for credit against the income taxes of such 
individual in the next 5 taxable years until the total amount 
of the tax credit has been taken. 
The equipment is divided into the following categories: 

1.	 Sprayers for pesticides and liquid fertilizers; 
2.	 Pneumatic fertilizer applicators; 
3.	 Monitors, computer regulators, and height adjustable 

booms for sprayers and liquid fertilizer applicators; 
4.	 Manure applicators; 



5.	 Tramline adapters; and 
6.	 Starter fertilizer banding attachments for planters.

The amount of any credit attributable to the purchase of 
equipment certified by the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation 
Board as providing more precise pesticide and fertilizer 
application by a partnership or electing small business 
corporation (S corporation) shall be allocated to the individual 
partners or shareholders in proportion to their ownership or 
interest in the partnership or S corporation. 
Attach a statement to your return showing purchase date, 
description and credit computation when claiming this credit.

Recyclable Materials Processing 
Equipment Tax Credit 

Recyclable Materials Processing Equipment Tax Credit: 
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1999, and 
before January 1, 2020, an income tax credit may be claimed 
for purchases made during the taxable year for machinery 
and equipment used predominantly in or on the premises 
of manufacturing facilities or plant units which manufacture, 
process, compound or produce items of tangible personal 
property from recyclable materials within the Commonwealth 
for sale. For the purpose of determining “purchase price paid,” 
the taxpayer may use the original total capitalized cost of such 
machinery and equipment, less capitalized interest. The credit 
is 20% of such expenditures and cannot exceed 40% of the 
taxpayer’s Virginia income tax liability for the year, computed 
prior to computing the credit. Any amount unused this year 
may be carried forward for the next ten taxable years.  
The total amount of credit approved for any tax year may not 
exceed $2 million. If the amount of tax credits approved under 
this section by the Department of Taxation for any taxable 
year exceeds $2 million, the Department shall apportion the 
credits by dividing $2 million by the total amount of tax credits 
so approved, to determine the percentage of otherwise 
allowed tax credits each taxpayer shall receive.
The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
administers the certification of all recycling machinery and 
equipment.  To allow adequate time for the recycling material 
and equipment to be certified by DEQ, submit a completed 
Form DEQ 50-11S to DEQ by March 1.  Submit your credit 
application, including the certification you receive from DEQ, 
to the Department of Taxation by June 1, using Form RMC.  
Submitting a late application will disqualify you from the 
credit.  All approved applicants filing a timely Form RMC will 
be notified of the allowable credit by September 1.  Since 
the due date for individual income tax returns is May 1, 
most claimants will need to file the tax return on extension 
or amend the original return to claim the credit.
For additional information on how to qualify for certification, 
contact the Department of Environmental Quality, 
Equipment Certification Officer, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218 or call (804) 698-4145.
All applications, Forms RMC, must be submitted to the 
Virginia  Department of Taxation, Credit Unit, P.O. Box 
715, Richmond, VA 23218-0715. This credit requires 

certification from the Tax Credit Unit to be claimed on your 
tax return.  For form assistance, contact the Tax Credit Unit 
at the address above or call (804) 786-2992.
Alternative Recycling Credit (Expired – Only Carryover 
Allowed): The 1998 General Assembly passed legislation 
creating an alternative recycling tax credit for corporations 
investing at least $350 million in Virginia before January 
1, 2003. Any unused credit may be carried forward for the 
next 20 years. A qualified taxpayer may claim either the 
Recyclable Materials Processing Equipment Credit or the 
Alternative Recycling Credit but not both. The maximum 
amount of the Alternative Recycling Credit carryover that 
may be claimed is 60% of the Virginia income tax liability. 
If claiming this alternative credit, enter the carryover from 
prior year(s) in Part 7 on Line B of Schedule 500CR and 
60% of the corporation income tax on Line D of Part 7 of 
Schedule 500CR.

Clean-Fuel Vehicle and Vehicle Emissions Testing 
Equipment Credits

The Clean-Fuel Vehicle Credit is no longer allowed on the 
Virginia return.  Only carryover credits from prior years are 
allowed.  Previously, taxpayers were permitted to claim the 
Clean-Fuel Vehicle Credit based on the federal deduction 
allowed under IRC § 179A or the federal credit allowed 
under IRC § 30.  Since both of these federal provisions have 
been repealed, taxpayers may no longer claim the Virginia 
Clean-Fuel Vehicle Credit.
The Vehicle Emissions Testing Equipment Credit is 20% 
of the purchase or lease price paid during the taxable year 
for equipment certified by the Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) for vehicle emissions testing within a locality  
that is required by law to implement an enhanced vehicle 
emissions inspection program within any locality adjacent to 
those localities required to implement the program.
Attach a copy of the Virginia Air Check Station Participation 
and Services Agreement. For a copy of this agreement, 
contact Opus Inspection at (703) 822-7587. Only expenses 
listed in the agreement, or dynamometers purchased or leased 
separately are eligible. You should retain documentation to 
support your claim for the tax credit because an audit may 
be conducted to verify any credit claimed under these 
provisions. You are not required to submit a specific form for 
the Emissions Testing Equipment Credit.

Major Business Facility Job Tax Credit
Individuals, estates, trusts, corporations, banks, insurance 
companies and telecommunications companies may claim 
a Virginia tax credit if the taxpayer creates at least 50 
new full‑time jobs in connection with the establishment or 
expansion of a major business facility or if the company is 
engaged in a qualifying industry in Virginia and creates at 
least 50 new full-time jobs in Virginia. If a taxpayer is located 
in an enterprise zone or in an economically distressed 
area (as defined by the Virginia Economic Development 
Partnership), the threshold is reduced from 50 to 25. Credits 
will be recaptured proportionately if employment decreases 
during the 5 years following the initial credit year. 
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Qualifying industries include: (1) manufacturing or mining; 
(2) agriculture, forestry or fishing; and (3) transportation 
and telecommunications companies. A major business 
facility includes a headquarters or portion of such a facility 
located in Virginia, where the majority of the company’s 
financial, personnel, legal, or planning functions are handled 
either on a regional or national basis. A major business 
facility shall also include facilities located in Virginia that 
perform a central management or administrative function 
for other establishments of the same enterprise such as 
general management, accounting, computing, tabulating, 
data processing, purchasing, transportation or shipping, 
engineering and systems planning, advertising, legal, 
financial and research and development.
This nonrefundable credit is equal to $1,000 per qualifying 
new job in excess of the 50/25 job threshold and is spread 
over 2 years for taxpayers whose initial credit year begins on 
or after January 1, 2009. The credit only applies to facilities 
where an announcement to expand or establish such a 
facility was made on or after January 1, 1994. The credit 
must be claimed beginning with the taxable year following 
the year in which the facility is established or expanded, or 
the new qualifying jobs are added. Unused credits may be 
carried forward for the next ten taxable years. 
Any amount unused this year may be carried forward 
for the next 10 taxable years. Credits will be recaptured 
proportionately if employment decreases during the 5 years 
following the initial credit year. If employment decreases 
below the threshold, the entire credit will be recaptured. 
All pass-through entities must complete Form PTE at least 
60 days before the participants file their income tax return.  
If the participants’ income tax return is due before the Form 
502 is filed, they must file an amended return to claim the 
credit or file for an extension.  
Effective for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 
2012, taxpayers may qualify for the Major Business Facility 
Job Tax Credit even if they have also received an Enterprise 
Zone Job Creation Grant.  However, qualified business firms 
are not be eligible to receive both an Enterprise Zone Job 
Creation Grant and a Major Business Facility Job Tax Credit 
for the same jobs.
To apply for  this credit, complete Form 304. All applications 
must be submitted to the Virginia Department of Taxation, 
Tax Credit Unit, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA  23218-
0715, 90 days prior to the due date of your return.  A 
letter will be sent to certify the credit. To claim the credit you 
must complete Schedule 500CR, Section 1, Part 9. 

Clean-Fuel Vehicle and Advanced Cellulosic Job 
Creation Tax Credit

The Clean-Fuel Vehicle and Advanced Cellulosic Biofuels 
Job Creation Tax Credit expired on December 31, 2014, for 
new jobs created.  Thus, no new job positions created after 
that date qualify for the credit. Any unused credit may be 
carried forward for up to 5 years. To claim credit or carryover 
amount, complete and attach Form 305, Clean-Fuel Vehicle 
Job Creation Tax Credit, and transfer the computed amount 
to Schedule 500CR, Section 1, Part 8. The Clean-Fuel 

Vehicle Job Creation Tax Credit will not be allowed for jobs 
for which the taxpayer claims the Major Business Facility 
Job Tax Credit.

 Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit
Individuals, estates, partnerships, trusts, or corporations, 
incurring eligible expenses in the rehabilitation of a certified 
historic structure are entitled to claim a credit against 
individual income tax, fiduciary income tax, corporation 
income tax, the bank franchise tax, and taxes imposed 
against insurance companies and utility companies..  The 
credit is equal to 25% of eligible rehabilitation expenses, 
and final certification must be submitted within 1 year of the 
completed work.  To qualify, the cost of the rehabilitation 
must equal at least 50% (25% if the building is an owner 
occupied residence) of the assessed value of the building for 
local real estate tax purposes in the year preceding the start 
of the rehabilitation. Unused credits may be carried forward 
for ten years. The rehabilitation work must be certified by the 
Virginia Department of Historic Resources as consistent with 
the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation. 
Certification of buildings and rehabilitations are issued by the 
Department of Historic Resources. Applications for certification 
may be obtained by writing to Virginia Department 
of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 
Richmond, VA 23221, calling (804) 367-2323 or visiting  
www.dhr.virginia.gov.

Day-Care Facility Investment Tax Credit 
This credit expired December 31, 2013, and no credits may 
be claimed for taxable years beginning after that date. Only 
carryover credits from prior years are allowed. For additional 
information, contact the Department of Taxation, Tax Credit 
Unit, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA 23218-0715, or call 
(804) 786-2992.

Agricultural Best Management Practices (BMP)
Tax Credit

This credit is available to individuals or corporations engaged 
in agricultural production for market who have in place a 
soil conservation plan approved by the local Soil and Water 
Conservation District (SWCD). The credit is 25% of the 
first $70,000 expended for agricultural best management 
practices approved by the local SWCD. The maximum credit 
is $17,500 or the total amount of state income tax obligation 
for the corporation. Effective for taxable years beginning 
on and after January 1, 2011, this credit is refundable to 
individual taxpayers. The credit is still non-refundable to 
corporate taxpayers. If a pass-through entity distributes this 
credit to an individual partner, shareholder, or member, the 
amount of the Agricultural Best Management Practices Tax 
Credit listed on the individual’s Schedule VK-1 is refundable.  
Any amount distributed by a PTE to a corporate partner, 
shareholder, or member is non-refundable. Any amount 
unused this year may be carried forward for the next 5 
succeeding taxable years. The credit shall be allocated to 
individual partners and shareholders in proportion to their 
ownership or interest in the partnership or S Corporation. 
For more information about eligible BMPs, contact your local 
Virginia Soil and Water Conservation District Office. 

Page 16



 Worker Retraining Tax Credit
The Worker Retraining Tax Credit allows an employer to claim 
a tax credit for the costs of providing retraining to qualified 
employees. “Eligible worker retraining” includes noncredit 
courses that are approved by the Virginia Economic 
Development Partnership (VEDP) and that are provided 
by any of the Commonwealth’s community colleges or a 
private school. “Eligible worker retraining” programs also 
include courses (credit and noncredit) undertaken through 
an apprenticeship agreement approved by the Virginia 
Apprenticeship Council.
The credit is 30% of all expenditures paid or incurred by 
the employer during the taxable year, subject to certain 
limitations. For taxable years beginning prior to January 1, 
2013, if the eligible worker retraining consists of courses 
conducted at a private school, the credit cannot exceed $100 
per qualified employee annually. For taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2013, if the eligible working retraining 
consists of courses conducted at a private school, the credit 
cannot exceed $200 per qualified employee annually, or 
$300 per qualified employee annually if the eligible training 
includes retraining in a STEM or STEAM discipline. A STEM 
or STEAM discipline is defined as a science, technology, 
engineering, mathematics or applied mathematics related 
discipline as determined by DBA and includes a health care 
related discipline. 
Employers must apply for certification of the amount of 
allowable credit using Form WRC, Worker Retraining Tax 
Credit, by April 1 of the year following the year the training 
expenses were paid or incurred before claiming the credit 
on their income tax return. All approved businesses filing a 
timely Form WRC will be notified of their allowable credit 
by June 30 of the calendar year following the year that the 
training expenses were paid or incurred. The maximum 
worker retraining credits granted to all employers is limited 
to $2.5 million annually. If total credits approved exceed 
this amount, each will be prorated. The credit is allowable 
against Individual Income Tax, Estate and Trust Tax, 
Corporation Income Tax, and the Bank Franchise Tax. The 
credit is also allowable against the Insurance Premiums 
License Tax and the License Tax on Telegraph, Telephone, 
Water, Heat Light, Power, and Pipeline Companies (under 
Va. Code § 58.1-2500 et seq. and Va. Code § 58.1-2620 et 
seq.). This credit is nonrefundable, but excess credit may 
be carried forward for the next 3 taxable years. To claim 
this credit complete Schedule CR, Section 1, Part 14. For 
information on pre-approved apprenticeship programs, 
contact the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry 
at (804) 225-4362. For information on noncredit course 
approval, write to: Virginia Jobs Investment Program, 
Virginia Economic Development Partnership, 901 East 
Byrd Street, Richmond, VA 23219 or call (804) 786-2382.

Waste Motor Oil Burning Equipment Credit
A business that operates a facility in Virginia which accepts 
waste motor oil from the public is allowed a tax credit equal 
to 50% of the purchase price paid for equipment for the 
taxable year provided that the equipment is used exclusively 
for burning waste motor oil at the business facility. The 
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total credit allowed to any taxpayer in any taxable year 
is limited to $5,000. Taxpayers successfully applying for 
the equipment certification with the Virginia Department 
of Environmental Quality by filing Form DEQ 50-12 will 
receive a statement from that agency certifying that the 
equipment is used for burning waste motor oil. To claim the 
tax credit, attach a copy of DEQ Form 50-12 and receipts, 
invoices or other documentation to confirm the purchase 
price paid. For additional information concerning equipment 
qualifying for the credit or to apply for tax credit certification, 
write to: Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, 
Attention: Equipment Certification Officer, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, or call (804) 698-4145.

Riparian Forest Buffer Protection for  
Waterways Tax Credit

Individuals and corporations may qualify for an income tax 
credit of 25% of the value of the timber on an area designated 
as a riparian buffer for a waterway. The credit may not exceed 
$17,500 or the total amount of tax, whichever is less. To 
apply for this credit, file Department of Forestry (DOF) Form 
179 with DOF or apply online at www.dof.virginia.gov. If 
you are approved for this credit, DOF will send you a Tax 
Credit Certificate. 
A riparian buffer is land adjacent to a waterway on which 
timber may be harvested. In order to receive the credit, the 
owner of such land must refrain from harvesting more than 
50% of such timber. The buffer must be at least 35 feet wide 
and no more than 300 feet. There must be a Stewardship 
Plan and annual certification of compliance for each tract. 
The buffer must remain in place for at least 15 years. The 
land that is the subject of this credit cannot be the subject of 
this credit again for 15 years after it was first taken. The credit 
may be carried over for the succeeding 5 taxable years. For 
more information, write to: Virginia Department of Forestry, 
900 Natural Resources Drive, Suite 800, Charlottesville, 
VA 22903, or call (434) 977-6555.

Land Preservation Tax Credit
This tax credit is for taxpayers that convey land or interest in 
land located in Virginia to a public or private agency eligible 
to hold such land or interests for conservation or preservation 
purposes. The conveyance must be in perpetuity. 
Credits for conveyances made in 2007 and thereafter are 
equal to 40% of the land’s fair market value. All fair market 
valuations must be substantiated by a “qualified appraisal” 
and prepared by a “qualified appraiser,” as those terms 
are defined under applicable federal law and regulations 
governing charitable contributions. Beginning with Calendar 
Year 2015, the maximum amount of credits that may be 
issued in a calendar year may not exceed $75 million.  For 
Taxable Years 2009, 2010, and 2011, the total amount of 
credit per taxpayer per taxable year was limited to $50,000 
or the total tax liability, whichever was less. For Taxable Years 
2012, 2013, and 2014, the credit limit per taxpayer per taxable 
year was $100,000. For Taxable Years 2015 and 2016 the 
credit limit per taxpayer per taxable year is $20,000. For  
Taxable Year 2017 and thereafter, the credit will be limited 
to $50,000 per taxpayer per taxable year.  However, for any 



fee simple donation of land conveyed to the Commonwealth 
on or after January 1, 2015, the amount of the credit claimed 
is subject a higher limitation of $100,000 per taxpayer for 
each taxable year, provided that no part of the charitable 
contributions deduction under IRC § 170 related to such fee 
simple donation is allowable by reason of a sale or exchange 
of property.  For taxpayers affected by the 2009 and 2010 
usage limit, an additional 2-year carryforward will be added 
to the credit. For taxpayers affected by the usage limits for 
Taxable Years 2011 and 2015 and thereafter, an additional 3 
years carryforward will be added to the credit.  Any unused 
credit not affected by the usage limits will retain the original 
carryforward periods (5 years for donations originating prior 
to January 1, 2007 and 10 years for donations originating on 
or after January 1, 2007). 
Any taxpayer holding a Land Preservation Tax Credit that 
originated on or after January 1, 2002, may transfer unused 
but otherwise allowable credit for use by another taxpayer 
on Virginia income tax returns.  Transfers and pass-through 
allocations derived from donations recorded on or after 
January 1, 2007, are subject to a fee. See Schedule A of 
Form LPC-1 or Form LPC-2 for further information. 
A subtraction is allowed for any gain or income recognized 
by a taxpayer on the application of a Land Preservation Tax 
Credit against a Virginia income tax liability, to the extent the 
gain is included in and not otherwise subtracted from federal 
adjusted gross income. The transfer of the credit and its 
application against a tax liability shall not create gain or loss 
for the transferor or the transferee.
Before claiming the credit, complete and file Form LPC-1 
and/or Form LPC-2 with the Department of Taxation at least 
90 days before filing your income tax return. For land or an 
interest in land conveyed on or after July 1, 2015, no credit will 
be allowed unless a completed credit application with regard 
to such conveyance has been filed with the Department of 
Taxation by December 31 of the year following the calendar 
year of the conveyance. Additionally, applicants filing for tax 
credits of $1 million or more must apply to the Department 
of Conservation and Recreation to receive verification of 
the conservation value. The Department of Taxation will 
issue a letter acknowledging the amount of the credit. For 
assistance, contact the Virginia Department of Taxation, 
Tax Credit Unit, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA 23218-0715, 
or call (804) 786-2992.

Virginia Coal Employment and Production 
Incentive Tax Credit

For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2001, 
every electricity generator in the Commonwealth will be 
allowed a credit against their corporation income tax or 
modified net income tax of an electric cooperative for coal 
mined in Virginia. The credit is at the rate of 3 dollars per 
ton for each ton purchased and consumed by the electricity 
generator provided the coal was mined in Virginia. The 
credit is available in the year the purchased coal mined in 
Virginia is consumed by the electric generator. This credit 
is nonrefundable and any credit not usable for the taxable 
year in which such credit is earned may be carried over to 
the next 5 succeeding taxable years or until the full credit is 
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utilized, whichever is sooner. In order to receive this credit, 
the cogenerator shall include certification by the seller that 
the coal was mined in Virginia.  
The credit may be allocated between the electricity generator 
and any person with an economic interest in coal, effective 
for purchases of coal made on or after January 1, 2006 but 
before July 1, 2016. The allocation of the credit may be 
provided in the contract between the parties for the sale of 
the coal. The parties may amend any such allocation with a 
written instrument prior to December 31 of the year that the 
coal was purchased. All contracts and written instruments 
are subject to audit by the Department.
Credits allocated to persons with an economic interest in coal 
may be used against any tax imposed by the Commonwealth. 
If such credits exceed the taxpayer’s tax liability, the excess 
may be redeemed in a manner similar to the Coalfield 
Employment Enhancement Tax Credit. Unused credits may 
be carried forward for 10 taxable years.

Community of Opportunity Tax Credit
The Community of Opportunity Tax Credit may be claimed 
by landlords with qualified housing units located in census 
tracts with poverty rates of less than 10% in the Richmond 
Metropolitan Statistical Area who participate in the Housing 
Choice Voucher program.  
The amount of tax credit for an eligible property will be equal 
to 10% of the fair market value of the rent for the unit and 
will be prorated when units are qualified for less than the full 
taxable year. Prorations will be based on full calendar months. 
A landlord may receive tax credits on 1 or more units within 
the same taxable year. Credits taken for any one taxable 
year cannot exceed the tax liability for that year.  Credits not 
taken for the year for which they are allocated may be carried 
forward, but cannot be carried forward for more than 5 years.
Should eligible applications received by the March 1 deadline 
exceed the annual appropriation, tax credits will be prorated 
based on the total amount of qualified requests received and 
the total amount of credits available.
Credits granted to a partnership, limited liability company, 
or electing small business corporation (S corporation) 
shall be allocated to the individual partners, members, or 
shareholders in proportion to their ownership or interest in 
such business entity.  The pass-through entity must assume 
responsibility for distributing credits in this manner. 
For additional information, please write to: Virginia 
Department of Housing and Community Development, 
Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, 
Richmond VA 23219, or call (804) 371-7000.

Green Job Creation Tax Credit 
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, but 
before January 1, 2018, a credit may be claimed for each 
new “green job” that is created in Virginia. The amount of 
the credit is $500 for each position that is created and that 
has an annual salary of $50,000 or more. The tax credit 
may be claimed in the first taxable year in which the job has 
been filled for at least one year, and for the four succeeding 
taxable years in which the job is continuously filled.



The tax credit is for up to 350 green jobs per taxpayer. Any 
unused credits may be carried over for 5 taxable years. Any 
taxpayer claiming a green jobs tax credit may also qualify 
for benefits under the Enterprise Zone Grant Program. 
Taxpayers that claim the Green Job Creation Tax Credit 
are not allowed to claim a Major Business Facility Jobs Tax 
Credit or a federal tax credit for investments in clean energy 
manufacturing facilities that fosters the creation of the same 
job.
To apply for this credit, complete Form GJC.  All applications 
must be submitted to the Virginia Department of Taxation, 
Tax Credit Unit, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA  23218-
0715, 90 days prior to the due date of your return. A 
letter will be sent to certify the credit. To claim the credit you 
must complete Schedule 500CR, Section 1, Part 20. 

Farm Wineries and Vineyards Tax Credit
For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2011, but 
before January 1, 2017, an individual and corporation income 
tax credit is available for Virginia farm wineries and vineyards 
in an amount equal to 25% of the cost of all qualified capital 
expenditures made in connection with the establishment of new 
Virginia farm wineries and vineyards and capital improvements 
made to existing Virginia farm wineries and vineyards.
The total amount of tax credits available for a calendar year 
cannot exceed $250,000. If applications for this credit exceed 
$250,000, the Department will allocate the credits on a pro 
rata basis. Any credit amounts that exceed a taxpayer’s liability 
can be carried forward for ten years.  Taxpayers cannot claim 
both this credit and a federal deduction for the same expenses 
under IRC § 179.
The business must apply for the credit by April 1st using Form 
FWV.  Submitting a late application will disqualify you from the 
credit. All applications must be sent to the Virginia Department 
of Taxation, Tax Credit Unit, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA 
23218-0715.  This credit requires certification from the Tax 
Credit Unit to be claimed on your tax return. A letter will be sent 
to certify the credit.  For assistance contact the Tax Credit 
Unit at (804) 786-2992.

International Trade Facility Tax Credit
For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2011, but 
before January 1, 2022, an income tax credit is allowed for either 
capital investment in an international trade facility or increasing 
jobs related to an international trade facility. Taxpayers can elect 
to claim either credit, but cannot claim both credits in the same 
taxable year. The amount of the credit is equal to $3,500 per 
new qualified full-time employee that results from increased 
qualified trade activities by the taxpayer or 2% of the amount 
of capital investment made by the taxpayer to facilitate the 
increased eligible trade activities.  
No more than $1.25 million in tax credits can be issued in any 
fiscal year. If the amount of tax credits requested exceeds $1.25 
million, the credits will be allocated proportionately among all 
qualified taxpayers. The Department will determine the credit 
amount for the taxable year and provide a written certification to 
each taxpayer. The amount of the credit will be limited to 50% 
of the taxpayer’s tax liability for the taxable year. Any unused 
credit amount can be carried forward for 10 years.
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The business must apply by April 1st using Form ITF.  
Submitting a late application will disqualify you from the credit. 
All applications must be sent to the Virginia Department of 
Taxation, Tax Credit Unit, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA 
23218-0715. This credit requires certification from the Tax 
Credit Unit to be claimed on your tax return. A letter will be sent 
to certify the credit. 
For assistance, contact the Tax Credit Unit at (804) 786-
2992.

Port Volume Increase Tax Credit
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, but 
before January 1, 2022, a taxpayer that is an agricultural entity, 
manufacturing-related entity (manufacturer or distributor of 
manufactured goods), or mineral and gas entity that uses 
Virginia maritime port facilities and increases its port cargo 
volume through these facilities may be eligible for an income 
tax credit. 
To qualify for the credit, a taxpayer generally must increase its 
port cargo volume at Virginia port facilities in a single calendar 
year by 5% over its base year port cargo volume. Base year 
port cargo volume is equal to the total amount of net tons of 
noncontainerized cargo, 20-foot equivalent units (TEUs) of 
cargo, or units of roll-on/roll-off cargo actually transported by 
way of a waterborne ship or vehicle through a port facility during 
the 2015 calendar year or the first calendar year in which it 
meets the requirements of 75 tons of noncontainerized cargo, 
10 loaded TEUs or 10 units of roll-on/roll-off cargo.  Base year 
cargo volume must be recalculated each calendar year after the 
initial base year. The amount of the credit is generally equal to 
$50 for each TEU, unit of roll-on/roll-off cargo, or 16 net tons of 
noncontainerized cargo above the base year port cargo volume. 
However, a qualifying major facility may apply for a credit equal 
to $50 for each TEU unit of roll-on/roll-off cargo, or 16 net tons 
of noncontainerized cargo transported through a port facility 
during the major facility’s first calendar year.
Any taxpayer claiming this credit must first submit an application 
to the Virginia Port Authority by March 1 of the calendar year 
after the taxable year in which the increase in port cargo volume 
occurs. The maximum amount of tax credits is capped at $3.2 
million for each calendar year. If, on March 15 of each year, 
the cumulative amount of tax credits requested by qualifying 
taxpayers for the prior year exceeds $3.2 million, the credits 
will be prorated among the qualifying taxpayers who requested 
the credit. A qualifying taxpayer is generally not permitted to 
receive more than $250,000 each calendar year. However, if 
on March 15 of each year the $3.2 million credit amount is not 
fully allocated among qualifying taxpayers, those taxpayers 
who have already been allocated a credit for the prior year will 
receive a pro rata share of the remaining credit amount. For 
more information, write to: Virginia Port Authority, 600 World 
Trade Center, Norfolk, VA 23510, or call (800) 446-8098. 

Barge and Rail Usage Tax Credit
For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2011, but 
before January 1, 2022, a business may receive an income tax 
credit for the usage of barge and rail to move cargo containers 
throughout the Commonwealth rather than using trucks or other 
motor vehicles on the Commonwealth’s highways.



The amount of the credit is $25 per 20-foot equivalent unit 
(TEU) or 16 tons of noncontainerized cargo or 1 unit of roll-on/
roll-off cargo moved by barge or rail. To receive this credit, an 
international trade facility is required to apply to the Department.  
No more than $500,000 in tax credits can be issued in any fiscal 
year. The Department will determine the allowable credit amount 
for the taxable year and provide a written certification of the 
credit amount to each taxpayer. Taxpayers can claim this credit 
against the individual income tax, the corporate income tax, the 
tax on estates and trusts, the bank franchise tax, the insurance 
premiums tax, and the tax on public service corporations.  Any 
unused tax credits may be carried over for 5 taxable years.  
The business must apply by April 1st using Form BRU.  
Submitting a late application will disqualify you from the credit. 
All applications must be sent to the Virginia Department of 
Taxation, Tax Credit Unit, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA 
23218-0715.  This credit requires certification from the Tax 
Credit Unit to be claimed on your tax return. A letter will be sent 
to certify the credit. 
For assistance contact the Tax Credit Unit at (804) 786-
2992.

Livable Home Tax Credit 
Effective for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 
2011, licensed contractors may be eligible for an income tax 
credit of up to $5,000 for the purchase/construction of a new 
accessible residence or up to 50% of the cost of retrofitting 
activities on an existing residence not to exceed $5,000. Any 
tax credit that exceeds the eligible licensed contractor’s tax 
liability may be carried forward for up to seven years. If the 
total amount of tax credits issued under this program exceeds 
$1 million in a fiscal year, Virginia Department of Housing and 
Community Development (DHCD) will prorate the amount 
of credits among the eligible applicants. The existing cap of 
$1 million for credits earned each year is divided, reserving 
one-half for the purchase or construction of a new residence 
and the other half for the renovation of an existing residence. 
Any portion of the $500,000 reserved for one activity that is 
not used will be allocated to the remaining balance of tax 
credits authorized for the other activity. Licensed contractors 
must obtain pre-approval before claiming the credit on their 
income tax returns. Applications are to be filed with the 
DHCD by February 28 of the year following the year in which 
the purchase/construction or retrofitting was completed. 
Documentation must be submitted with the application. For 
more information, write to: Virginia Department of Housing 
and Community Development, Special Needs Housing, 
Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, or call (804) 371-7124.
All pass-through entities distributing this credit to its owner(s), 
shareholders, partners or members must give each a 
Schedule VK-1, Owner’s Share of Income and Virginia 
Modifications and Credits. This credit must be allocated 
among owners in proportion to each owner’s percentage of 
ownership or participation in the pass-through entity.

Research and Development Expenses Tax Credit
A refundable individual and corporate income tax credit is 
allowed for qualified research and development expenses 

for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, 
but before January 1, 2022.  The tax credit is equal to (i) 
15% of the first $300,000 in Virginia qualified research and 
development expenses, or (ii) 20% of the first $300,000 of 
Virginia qualified research and development expenses if the 
research was conducted in conjunction with a Virginia public 
or private college or university, to the extent the expenses 
exceed a base amount. There is a cap on the total amount 
of credits allowed in any fiscal year. If the total amount of 
approved tax credits is less than the credit cap amount, the 
Department of Taxation will allocate the remaining amount 
to the taxpayers already approved for the tax credit on a pro 
rata basis.  If the total amount of approved credits exceeds 
the credit cap amount, the Department will allocate credits 
on a pro rata basis. 
Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
2016, the maximum annual amount of tax credits that may 
be issued for each fiscal year increases from $6 million to 
$7 million.
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, 
taxpayers may elect to determine the credit using a 
simplified method. Under the simplified method, the credit 
is equal to 10% of the difference of (i) the Virginia qualified 
research and development expenses paid or incurred by 
the taxpayer during the taxable year; and (ii) 50% of the 
average Virginia qualified research and development 
expenses paid or incurred by the taxpayer for the 3 taxable 
years immediately preceding the taxable year for which the 
credit is being determined.  If a taxpayer electing to use 
the simplified method did not pay or incur Virginia qualified 
research and development expenses in any 1 of the 3 taxable 
years immediately preceding the taxable year for which the 
credit is being determined, the credit is equal to 5% of the 
Virginia qualified research and development expenses paid 
or incurred by the taxpayer during the taxable year. Using 
such method, a taxpayer may claim up to $45,000 of credits 
for a taxable year, or $60,000 of credits for a taxable year if 
the Virginia qualified research was conducted in conjunction 
with a Virginia public or private college or university.
No taxpayer with Virginia qualified research and 
development expenses in excess of $5 million may claim 
both the Research and Development Expenses Tax Credit 
and the Major Research and Development Expenses Tax 
Credit for the same taxable year. 
To claim this tax credit, a taxpayer must apply by July 1st 
using Form RDC. Taxpayers electing to use the primary 
method to determine the proposed credit amount must 
complete Section 1 - Primary Credit Calculation.  Taxpayers 
electing to use the simplified method to determine the 
proposed credit amount must complete Section 2 - 
Alternative Simplified Credit Calculation. Submitting a late 
application will disqualify you for the credit.  All applications 
must be sent to the Virginia Department of Taxation, Tax 
Credit Unit, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA 23218-0715. 
This credit requires certification from the Tax Credit Unit in 
order to be claimed on your tax return. A letter will be sent 
to certify the credit. 
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The amount of the credit attributable to a partnership, electing 
small business corporation (S corporation), or limited liability 
company (LLC) must be allocated to the individual partners, 
shareholders, or members in proportion to their ownership 
interests in such entities or in accordance with a written 
agreement using Form PTE within 30 days after the credit is 
granted unless the partnership, limited liability company, or 
electing small business corporation (S corporation) elects 
for such credits not to be so allocated but to be received 
and claimed at the entity level by the partnership, limited 
liability company, or electing small business corporation (S 
corporation).
The Department shall require taxpayers applying for the credit 
to provide information including (i) the number of full-time 
employees employed by the taxpayer in the Commonwealth 
during the taxable year for which the credit is sought; (ii) the 
taxpayer’s sector or sectors according to the 2012 edition of 
the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 
as published by the United States Census Bureau; (iii) a brief 
description of the area, discipline, or field of Virginia qualified 
research performed by the taxpayer; (iv) the total gross receipts 
or anticipated total gross receipts of the taxpayer for the taxable 
year for which the credit is sought; and (v) whether the Virginia 
qualified research was conducted in conjunction with a Virginia 
public or private college or university.
Any taxpayer that is allowed a Research and Development 
Expenses Tax Credit is not allowed to use the same expenses 
as the basis for claiming any other Virginia tax credit.  Research 
and development expenses that are paid or incurred for 
research conducted in Virginia on human cells or tissue derived 
from induced abortions or from stem cells obtained from human 
embryos do not qualify for the credit. However, if a taxpayer 
engages in research in Virginia on human cells or tissue derived 
from induced abortions from stem cells obtained from human 
embryos, it may receive a nonrefundable credit for other Virginia 
qualified research and development expenses.  Accordingly, if 
you conducted embryonic stem cell research in Virginia, this 
credit is nonrefundable and you must enter the amount of credit 
granted on Schedule 500CR, Section 1, Part 26.  If you did not 
conduct embryonic stem cell research in Virginia, this credit is 
refundable and you must enter the amount of credit granted on 
Schedule 500CR, Section 3, Part 3.

Major Research and Development Expenses Tax Credit
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, but 
before January 1, 2022, a taxpayer with Virginia qualified 
research and development expenses for the taxable year in 
excess of $5 million may claim a non refundable tax credit 
against the tax levied pursuant to  § 58.1-320 or 58.1-400 
in an amount equal to 10% of the difference between (i) the 
Virginia qualified research and development expenses paid or 
incurred by the taxpayer during the taxable year and (ii) 50% 
of the average Virginia qualified research and development 
expenses paid or incurred by the taxpayer for the 3 taxable years 
immediately preceding the taxable year for which the credit is 
being determined. If the taxpayer did not pay or incur Virginia 
qualified research and development expenses in any 1 of the 3 
taxable years immediately preceding the taxable year for which 
the credit is being determined, the tax credit is equal to 5% of 

the Virginia qualified research and development expenses paid 
or incurred by the taxpayer during the relevant taxable year.
No more than $20 million in tax credits may be issued in any 
fiscal year.  If the approved applications for the tax credits exceed 
$20 million for any taxable year, the credits will be allocated 
proportionately among all qualified taxpayers.
No taxpayer is permitted to claim credits in excess of 75% 
of the income tax imposed on the taxpayer for the taxable 
year. Any credit not usable for the taxable year for which the 
credit was first allowed may be carried over for credit against 
the income taxes of the taxpayer in the next 10 succeeding 
taxable years or until the total amount of the tax credit has 
been taken, whichever is sooner.
Any taxpayer who claims the tax credit for Virginia qualified 
research and development expenses is not allowed to use such 
expenses as the basis for claiming any other credit provided 
under the Code of Virginia.
Applications for the tax credit must be received by the 
Department no later than July 1 of the calendar year following 
the close of the taxable year in which the expenses were paid 
or incurred.  To apply, the business must file Form MRD. 
Submitting a late application will disqualify you from the credit. 
All applications must be sent to the Virginia Department of 
Taxation, Tax Credit Unit, P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA 
23218-0715. This credit requires certification from the Tax 
Credit Unit to be claimed on your tax return. A letter will be sent 
to certify the credit.
No taxpayer with Virginia qualified research and development 
expenses in excess of $5 million may claim both the Research 
and Development Expenses Tax Credit and the Major Research 
and Development Expenses Tax Credit for the same taxable 
year.
Credits granted to a partnership, limited liability company, or 
electing small business corporation (S Corporation) must be 
allocated to the individual partners, members, or shareholders, 
respectively, in proportion to their ownership interests in such 
entities or in accordance with a written agreement entered into 
by such individual partners, members, or shareholders.
No tax credit shall be allowed for any expenses that are paid 
for or incurred by a taxpayer for research conducted in the 
Commonwealth on human cells or tissue derived from induced 
abortions or from stem cells obtained from human embryos. The 
foregoing provision shall not apply to research conducted using 
stem cells other than embryonic stem cells.

Telework Expenses Tax Credit
The Telework Expenses Tax Credit is an individual and 
corporate income tax credit for employers who (1) incur 
eligible telework expenses pursuant to a telework agreement 
or (2) conduct telework assessments.  This credit is equal to 
the amount of expenses incurred during the calendar year.  
The amount of the credit cannot exceed $50,000 per year 
for each employer.
To qualify for a credit for eligible telework expenses incurred 
pursuant to a telework agreement, the employer must enter 
into a signed telework agreement with the teleworking 
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employee on or after July 1, 2012, but before January 1, 2017. 
This telework agreement must be in accordance with policies 
This telework agreement must be in accordance with policies 
set by the Department of Rail and Public Transportation 
(DRPT). Such policies are available on the Telework!VA 
website at www.teleworkva.org. The maximum amount of 
expenses that can be used in determining the amount of this 
portion of the credit is $1,200 per employee.
The portion of the credit for telework assessment expenses is 
equal to the costs of preparing an assessment, not to exceed 
$20,000.  This portion of the credit can only be claimed once 
by an employer.
Taxpayers may claim this credit for taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2012, but before January 1, 2017.  The 
aggregate amount of tax credits that will be issued is capped 
at $1 million annually.  If credit applications exceed the $1 
million cap, credits will be allocated on a pro rata basis.
The amount of credit claimed cannot exceed the tax liability of 
the taxpayer. There is no carryforward of any unused credit. 
Accordingly, even if a taxpayer is granted a credit amount, it 
must have sufficient tax liability in order to actually claim the 
full credit amount. If the amount of credit granted exceeds 
the taxpayer’s tax liability, it may only claim the credit up to 
the amount of tax liability for the taxable year.
To be eligible for this credit, the employer is not allowed to 
deduct the qualified expenses in any taxable year. If these 
expenses are deducted for federal purposes, they will need to 
be included as an addition on your Virginia return. Taxpayers 
are not eligible for this tax credit if any other income tax credit 
is claimed for the same expenses.
Taxpayers are required to apply to the Department to reserve 
a portion of the credit. The reservation application must 
be filed between September 1 and October 31 of the year 
preceding the taxable year for which the tax credit is earned. 
The Department will provide tentative approval by December 
31. If the applications for the credit exceed the cap, the credits 
will be allocated to taxpayers on a pro rata basis. 
Information on the application process is available by writing 
to the Virginia Department of Taxation, Tax Credit Unit, 
P.O. Box 715, Richmond, VA 23218-0715, or by calling 
(804) 786-2992.

Education Improvement Scholarships Tax Credit
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, 
but before January 1, 2028, an income tax credit may be 
claimed for monetary or marketable securities donations 
made to scholarship foundations included on an approved list 
published by the Virginia Department of Education. Credits 
may be earned during taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2013 but before January 1, 2028.  Tax credits 
earned during the taxable year must be claimed beginning 
with the taxable year during which they were earned.  The 
credit is equal to 65% of the monetary or marketable securities 
donation made to the scholarship foundation. The credit can 
be claimed against the individual income tax, corporate 
income tax, bank franchise tax, insurance premiums license 
tax, or tax on public service corporations. For individuals, the 
minimum value of any monetary or marketable securities 

donation eligible for a tax credit is $500 in a taxable year, 
and the maximum value of monetary or marketable securities 
donations eligible for tax credits is the first $125,000 in value 
of donations made in a taxable year.  Such limitations on the 
minimum and maximum values of donations eligible for tax 
credits in a taxable year do not apply to donations made by 
any business entity, including a sole proprietorship.
Tax credits will be awarded to taxpayers on a first-come, 
first-served basis in accordance with procedures established 
by the Virginia Department of Education. The total amount 
of credits available in any fiscal year is capped at $25 
million. Any unused tax credits may be carried over for the 
next 5 succeeding taxable years or until the total amount of 
credit has been taken, whichever is sooner. For additional 
information on how to qualify for certification, contact the 
Virginia Department of Education, 21st Floor, P.O. Box 
2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, ATTN: Scholarships Tax 
Credits Program or call (804) 225-3375.

Food Crop Donation Tax Credit
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, but 
before January 1, 2022, any person engaged in the business 
of farming as defined under 26 C.F.R. § 1.175-3 that donates 
food crops grown by the person in the Commonwealth to a 
nonprofit food bank may claim an individual or corporate 
income tax credit for the taxable year of the donation. The 
amount of the credit is equal to 30% of the fair market value 
of such crops.  No taxpayer is permitted to claim more than 
$5,000 in credits for a taxable year.  Any unused credit 
amount may be carried forward for 5 years.  
The credit is only allowed if (i) the use of the donated 
food crops by the donee nonprofit food bank is related to 
providing food to the needy, (ii) the donated food crops 
are not transferred for use outside the Commonwealth or 
used by the donee nonprofit food bank as consideration for 
services performed or personal property purchased, and (iii) 
the donated food crops, if sold by the donee nonprofit food 
bank, are sold to the needy, other nonprofit food banks, or 
organizations that intend to use the food crops to provide 
food to the needy.
No more than $250,000 in tax credits may be issued in any 
fiscal year.  
The business must apply for the credit by April 1st using 
Form FCD-1. Submitting a late application will disqualify you 
from the credit. All applications must be sent to the Virginia 
Department of Taxation, Tax Credit Unit, P.O. Box 715, 
Richmond, VA 23218-0715. This credit requires certification 
from the Tax Credit Unit to be claimed on your tax return. A 
letter will be sent to certify the credit.

Coalfield Employment Enhancement and Refundable 
Coal Employment and Production Incentive Tax 

Credits
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1996, 
but before January 1, 2017, a tax credit may be earned 
by individuals, estates, trusts and corporations who have 
an economic ownership interest in coal mined in Virginia. 
The credit is based on the quantity of coal or methane gas 
produced and employment levels. If the number of coal 
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mining jobs for the year the credit is earned is less than in 
the previous year, the maximum earned credit is reduced 
by an employment factor. The allowable credit must be 
computed on Form 306, Coalfield Employment Enhancement 
Tax Credit, and reported on the return filed for the taxable 
year in which the credit is earned. Form 306 with completed 
schedules must be attached to the tax return when filed. 
See “What to Attach” on the instructions for Form 306 for 
additional attachment requirements and information. The 
allowable credits may be claimed in the third taxable year 
following the taxable year in which the credit was earned 
and allowed. This credit may not be claimed for any ton of 
coal for which the Virginia Coal Employment and Production 
Incentive Tax Credit is claimed. 
Virginia Coal Employment and Production Incentive Tax 
Credit: This credit may be allocated between a qualifying 
electricity generator and qualifying person with an economic 
interest in coal. The allocation of this credit may not exceed 
$3 per ton. All credits earned on or after January 1, 2006, 
or prior to July 1, 2016 which are allocated to persons with 
an economic interest in coal may be redeemed by the Tax 
Commissioner if the credits exceed the taxpayer’s state tax 
liability for the applicable taxable year. You must complete 
Form 306, Form 306T, and its attachments to claim these 
credits.
For forms and additional information, contact the Department. 
To claim these credits, complete Form 306 and any 
necessary attachments and transfer the applicable amount 
to Schedule 500CR Section 3, Part 1.

Motion Picture Production Tax Credit
Qualifying motion picture production companies are eligible to 
receive a series of refundable individual and corporate income 
tax credits for taxable years beginning on and after January 
1, 2011. 
Base-Income Tax Credit: The base credit available is 15% of 
all qualifying expenses (including wages), with a bonus of 5% 
if the production is filmed in an economically distressed area of 
the Commonwealth, making the total base credit available up 
to 20% of qualifying expenses. 
Additional Virginia Resident Credit: The production company 
is allowed an additional credit of 10% to 20% of the total 
aggregate payroll for Virginia residents employed in connection 
with the motion picture production. For companies that spend at 
least $250,000 in total production costs in the Commonwealth, 
but not more than $1 million, the credit will equal 10% of the total 
Virginia resident aggregate payroll. For companies that spend 
over $1 million in total production costs in the Commonwealth, 
the credit will equal 20% of the total aggregate Virginia resident 
payroll. 

Additional Virginia Resident First-Time Industry Employee 
Credit: In addition to the above outlined credits, companies may 
claim a credit of 10% of their total aggregate payroll for Virginia 
residents who are employed as first time actors or first time 
members of a production crew in connection with a production 
in Virginia. 
The aggregate amount of all motion picture credits to be issued 
is capped at $2.5 million for the 2010-2012 biennium. Effective 
July 1, 2014, (fiscal year 2015), and each fiscal year thereafter, 
the cap amount increases to $6.5 million. To qualify for this credit, 
production companies must submit an initial application to the 
Virginia Film Office (“VFO”) at least 30 days prior to production 
and must enter into a Memorandum of Understanding.  After 
production is complete, the production company must submit 
documentation to the VFO and will be issued a certification 
letter.  A taxpayer may only claim this credit after receiving 
the certification letter from the VFO.  For more information, 
contact: Virginia Film Office, 901 E. Cary Street, Suite 900, 
Richmond, VA 23219, or call (800) 854-6233.
Credits available through the Virginia Motion Picture Production 
Tax Credit are offered in addition to other Virginia production 
incentives. For additional information regarding all available 
funding assistance for Virginia productions, please refer to the 
Virginia Film Office’s website FilmVirginia.org.

Donations to the General Fund 
Legislation passed by the 2002 General Assembly allows 
you to make donations directly to Virginia’s General 
Fund by writing a check payable to the State Treasurer 
and designating it as a donation to the Commonwealth’s 
General Fund. To ensure proper accounting for these 
donations, you must attach your payment to Form GFD. Visit  
www.tax.virginia.gov or call (804) 367-8037 to obtain this 
form.
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