FORM AST-3

Office Use Only

Virginia Aircraft Sales and Use Tax Return

Virginia Department of Taxation P.O. Box 2468 Richmond, VA 23218-2468



ddress				FEIN /S	SSN	
City			ZIP Code Virginia A		Account Number (If	Applicable-See
I. Aircraft FAA Registration Number			Serial Number	er		
N						
2. Aircraft Make			Aircraft	t Model	MFR Ye	ear
a. Date Aircraft Purchased in VA	3b. Date Aircraft Entered	in VA		3c. Date Aircra	Ift Became Airwor	thv
Month (MM) Day (DD) Year (YYYY)					им) Day(DD) `	•
1 1		,		,	1 1	, ,
Name and Address of Seller			<u>_</u>		<i>,</i>	
Name						
-						
Address						
 Sale Price of Aircraft, Including Attachments and Accessories No deduction allowable for trade-in. Must attach a copy of a detailed purchase receipt that substantiates 				tantiates \$; ; ;
purchase price. The FAA bill of sale is not acceptable. 5a. Less Federal Manufacturer's Excise Tax						<u> </u>
Deductible only if included in amount on line 6 and separately stated on invoice.				\$!
5b. Amount of Sale Price of Aircraft Subject to Tax Line 5 less Line 5a.				\$		1
 Current Market Value of Aircraft This item is applicable only if the aircraft is regoutside the State, in which case the tax will be whichever is less. 						
7. Tax 2% of amount on Line 5b, or Line 6, whichever is applicable				\$		1
Less Credit Allowable for a Similar Tax Paid to Another State Attach copies of invoices showing tax billed and paid.				\$		
9. Net Amount of Tax Due Line 7 less Line 8.				\$!
10. Penalty				\$!
11. Interest				\$!
12. Total Tax, Penalty and Interest Due				\$	\$ 1	
declare that this return (including any acc	companying document)	has been	examined	by me and to	the best of my	knowledge
belief is a true, correct and complete return.	gnature		Phone Number		Date	
pelief is a true, correct and complete return. Signature		Phone Nu	mber		Bute	

Department of Taxation Virginia Aircraft Sales and Use Tax P. O. Box 2468 Richmond, VA 23218-2468

Virginia Department of Taxation P. O. Box 715 Richmond, VA 23218-0715 Call (804) 786-2450 Visit www.tax.virginia.gov

Virginia Aircraft Sales and Use Tax Return Instructions

General: The Virginia aircraft sales and use tax is imposed at the rate of two percent upon the retail sale of every aircraft sold in this state and upon the nonexempt use in Virginia of any aircraft. The Virginia aircraft sales tax applies to all aircraft sold and required to be registered in Virginia, including occasional sales. "Occasional sale" refers to a sale of an aircraft by anyone not a dealer in aircraft.

Basis of tax for sale or use: The tax is assessed on the use or sale of an aircraft. The basis of the tax is the sale price, including any amount credited for trade-in or any other transaction of like nature, except that if the aircraft is first used or brought into Virginia six months or more after its acquisition, the tax will be based on the current market value.

Any person who sells an aircraft in Virginia must supply the buyer with an invoice signed by the seller or his representative. The invoice must state the sale price of the aircraft. The buyer must include the invoice with his return and payment of the tax.

Tax due date: The taxpayer is required to file Form AST-3 and/or pay the full amount of tax due within thirty days from the date that the aircraft is required to be registered in Virginia. Please note: the aircraft is required to be registered within 90 days. Mail completed forms to:

Virginia Department of Taxation Aircraft Sales and Use Tax P.O. Box 2468 Richmond, VA 23218-2468

Questions: Call (804) 786-2450 or write the Virginia Department of Taxation, PO Box 715, Richmond, VA 23218-0715. If you have Internet access, you can obtain most Virginia tax forms from the Department's Web-site www.tax.virginia.gov.

Line by Line Instructions

Lines 1-2: Complete your name and address, account information, and aircraft information.

Virginia Account Number: If you are a first time filer, you will not have a Virginia Account Number. Leave this box blank, and an account number will be assigned when your return is processed.

Line 3: Date Aircraft Purchased or Entered Into Virginia-Enter the date (month MM, day DD, and year YYYY) the aircraft was purchased in Virginia or entered into Virginia.

Line 4: Name and Address of Seller - Enter the name and address of the seller.

Line 5: Sales Price - Enter the Sales Price from the sales invoice. Attach documentation that supports the sales price (detailed purchase receipt, invoice, purchase agreement, etc.) The FAA bill of sale is unacceptable. If no documentation is available, the Department will accept the average retail blue book value.

Line 5a: Excise tax - Enter the amount of federal manufacturer's excise tax included on Line 5.

Line 6: Market Value-Enter the amount of the current market value of the aircraft or sales price (whichever is less) only if the aircraft is registered in this state more than six months after acquisition in another state. If the aircraft has always been in this state, use the sales price.

Line 7: Tax- Enter 2% of Line 5b or Line 6 whichever applies.

Line 8: Allowable credit – Enter the amount of credit allowed for a similar tax paid to another State. Attach copies of certificate of payment/confirmation showing tax billed and paid.

Line 9: Tax Due- Subtract Line 8 from Line 7.

Line 10: Penalty: The penalty for failure to file and/ or pay on time is 6% of the tax due for each month, or part of a month, that the tax is not paid, not to exceed 30%.

Line 11: Interest: Interest at the underpayment rate established by Section 6621 of the Internal Revenue Code, plus 2%, will be added to the tax if not paid by the due date. Enter interest if you file the return and/or pay the tax after the due date.

Declaration and Signature: Be sure to sign, date and enter your phone number in the space indicated.