Form EST-80	Virginia Estate Tax Return	
VA Dept of Taxation 3101027 3/07 For da	tes of death from January 1, 2005 through June 30, 2007	
	IMPORTANT: A copy of the federal estate tax return,	
A Resident Return		
B Nonresident Return	Decedent's Name	Offical use only
C Alien Return		Amount Received
D Amended Return	Social Security Number	
E Amended - Fed Audit	Domicile at Date of Death	Date Received
F Extension - Filing	Date of Death	
G Extension - Payment	Personal Representative	
H IRC 6166 Extension	Address	
1 Total gross ostato (from l	Line 1, Form 706)	1
- ·	om Line 2, Form 706)	
	(Line 1 less Line 2)	
	n (see instructions)	
	less Line 3b)	
	om Line 4, Form 706	
	12 of Federal Form 7066a6b.	
6. Virginia Estate Tax (ente	r the lesser of Line 6a or Line 6b) Resident Return (Box A above)	
	d, enter value of real and tangible personal	
	(Enter % two places past decimal. Ex: 47.35%)7b.	
-	6	
	r states (do not include penalty or interest)7d.	
	r Line 7d	
	nia Residents) Line 6 less Line 7	
	ident or Alien Return (Box B or C above)	
9a. If Box B or C above is ch		
property included in Line	e 1 located in Virginia9a.	
9b. Divide Line 9a by Line 1	(Enter % two places past decimal. Ex: 47.35%)9b	%
9. Virginia Estate tax (Nonr	esidents) Multiply Line 9b by Line 6	9.
10. Total tax (Enter tax from	Line 8 or 9 as applicable)	
11. Payment Credits:	Extension Payments11a.	
	Other Payments11b	
	Less Previous Refunds11c	
Total Payn	nent Credits (Line 11a +11b - 11c)	
	ne 11. Do not enter an amount less than zero)	
	e instructions)	
14. Interest, if applicable (se	e instructions)	
15. Total tax, penalty and inte	erest due (Line 12 + 13 +14)	
	is larger than Line 10, enter overpayment)	
Under penalty of law, I declare that	I have examined this return and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is a I authorize the Dept. of Taxati	a true, correct and complete return. on to discuss this return with my preparer.
Signature of personal representative	9	Date Telephone Number

Date

FILING REQUIREMENTS

Code of Virginia §58.1-900 et seq. imposes the estate tax on estates of decedents whose date of death occurred from January 1, 2005 through June 30, 2007 in an amount equal to the maximum amount of the credit for state death taxes allowable under Section 2011 of the Internal Revenue Code as it existed on January 1, 1978. The Virginia estate tax requirements have been repealed for decedents whose date of death occurred on or after July 1, 2007. If a federal return is required to be filed for a decedent whose date of death occurred prior to July 1, 2007, a Virginia return must also be filed even if there is no tax due. For information or assistance with completing Form EST- 80, contact the Virginia Department of Taxation at (804) 367-8031. Additional information can also be obtained from Title 23 Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) 10-300-10 through 10-300-90. Mail the return to Virginia Department of Taxation, Processing Operations, P. O. Box 1500, Richmond, VA 23218-1500.

FILING THRESHOLDS

DATE OF DEATH	GROSS VALUE EXCEEDING	DATE OF DEATH	GROSS VALUE EXCEEDING
Through December 31, 1997	\$600,000	January 1, 2002 - December 31, 2003	3 \$1,000,000
January 1, 1998 - December 31, 1	998 \$625,000	January 1, 2004 - December 31, 2005	\$1,500,000
January 1, 1999 - December 31, 1	999 \$650,000	January 1, 2006 - June 30, 2007	\$2,000,000
January 1, 2000 - December 31, 2	001 \$675,000		

FORM INSTRUCTIONS

Check appropriate box in the upper left hand corner of the return. Fill in Decedent's Name, SSN, Date of Death and State of Domicile at Date of Death. Fill in the name and address of the Personal Representative to whom all correspondence will be addressed. A continuation sheet may be attached if there are more than one.

- Line 1 From Line 1, Federal Form 706
- Line 2 From Line 2, Federal Form 706
- Line 3a Subtract Line 2 from Line 1
- Line 3b From Line 3b, Federal Form 706. See "New Federal Deduction" section on next page for more information on the federal deduction for state death taxes.
- Line 3c Subtract Line 3b from 3a
- Line 4 From Line 4, Federal Form 706
- Line 5 Line 3c plus Line 4
- Line 6a Enter amount from Line 12 of Federal Form 706.
- Line 6b Compute tax on Line 3c using tax table on next
- page. Line 6 Enter lesser of Line 6a or 6b.
- Line 7a If Box A is checked, enter value of the Virginia resident's real and tangible personal property located outside of Virginia.
- Line 7b Divide Line 7a by Line 1 (carry the calculation to 4 decimal places, expressed as a percentage with two decimal places, e.g, 47.35%)
- Line 7c Multiply Line 7b by Line 6 (maximum credit for tax paid to other states)
- Line 7d Enter amount of estate tax actually paid to other states. Do not include penalty or interest. Credits

- for Estate Taxes paid to another state must be documented — attach a copy of the other state's closing letter certifying the amount of tax paid or a copy of the tax return filed in the other state(s).
- Line 7 Enter the Lesser of Line 7c or Line 7d
- Line 8 Line 6 less Line 7. This is the amount of estate tax due to the Commonwealth of Virginia for Virginia residents.
- Line 9a If Box B is checked, enter value of nonresident's real and tangible personal property located in Virginia. If Box C is checked, enter value of alien decedent's real and tangible/intangible personal property located in Virginia.
- Line 9b Divide Line 9a by Line 1 (carry the calculation to 4 decimal places, expressed as a percentage with two decimal places, e.g, 47.35%)
- Line 9 Multiply Line 9b by Line 6.
- Line 10 Enter tax from line 8 or line 9 as applicable.
- Line 11a Enter amount of extension payments made with extension request.
- Line 11b Enter amount of other payments made
- Line 11c Enter amount of refunds issued
- Line 11 Line 11a + Line 11b Line 11c
- Line 12 Line 10 less line 11 (do not enter an amount less than zero)
- Line 13 Penalty. If payment is made later than the due date or extended due date (for payment), enter 5% of Line 12.
- Line 14 Compute interest, as established below, for all payments not made by the original due date.
- Line 15 Add lines 12, 13 and 14
- Line 16 If line 11 is larger than line 10, enter refund amount.

Adjusted Taxable Estate Worksheet

1. Taxable estate (Line 3c from Form EST-80)	
2. Adjustment	60,000
3. Adjusted taxable estate (Subtract line 2 from line 1).	<u> </u>
Use this amount to compute tax from Tax Table below.	

Tax Table — Virginia Estate Tax Based on Adjusted Taxable Estate (Line 3c - Form EST-80 less \$60,000)

(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)	[(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)
Adjusted Taxable Estate		Tax on amount in Rate of tax on excess			Adjusted Taxable Estate		Tax on amount in	Rate of tax on excess
Taxable amount equal to or over	Taxable amount not over	Column (1)		Taxable amount equal to or over	Taxable amount not over	Column (1)	over amount in Column (1)	
0 40,000 90,000 140,000 240,000	40,000 90,000 140,000 240,000 440,000	0 0 400 1,200 3,600	0.8% 1.6% 2.4% 3.2%		2,540,000 3,040,000 3,540,000 4,040,000 5,040,000	3,040,000 3,540,000 4,040,000 5,040,000 6,040,000	190,800 238,800 290,800	8.8% 9.6% 10.4% 11.2% 12.0%
$\begin{array}{r} 440,000\\ 640,000\\ 840,000\\ 1,040,000\\ 1,540,000\\ 2,040,000\end{array}$	640,000 840,000 1,040,000 1,540,000 2,040,000 2,540,000	10,000 18,000 27,600 38,800 70,800 106,800	4.0% 4.8% 5.6% 6.4% 7.2% 8.0%		6,040,000 7,040,000 8,040,000 9,040,000 10,040,000	7,040,000 8,040,000 9,040,000 10,040,000	650,800 786,800	12.8% 13.6% 14.4% 15.2% 16.0%

NEW FEDERAL DEDUCTION

Effective for decedents dying on and after January 1, 2005, federal law allows estates to deduct the inheritance and estate taxes paid to the states. Because the Virginia estate tax will reduce the federal taxable estate, which is the starting point for calculating Virginia tax,

it will be necessary to use simultaneous equations to calculate the Virginia tax. Additional information is available on the Department of Taxation website to assist you in calculating Virginia tax. See www. tax.virginia.gov.

PENALTY AND INTEREST

The penalty for late payment of the tax is 5% of the tax due on Line 13 of the return. There is no penalty for late filing. Interest is accrued on the tax owed, from the due date through the date the tax is paid.

In accordance with § 58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia, interest is assessed at the federal underpayment rate established by the Internal Revenue Service, plus 2%.

EXTENSIONS

Virginia law allows an extension of time for filing Form EST-80 and/ or paying the tax due only if a federal extension has been granted. The Department of Taxation accepts any extension granted by the Internal Revenue Service, as long as a true copy of the approved federal extension is attached to the Virginia return when filed. If a federal extension is requested for filing only, the Virginia tax is still due to be paid within nine months from the date of death. To pay the tax (estimated payment), use Form EST-80, check Box F and enter amount of tax on line 15, leave lines 1-14 blank. If the tax is not paid by the due date, penalty and interest will be assessed. Estates requesting a payment extension under Internal Revenue Code §6166 must attach a copy of the letter requesting such extension and check Box H on page 1. Interest on the Virginia Estate Tax under this extension will NOT be reduced to correspond with the Internal Revenue Service reductions.

AMENDED RETURNS

If filing an amended return to report changes to the original return, check Box D and attach a copy of the amended Federal Form 706. If this return is requesting a refund, include federal acceptance. To

file an amended return due to a federal change, check Box E and attach a copy of the federal audit.

IMPORTANT

A COPY OF THE FEDERAL ESTATE TAX RETURN, FORM 706 MUST BE FILED WITH THIS RETURN. Be sure to include all schedules and continuation pages, approved payment extensions and/or a copy of the letter to the IRS requesting an extension under Section 6166 of the Internal Revenue Code. Do not include a copy of the will or copies of real and personal property appraisals. This information will be requested if needed.