FORM 500ES (2011)

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
CORPORATION ESTIMATED INCOME

2011

TAX PAYMENT VOUCHERS

GENERAL INFORMATION

Businesses with an average monthly liability exceeding $20,000
are required by law to pay their taxes by Electronic Funds Transfer
(EFT). Corporation taxes are included in this category. Taxpayers
who are identified as mandatory EFT filers will be notified by first
class mail to begin making payments by EFT. Payments required
to be made by EFT that are submitted by check are subject to Late
Payment penalties.

Taxpayers who do not have an average monthly liability of $20,000
may voluntarily choose to pay their corporation tax payments by
EFT. Payments are made directly to the Tax Department’s bank from
your business bank account. EFT not only saves you the cost and
inconvenience of writing checks, but also, ensures that your return
payment will be made on time without the worry of a check being lost
in the mail. For more information, call the Office of Customer
Services at (804) 367-8037.

NEED HELP?

www.tax.virginia.gov
The Tax Website has lots of information to help you with your tax
filing responsibilities.

If you can’t find what you’re looking for try our Live
Live Chat Chat feature. A Tax Representative is available on-
line to assist you.
e-Subscription: With our free e-Subscription service, we’ll send
you e-mails on topics you select. You can even get reminders about
upcoming return due dates. Sign up today on our website!
File Online: You can pay your estimated taxes on-line through iFile.
Forms Online: Virginia tax forms are available for download.
Secure E-mail: Use our iFile Secure Message Center.

Other Inquiries: Call 804-367-8037 or write Virginia Department
of Taxation, P.O. Box 1115, Richmond, VA 23218-1115. Do not
mail returns to this address.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR 2011
DECLARATION OF ESTIMATED INCOME TAX FOR CORPORATIONS

1. FILING REQUIREMENTS

Every corporation subject to state income taxation must make
a declaration of estimated income tax for the taxable year if the
corporation’s state income tax for the same period, reduced by the
allowable tax credits, can be expected to exceed $1,000.

2. WHERE TO FILE AND PAY

The declaration must be filed with the Virginia Department
of Taxation, P.O. Box 1500, Richmond, VA 23218-1500. The
declaration must be accompanied by a check or money order, made
payable to the Virginia Department of Taxation, for the amount of
the installment due.

3. WHEN TO FILE AND PAY

Taxpayers filing on a fiscal year or calendar year basis should follow
the declaration and payment schedule in the table shown below.

4. SHORT TAXABLE YEAR

A declaration of estimated income tax is not required for a period
of less than twelve months, if:
(a) the period is less than four months; or
(b) the filing requirements are first met after the first day of
the last month in the short taxable year.

Compute taxable income for the short taxable period on an annual
basis by multiplying the income amount by twelve and dividing the
result by the number of months in the short period. Refer to the
table shown below to determine the date the declaration is to be

filed and the number and the dollar amount of installments to be
paid. You are not required to annualize your income if the short
taxable year does not change your accounting period.

5. CONSOLIDATED OR COMBINED ESTIMATED TAX

An affiliated group filing a consolidated or combined return shall file
a declaration of estimated tax on the same basis as a corporation
for each taxable year. A consolidated or combined return shall
be considered the return of a single taxpayer for the purpose of
Sections 58.1-500 through 58.1-504 of the Code of Virginia.

6. FAILURE TO PAY

Underpayment of estimated income tax payments will result in an
addition to the tax from the due date of the installment until paid,
or until the due date for filing the return, whichever is earlier. If the
corporation has an underpayment of estimated tax and believes
an addition to the tax should not be assessed, Form 500C,
Corporation Underpayment of Estimated Tax, must be attached to
the corporation’s income tax return along with supporting schedules
which support the applicable exception (included in Section 58.1-504
(D) of the Code of Virginia).

DECLARATION AND PAYMENT SCHEDULE

The date the declaration is to be filed and the number and amount of installments to be paid is determined in accordance with the following table.

The declaration shall be filed
on or before—

If the requirements are first met—

The number
of installments

The following percentages of the estimated tax
shall be paid on or before the 15th day of the —

to be paid is— 4th month | 6th month | 9th month | 12th month
before the 1st day of the 4th month of the 15th day of the 4th month 2
the taxable year of the taxable year 25% 25% 25% 25%
after the last day of the 3rd month and the 15th day of the 6th month
before the 1st day of the 6th month of the taxable year 3 33 1/3% 33 1/3% 33 1/3%
of the taxable year
after the last day of the 5th month and the 15th day of the 9th month
before the 1st day of the 9th month of the taxable year 2 50% 50%
of the taxable year
after the last day of the 8th month and the 15th day of the 12th month
before the 1st day of the 12th month of the taxable year T e 100%
of the taxable year

VA DEPT OF TAXATION 2601010 REV. 9/10



HOW TO USE FORM 500ES

1. Complete the Estimated Tax Worksheet below to compute your estimated tax for 2011.
Estimated Tax Worksheet
(This is your record - retain for your files)

1. Virginia net income eXPected iN 2017 ... .. ittt et e ae e e e he e e e bt e e e nb e e e nb e e e ant e e e enneas 1. [$
2. Estimated tax for the entire year (6% of line 1, less allowable credits). If $1,000 or less, no declaration is required.
Enter this amount on line 1 0f the VOUCKET ... 2. %

3. For CALENDAR year taxpayers - if first filing is on or before:
April 15, 2011 enter 1/4 of line 2 here.
June 15, 2011 enter 1/3 of line 2 here.
Sept.15, 2011 enter 1/2 of line 2 here.
Dec. 15, 2011 enter amount on line 2 here.

For FISCAL year taxpayers - see Declaration and Payment Schedule on preceding page and enter amount here...... 3.
4. Amount of any 2010 OVERPAYMENT to be credited to 2011 tax
5. Amount of this estimated tax payment (line 3 1€SS lINE 4).......cccoiiiiiiiiiiii e 5.
2. Enter the estimated payment amount from line 5 (above), on line 2 of the first voucher.

3. The amount of SUBSEQUENT installment payments due (to be shown on line 2 of the appropriate voucher) will be the amount
shown on line 3 (above).

4. If there is an overpayment from line 4 (above) which is larger than the first installment payment on line 3 (above), enter 0 on line 2 of
the first voucher filed (NO PAYMENT IS DUE). If an overpayment is not deducted from the first installment payment then this amount
can be applied toward the next installment payment due. The difference is entered on line 2 of the appropriate voucher.

5. You may elect to apply part of the OVERPAYMENT shown on line 4 (above) against an installment due. Divide the OVERPAYMENT
by the number of installments due and deduct this amount from line 3 (above). The difference is entered on line 2 of the appropriate
voucher.

N
A AP

HOW TO COMPLETE THE FORM 500ES VOUCHERS
1. Enter your Virginia account number, the ending month and year (calendar, fiscal or short taxable year) for which the estimated
payment is made. EXAMPLE: If the ending month is March 2011, enter 03 11.
Enter the name, federal employer identification number, address, city, state and ZIP code on each voucher.
Enter on line 1 of the voucher the amount shown on line 2 of the worksheet.
Enter on line 2 of the voucher the amount of your payment.
Sign the first voucher you file and detach. You need not sign SUBSEQUENT vouchers UNLESS you are amending your estimate.
Attach check or money order to the voucher and mail to the Virginia Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 1500, Richmond, VA 23218-

1500. PRINT YOUR VIRGINIA ACCOUNT NUMBER ON YOUR CHECK OR MONEY ORDER. Fill in the Record of Tax Payments
(below) for your own personal tax record.

IR

7. For each SUBSEQUENT installment, enter your payment on line 2 of the voucher, attach your check or money order, and mail.

HOW TO AMEND FORM 500ES
If it is necessary to amend Form 500ES, follow these steps:
1. Fill out the Amended Computation schedule below.
2. Enter the revised amounts of estimated tax and payment on the NEXT voucher due.
3. Sign the voucher, detach, and mail with required payment on or before required due date.
4. For each subsequent installment, enter your payment on line 2 of the voucher, attach your check or money order, and mail.

Amended Computation

(Use if estimated tax is changed after declaration has been filed.)

4. Amount to be paid (line 3 divided by number of remaining
installments). Enter here and on line 2 of the next
VOUCKET AUE ...ttt $

Amount
1. Amended estimated tax. (Enter here and on line 1 of the next |
VOUCKET AUE.) 1.ttt $ |
[
2. Less any payments made or credits applied against 2011
ECIArAtION. .. ..o $ |
3. Unpaid balance (line 1 less ine 2) ..........cccccoveiviiiiiiienne $ |

2011 ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENT RECORD

CHECK OR MONEY OVERPAYMENT TOTAL AMOUNT
DATE ORDER NO. AMOUNT CREDIT APPLIED PAID

PAYMENT MADE
WITH DECLARATION

SECOND PAYMENT
THIRD PAYMENT

FOURTH PAYMENT
TOTALS

Al Al LA |&h |
Al Al LA |&h |
Al A A [




Please cut along
dashed lines below.

Do not submit this entire page.

Form 500ES Virginia Estimated Tax Declaration For Corporations VOUCHER 2
(DOC ID 501) Virginia Department of Taxation
P. 0. Box 1500, Richmond, VA 23218-1500
(804) 367-8037

oooooooooooooooO0 s010000 OOOOOO 02

VA Account Number 35- For mo./yr. ending Make your payment at www.tax.virginia.gov
Name of corporation Federal Employer’s ID Number
1. Estimated tax
Address (Number and street) for the year ...... $
Address continued 2. Amount of this
payment........... $ [ ]
City, State and ZIP Code

) . ) e — Do not writ low this line. —
| declare that this declaration has been examined by me & to the best of my knowledge & belief, it is a true, correct & complete. 0 no e belo s line

Signature Date Phone
Form 500ES Virginia Estimated Tax Declaration For Corporations
(DOC ID 501) Virginia Department of Taxation VOUCHER 1

P. 0. Box 1500, Richmond, VA 23218-1500
(804) 367-8037

oooooooooooooooO 5010000 OOOOOO O

VA Account Number 35- For mo./yr. ending Make your payment at www.tax.virginia.gov

Name of corporation Federal Employer’s ID Number
1. Estimated tax

for the year ...... $

Address (Number and street)

Address continued 2. Amount of this
payment........... $ [

City, State and ZIP Code

| declare that this declaration has been examined by me & to the best of my knowledge & belief, it is a true, correct & complete.

— Do not write below this line. —

Signature Date Phone






Please cut along
dashed lines below.

Do not submit this entire page.

Form 500ES Virginia Estimated Tax Declaration For Corporations VOUCHER 4
(DOC ID 501) Virginia Department of Taxation
P. 0. Box 1500, Richmond, VA 23218-1500
(804) 367-8037

oooooooooooo0O0OO0O0 5010000 OOOOCOO O

VA Account Number 35- For mo./yr. ending Make your payment at www.tax.virginia.gov

Name of corporation Federal Employer’s ID Number
1. Estimated tax

for the year ...... $

Address (Number and street)

Address continued 2. Amount of this
payment........... $ [ )

City, State and ZIP Code

| declare that this declaration has been examined by me & to the best of my knowledge & belief, it is a true, correct & complete.

— Do not write below this line. —

Signature Date Phone
Form 500ES Virginia Estimated Tax Declaration For Corporations
(DOC ID 501) Virginia Department of Taxation VOUCHER 3

P. 0. Box 1500, Richmond, VA 23218-1500
(804) 367-8037

ooooooooooooooOO0 s0LnOO0C0O0 OOOOOO O3

VA Account Number 35- For mo./yr. ending Make your payment at www.tax.virginia.gov

Name of corporation Federal Employer’s ID Number
1. Estimated tax

for the year ...... $

Address (Number and street)

Address continued 2. Amount of this
payment........... $ o

City, State and ZIP Code

| declare that this declaration has been examined by me & to the best of my knowledge & belief, it is a true, correct & complete.

— Do not write below this line. —

Signature Date Phone






