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General Information

How to Get Assistance

The Department’s Website
The Department’s website, www .tax .virginia .gov, has 
information to help you with your tax filing responsibilities. 
• Email Updates: Sign up for email updates to 

periodically receive electronic newsletters about 
legislative changes, filing reminders, and other relevant 
information on topics you select.

• PDF Forms: Print or download most Virginia tax forms.
• Secure Email: Use the Department’s Business Online 

Services Secure Message Center. 
Other Inquiries
Call (804) 404-4163 or write to the Virginia Department of 
Taxation, P .O . Box 715, Richmond, VA 23218-0715. Do 
not mail returns to this address.

Electronic Filing and Payments

eForms
File and pay your estimated tax online. Simply complete 
the online version of the paper estimated payment voucher 
by entering the tax information as you would if you were 
completing a paper form. Payments are made electronically 
and you may schedule payments to be made on a future 
date. 
Business Online Services
An online version of the estimated voucher allows you to 
enter tax information as you would if you were completing a 
paper form. Payments are made electronically and you may 
schedule payments to be made on a future date. 
Web Payments
Pay your annual tax online using web payments. You must 
be registered for Business Online Services to use this 
payment option.
ACH Credit
Electronically submit your estimated and annual tax 
payments to the Department. For more information regarding 
methods for paying electronically, see the Department’s 
Electronic Payment Guide.

Where to File and Pay

Send your return to the Virginia Department of Taxation, 
P .O . Box 26179, Richmond, VA 23260-6179. You can 
pay online, otherwise, the return must be accompanied 
by a check or money order made payable to the Virginia 
Department of Taxation for the amount due.

You can also hand deliver or send by overnight delivery 
completed forms and payments to the Virginia Department 
of Taxation, 1957 Westmoreland Street, Richmond, VA 
23230-3225.

When to File and Pay

Your Insurance Premiums License Tax Return should 
be postmarked no later than March 1, 2024. For more 
information, call the Insurance Premiums License Tax 
Section at (804) 404-4163.

Amended Returns

If it becomes necessary to amend a previously filed Virginia 
return, prepare a new Form 800 with the corrected figures 
and with any relevant enclosures. Check the “Amended 
Return” box on the front of Form 800. File the amended 
return within 3 years from the due date of the original return. 
See Va. Code § 58.1-1823.

Penalties and Interest

If you fail to submit the Virginia Insurance Premiums License 
Tax Return by the deadline, you will be subject to a $50 
late filing fine for each day that the return is late. All 
payments made after March 1 are also subject to a 10% late 
payment penalty and the amount of the penalty will be added 
to the amount of the unpaid tax liability. Virginia law requires 
the Department to assess interest on any unpaid balance of 
unpaid tax from the payment due date through the date the 
tax is paid. Interest charges apply to late payments as well 
as additional balances due or assessed as the result of audit 
adjustments. Va. Code § 58.1-15 sets the interest rate for 
late payments at the federal underpayment rate established 
under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) § 6621, plus 2%. For 
the current daily interest rate, contact the Department at 
(804) 367-8037.
Payments returned by the bank will be subject to a returned 
payment fee of $35 in addition to any other penalties that 
may be incurred.

Direct Gross Premiums Income

Taxes are paid on premiums allocated to Virginia on 
Schedule T of the NAIC Annual Statement. Companies 
should review the NAIC Annual Statement Instructions and 
allocate their premiums accordingly. 

Amounts Included in Direct Gross Premiums 
Income

Direct gross premiums income includes all premiums, 
assessments, dues and fees collected, received or derived, 
or obligations taken from business in the Commonwealth 

2023 Instructions for Form 800,  
Virginia Insurance Premiums License Tax Return
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during the calendar year. Reciprocal or inter-insurance 
exchanges must include in this report the gross premium 
or deposit income collected, received, or derived from 
and credited to the accounts of subscribers from business 
in Virginia, decreased by all returns for cancellation and 
all amounts returned to subscribers or credited to their 
accounts as savings.

Uninsured Motorist Fund

The Uninsured Motorist (UM) Fund distribution is shown in 
the NAIC Annual Statement as automobile liability premium. 
It will be necessary to adjust the Annual Statement amount 
if this distribution was received after December 31. The UM 
Fund premium is to be shown on Line A of the Form 800 to the 
extent it is included in the premium reported on Schedule T 
of the NAIC Annual Statement. The UM Fund premium is 
to be shown on Schedule 800ADJ on Line 1, to the extent 
not included in the premium reported on Schedule T of the 
NAIC Annual Statement. Penalty and interest will be due if 
this amount is not shown, and such amount must be added 
to your return as additional premium.

FAIR Plan Premium

The FAIR Plan premium distribution is reported to you by the 
Virginia Property Insurance Association. This premium must 
be shown on Form 800, Line B to the extent it is included 
in the premium reported on Schedule T of the NAIC Annual 
Statement. It will be necessary to adjust the NAIC Annual 
Statement amount if this distribution was received after 
December 31st. The FAIR Plan premium is to be shown on 
Schedule 800ADJ, Line 2, to the extent it is not included in 
the premium reported on Schedule T of the NAIC Annual 
Statement. Penalty and interest will be due if this amount is 
not shown and such amount must be added to your return 
as additional premium.

Finance and Service Charges

The Finance and Service Charges are shown on Schedule T 
of the NAIC Annual Statement and not included in the direct 
written premium.

Amounts Excluded from Direct Gross 
Premiums Income

Amounts excluded from direct gross premiums income 
include the following: premiums received for reinsurance 
assumed from licensed insurance companies; premiums 
that provide life, accident, and sickness insurance issued 
on a group basis insuring your employees, agents, and 
representatives; Federal Employee Health Benefit Plan 
premiums; federally reinsured crop insurance premiums; 
Medicare Part D premium and Medicare Advantage 
premium; and Workers’ Compensation premiums on 
which a premium tax is imposed under the provisions of 
Va. Code § 65.2-1000.

Deductions from Direct Gross Premiums Income

Deductions cannot be taken for dividends paid or on 
any other account, except for premiums returned on 
canceled policies, or on account of a reduction in rates or 
a reduction in the amount insured. Mutual insurers, other 
than life companies, may deduct refunds or returns made to 
policyholders other than those made for losses.

Estimated Payments

Any insurance company with an annual direct gross 
insurance premiums license tax liability that is expected to 
exceed $3,000 is required to file estimated payments each 
quarter. This $3,000 limitation is imposed after accounting 
for any applicable tax credits. Insurance companies must 
use Form 800ES to calculate estimated payments. This 
form provides instructions for calculating the amount of 
insurance premiums license tax an insurance company 
should pay, as well as the amount and due dates for each 
payment. Insurance companies may submit payments 
electronically via the Department’s website at www .tax .
virginia .gov.
Any insurance company with an annual direct gross 
insurance premiums license tax liability that is not expected 
to exceed $3,000 after all applicable credits have been used 
is not required to make quarterly declarations of estimated 
insurance premiums license tax. Such a taxpayer would 
pay any insurance premiums license tax with the annual 
report due on March 1 of the year following the taxable year.

What to Enclose
Listed are the forms and schedules that should be submitted, 
if applicable, with Form 800:
• Form 800V – Virginia Insurance Premiums License Tax 

Payment Voucher
• Schedule 800ADJ – Virginia Insurance Premiums 

License Tax Schedule of Adjustments
• Schedule 800CR – Virginia Insurance Premiums 

License Tax Credit Schedule
• Schedule 800A – Virginia Insurance Premiums License 

Tax Worksheet
• Schedule 800B – Guaranty Fund Assessment Credit 

Worksheet
• Form 800C – Underpayment of Virginia Estimated 

Insurance Premiums License Tax
• Schedule 800RET – Virginia Retaliatory Tax Report
• Schedule 800RET CR – Virginia Application for 

Retaliatory Costs Tax Credit
• Schedule 844 – Statement of Exemption Mutual 

Assessment Property & Casualty Insurers
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Schedule 800A – Insurance Premiums 
License Tax Worksheet Overview

Complete Schedule 800A, the Virginia Insurance Premiums 
License Tax Worksheet, before beginning Form 800. 
Enclose the completed worksheet with your return. 

Insurer Types

Property, Casualty, and Title Insurers
A property and casualty insurer is a company that may offer 
a variety of coverages including homeowners, automobile, 
boiler and machinery, personal injury liability, workers’ 
compensation, and miscellaneous property.
A title insurance company offers coverage against losses 
by reason of liens and encumbrances upon property, 
defects in the title to property, and other matters affecting 
the title to property or the right to its use and enjoyment. 
Title insurance includes insurance of the condition of the 
title to property and the status of any lien on property. See 
Va. Code § 38.2-123. 
Travel insurance is classified under the inland marine line of 
insurance. See Va. Code § 58.1-2501.1. 
Life, Accident, and Sickness Insurers
Life, accident, and sickness insurers provide insurance 
upon the lives of human beings and against losses 
resulting from sickness, bodily injury, or accidental death. 
Life insurance includes policies that provide endowment 
benefits, accidental death benefits, nonforfeiture benefits in 
the event of total and permanent disability of the insured, 
and optional settlement provisions. Life insurance also 
includes benefits to provide for educational loans, specific 
disease coverage, and limited benefit health coverage. See 
Va. Code § 38.2-102. Accident and sickness insurance (also 
commonly referred to as health insurance) is insurance 
against loss resulting from sickness or from bodily injury 
or death by accident or accidental means. Accident and 
sickness insurance includes agreements insuring against 
losses resulting from health care claims or the expenses of 
health care. See Va. Code § 38.2-109.
Legal Services Plan
A legal services plan is a contractual obligation or 
arrangement, whereby legal services are provided in 
consideration of a specified payment consisting in whole or 
in part of prepaid or periodic charges. See Va. Code § 38.2-
4400.
Limited Health, Dental, and Optometric Services Plans
Limited health care services include dental care services, 
vision care services, and such other services as may be 
determined by the Commission to be limited health care 
services. Limited health care services do not include 
hospital, medical, surgical, or emergency services except 
as such services are provided incident to limited health care 
services. See Va. Code § 38.2-4300. 
A health services plan is an arrangement for offering or 
administering health services or similar services by a 

nonstock corporation. Hospitals, physicians, dentists, and 
optometrists can participate in a health services plan. 
Subscribers to a health services plan must have free choice 
of the medical practitioners available and participating in the 
plan.
A dental or optometric services plan is an arrangement 
for offering or administering prepaid dental or optometric 
services by a nonstock corporation that is licensed as a 
dental or optometric services plan under Chapter 45 of 
Title 38.2. 
Risk Retention Groups
A risk retention group is an insurance company whose 
primary activities consist of assuming and spreading the 
liability exposures of its members. The members own the 
risk retention group and obtain all or part of their liability 
insurance through the group. Because the members are 
engaged in similar activities, their liability exposures are 
related. Risk retention groups are not covered by the Virginia 
Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association, so 
if the risk retention group becomes insolvent, its insureds 
cannot rely on the safety net provided by the guaranty fund. 
See Va. Code § 38.2-1039.1.
Mutual Assessment Property and Casualty Insurer
A mutual assessment property and casualty insurer is a 
nonstock company that writes only mutual assessment 
insurance on property located in Virginia or protecting 
against losses of members who are residents of Virginia. 
Each member agrees to pay his pro rata share of all losses 
or damages sustained, expenses of operation, and the 
maintenance of adequate surplus. The classes of insurance 
that may be written by a mutual assessment property 
and casualty insurer depend upon its minimum surplus to 
policyholders. See Va. Code § 38.2-2503.
Cooperative Nonprofit Life Benefit Companies, Mutual 
Assessment Life, Accident and Sickness Insurers, and 
Burial Societies
A cooperative nonprofit life benefit company is a nonstock 
company that issues benefit certificates or policies of life 
insurance, annuities, or accident and sickness insurance 
upon its members. Mutual assessment life, accident, 
and sickness insurers provide insurance upon the lives 
of human beings and against losses of Virginia members 
resulting from sickness, bodily injury, or accidental death. 
Each member agrees to pay his pro rata share of all losses 
or damages sustained, expenses of operation, and the 
maintenance of adequate surplus. See Va. Code §§ 38.2-
3801 and 38.2-3901.
A burial society is any person engaged in the business of 
providing benefits for any payment of funeral, burial or other 
expenses of deceased members, by levying assessments 
or dues that are collected or are to be collected from the 
members of the society, or from the members of a class of 
the society. See Va. Code § 38.2-4000. 
Dental Plan Organization
A dental plan organization is a company that provides 
directly or arranges for a dental plan. A dental plan is a 
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contractual arrangement for dental services provided or 
arranged for, that pays benefits or is administered on an 
individual or group basis. A dental plan includes, but is not 
limited to, an arrangement where fixed indemnity benefits 
are paid to an individual or provider for dental services. See 
Va. Code § 38.2-6101. 
Joint Underwriters Association
A joint underwriters association is a combination of several 
insurance companies established pursuant to the provisions 
of Va. Code §§ 38.2-2800 or 38.2-2900 that provides 
medical malpractice liability coverage or commercial liability 
coverage. 

Schedule 800A – Insurance Premiums 
License Tax Worksheet Line Instructions

Use the following steps to complete the worksheet.
1 . Enter the Direct Premium Income reported on 

Schedule T of the NAIC Annual Statement or Annual 
Financial Statement submitted directly to the Virginia 
Bureau of Insurance on the appropriate line(s) in 
Column A.
If you are a travel insurer, enter on the appropriate 
line(s) in Column A any travel insurance premiums 
that are paid by (a) primary policyholders and primary 
certificate holders who are Virginia residents and (b) 
certain blanket travel insurance policyholders specified 
in Va. Code § 58.1-2501.1(B)(3).

2 . Enter the net amount of additions and subtractions on 
the appropriate line(s) in Column B. The net addition 
and subtraction amounts must equal the amounts 
reported on Schedule 800ADJ.

3 . Calculate the taxable premium amount for each line 
by adding the amount in Column B to the amount 
in Column A. Enter this amount in Column C or D, 
depending on the tax rate that applies to that particular 
line:
• For premium income assessed at the tax rate of 

2.25% (Lines 1, 2a, 2b, 3, 4a, 4b, 4c, 5a, 5b, 5c, 6, 
9, and 10), enter this amount in Column C.

• For premium income assessed at the tax rate of 1% 
(Lines 2c, 7, and 8), enter this amount in Column D.

4 . Add Column A, Lines 1 through 9. Enter the total on 
Column A, Line 11.

5 . Add Column C, Lines 1, 2a, 2b, 3, 4a, 4b, 4c, 5a, 5b, 5c, 
6, 9, and 10. Enter the total on Column C, Line 11.

6 . Add Column D, Lines 2c, 7, and 8. Enter the total on 
Column D, Line 11.

7 . Compute the amount of tax liability for Columns C 
and D by multiplying the amount on Line 11 of each 
column by the applicable tax rate. Multiply the amount 
on Column C, Line 11 by 2.25%. Multiply the amount 
on Column D, Line 11 by 1%. Enter these amounts on 
Line 12 of each column.

8 . Enter the amount from Column A, Line 11 on Form 800, 
Line 1.

9 . Enter the taxable premium amount from Column C, 
Line 11 on Form 800, Line 6a.

10 . Enter the taxable premium amount from Column D, 
Line 11 on Form 800, Line 7a.

11 . Enter the insurance premiums license tax amount from 
Column C, Line 12, on Form 800, Line 6b.

12 . Enter the insurance premiums license tax amount from 
Column D, Line 12, on Form 800, Line 7b.

Form 800 Instructions

Taxpayer Information: Enter your company’s name, mailing 
address, Federal Employer Identification Number, NAIC or 
License Number and state of domicile as of 12/31/2023 in 
the space provided.
Check the Box for All That Apply: Check the appropriate 
box if your company has a name change, an address 
change, is filing an amended return, or has been involved in 
a merger or acquisition during the tax year. 
If you have been involved in a merger or acquisition, enter 
the date that the merger or acquisition was recognized 
in your state of domicile and the date that the merger or 
acquisition was recognized in Virginia. Also complete the 
Schedule of Merger or Acquisition on Form 800, Page 2, 
listing the name or address, FEIN, and NAIC or Virginia 
license number of all of the companies that were included in 
this return as a result of the merger or acquisition. 
If the dates that the merger or acquisition were recognized 
in your state of domicile and Virginia were not on or before 
December 31 of the same calendar year, each party 
involved in the merger or acquisition must file a separate 
Insurance Premiums License Tax Return and enclose the 
financial statement associated with the return.
Schedule T Information: Enter the amount included in your 
direct premium income reported on Schedule T of the NAIC 
Annual Statement for any Uninsured Motorist premium 
distributions and Virginia Property Insurance Association 
(FAIR Plan) premium distribution. If there is premium 
income that is not included in your direct premium income 
on Schedule T, complete Schedule 800ADJ, Lines 1 and 2.
Line 1 Enter the amount of direct premium written 

income reported on Schedule T and allocated to 
Virginia. This amount should be the same as the 
amount from Schedule 800A, Column A, Line 11.

Line 2 Enter the total additions amount reported on 
Schedule 800ADJ, Section A, Line 5. 

Line 3 Add Lines 1 and 2.
Line 4 Enter the total subtractions amount reported on 

Schedule 800ADJ, Section B, Line 10.
Line 5  Subtract Line 4 from Line 3.
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Line 6 In Column a, enter the amount from Schedule 
800A, Column C, Line 11. In Column b, enter the 
amount from Schedule 800A, Column C, Line 12.

Line 7 In Column a, enter the amount from 
Schedule 800A, Column D, Line 11. In Column b, 
enter the amount from Schedule 800A, Column D, 
Line 12.
If you are a mutual assessment property and 
casualty insurer and you are exempt from the 
insurance premiums license tax pursuant to 
Va. Code § 58.1-2502, check the exemption 
box, enter the premium income amount on 
Line 7a, and enter $0 in Column b. Complete the 
Schedule 844, Statement of Exemption for Mutual 
Assessment Property and Casualty Insurers, and 
enclose it with the return.
The insurance premiums license tax is not 
imposed on any mutual assessment fire insurance 
company (as defined in Va. Code §§ 38.2-2501 
and 38.2-2503) that (i) confines its business to 
not more than 4 contiguous counties and cities 
located and wholly surrounded in Virginia, if 
any such city has a population of not more than 
30,000, or (ii) confines its business to more than 
4 contiguous counties in Virginia if such counties 
together have a population not in excess of 
100,000.
For purposes of this exemption, a “mutual 
assessment property and casualty insurer” is 
defined as a company without capital stock 
that writes only mutual assessment insurance 
insuring property located in or protecting against 
losses of members who are Virginia residents. 
“Fire insurance” is defined as insurance against 
the loss of or damage to any property resulting 
from fire, including loss or damage incident to 
extinguishing a fire or to the salvaging of property 
in connection with a fire.

Line 9 Add Lines 6b and 7b.
Line 10 Enter the total amount of nonrefundable tax 

credits amount from Schedule 800CR, Section 2, 
Part 1, Line 1A.

Line 11 Subtract Line 10 from Line 9.
Line 12 Enter the total estimated insurance premiums 

license tax paid during the taxable year.
Line 13 Enter the refundable Retaliatory Costs Tax Credit 

amount from Schedule 800CR, Section 3, Part 1, 
Line 1A. 

Line 14 Add Lines 12 and 13.
Line 15 If Line 11 is greater than Line 14, subtract Line 14 

from Line 11. Enter that amount on Line 15 and 
go to Line 17. If Line 14 is greater than Line 11,  
go to Line 16. 

Line 16 If Line 14 is greater than Line 11, subtract Line 11 
from Line 14 and enter that amount on Line 16.

Line 17 Enter the Net Retaliatory Tax due from Schedule 
800RET, Line 24.

Line 18 Enter the Total Adjustments Amount from 
Schedule 800ADJ, Section C, Line 15.

Line 19 Add Lines 17 and 18.
Line 20 If you owe tax on Line 15, add Line 15 and 

Line 19. This is the total amount that you owe. 
If you do not owe tax on Line 15 and you do not 
have an overpayment amount on Line 16, but the 
amount on Line 19 is greater than $0, enter this 
amount on Line 20. This is the total amount you 
owe.
If you overpaid tax on Line 16 and the amount on 
Line 19 is greater than Line 16, subtract Line 16 
from Line 19. This is the total amount that you owe.
Enter the total amount you owe here and, if you 
are submitting a check or money order, also enter 
this amount on Form 800V. Unless your payment 
is made electronically, enclose your check or 
money order and Form 800V with your return 
when filing.

Line 21 If you have an overpayment of tax on Line 16, 
and Line 19 is less than Line 16, subtract Line 19 
from Line 16. This is your refund.

Schedule of Merger or Acquisition: List the name, 
address, FEIN, and NAIC or Virginia License Number of 
all of the companies included in this return as a result of 
a merger or acquisition. Submit copies of this schedule if 
additional space is needed.
Signature: Sign and date your return.
Discuss Your Tax with Preparer: Check the box if you 
authorize the Department to discuss this return with your 
tax preparer.

Schedule 800ADJ Line Instructions

Section A – Additions

Enter the addition amounts to the extent they are not 
included on Form 800, Line 1.
Line 1 Enter the amount of any Uninsured Motorist 

premium distribution to the extent it is not 
included on Form 800, Line 1. It will be necessary 
to manually adjust the Annual Statement if this 
distribution was received after December 31. The 
Uninsured Motorist premium distribution is the 
proportionate share of premiums received by a 
company from the distribution of money collected 
by the DMV and dispersed by the Bureau of 
Insurance to insurers writing motor vehicle bodily 
injury and property damage liability insurance on 
motor vehicles registered in Virginia.

Line 2 Enter the amount of FAIR Plan premium 
distribution to the extent it is not included on 
Form 800, Line 1. It will be necessary to manually 
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adjust the Annual Statement if this distribution 
was received after December 31. The FAIR Plan 
Premium is the premium received by a state run 
pool (Virginia Property Insurance Association) 
that makes insurance available to those in high 
risk areas who cannot obtain coverage through 
normal methods.

Line 3 Enter the amount of additional finance and service 
charges not included on Form 800, Line 1.

Line 4 Enter the 2-digit code, listed below, followed by 
the amount of the other addition amount taxable 
by Virginia and not reported on Form 800, Line 1. 
If you have more than 3 additions on Lines 4a-4c, 
enter the Code “00” and the total addition 
amount on Line 4a. Enclose a schedule giving 
a description and the amount of each “Other 
Addition.” 

Code & Description

11 Bail Bond Premiums – The fee received 
by a company for a bond given to 
guarantee that a person released from 
legal confinement will appear as required 
in court.

12 Excess Workers’ Compensation – The 
amount of premiums paid for workers’ 
compensation coverage over and above 
the primary coverage policy. The premiums 
are reported as an addition if they are not 
taxed as other workers’ compensation 
under Title 65.2. See Va. Code § 65.2-1006.

13 Cash Surrender Value – The amount in 
excess of the current value of the future 
guaranteed benefits that would have been 
provided for by the policy pursuant to Title 
38.2, Chapter 32.

99 Other – Enclose an explanation for any 
other addition.

Line 5 Add Section A, Lines 1-4c. Enter here and on 
Form 800, Line 2.

Section B – Subtractions

Enter the subtraction amounts to the extent they are 
included on Form 800, Line 1.
Line 6 Workers’ Compensation Premiums (Do not 

include Workers’ Compensation Finance and 
Services Charges) – The insurance premiums 
license tax is not imposed on premiums derived 
from workers’ compensation insurance on which 
a premiums tax is imposed under the provisions 
of Va. Code § 65.2-1000. The premium tax on 
workers’ compensation insurance premiums 
applies to every person, partnership, association, 
corporation, company, mutual company or 
association, party to any interindemnity contract 

or reciprocal plan or scheme, and every other 
insurance carrier that insures employers in 
Virginia against liability for personal injuries to 
their employees or death caused thereby. The 
premium tax on workers’ compensation insurance 
premiums must be paid annually to the Workers’ 
Compensation Commission.
Enter the amount of premiums income derived 
from workers’ compensation insurance on which 
a premium tax is imposed under the provisions of 
Va. Code § 65.2-1000.

Line 7 Federal Employees Health Benefits Program 
Premiums – pursuant to 5 U.S.C. 8909(f)(1), no 
state may impose a tax, fee or other monetary 
payment, directly or indirectly, on a carrier or an 
underwriting plan administration subcontractor of 
an approved health benefits plan with respect to 
any payment made from the Employees Health 
Benefits Fund.

Line 8 Medicare Premiums (Do not include Medicare 
Part D Premiums) – Individual and Groups. Enter 
the amount of money paid for coverage under 
the federal program that pays for health care 
expenses for people age 65 or older and certain 
people that are younger with disabilities. Per 
42 CFR 422.404, no premium tax, fee or other 
similar assessment may be imposed by any state 
upon any payment made on behalf of Medicare 
Advantage (MA) enrollees under the applicable 
federal regulation or with respect to any payment 
made to MA plans by beneficiaries, or payment 
to MA plans by a third party on a beneficiary’s 
behalf.

Line 9 Other Subtractions – Enter the 2-digit code, 
listed below, followed by the amount of Other 
Subtractions not taxable by Virginia and reported 
on Form 800, Line 1. If you have more than 4 
subtractions on Lines 9a-9d, enter Code “00” and 
the total subtraction amount on Line 9a. Enclose 
a schedule giving a description and the amount of 
each “Other Subtraction”. Only subtract amounts 
to the extent they are included on Form 800, 
Line 1.

Code & Description

50 Accident and Sickness Premiums for 
Company Employees – Pursuant to Va. 
Code § 58.1-2500, the insurance premiums 
license tax is not imposed on premiums 
received or derived to provide accident 
and sickness insurance issued on a group 
basis by an insurance company insuring its 
employees, agents, and representatives. 
Enter the amount of such premiums, to 
the extent that they were included on Form 
800, Line 1.
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51 Premiums received for reinsurance 
assumed from licensed insurance 
companies – Enter the amount of such 
premiums, to the extent that they were 
included on Form 800, Line 1. See 
Va. Code § 58.1-2500.

52 Deduction of Dividends (certain mutual 
insurers only) – Mutual insurance 
companies (other than life insurance 
companies) may enter the amount of 
dividends paid to stockholders of the 
company to the extent that they were 
included on Form 800, Line 1. Mutual 
life insurance companies and insurance 
companies that are not mutual insurance 
companies cannot claim this subtraction.

53 Life Insurance Premiums for Company 
Employees – Pursuant to Va. Code § 
58.1-2500, the insurance premiums license 
tax is not imposed on premiums received 
or derived to provide life insurance issued 
on a group basis by an insurance company 
insuring its employees, agents, and 
representatives. Enter the amount of such 
premiums, to the extent that they were 
included on Form 800, Line 1.

54 Returned Premiums and Subscriber 
Fees – Insurance companies may subtract 
amounts returned on cancelled policies or 
on account of reduction in rates or reduction 
in the amount insured, to the extent that 
such amounts were included on Form 800, 
Line 1. Insurance companies that have 
subscriber fee income may subtract the 
amount of returns for cancellation and all 
amounts returned to subscribers or credited 
to their accounts as savings, to the extent 
that such amounts were included on Form 
800, Line 1. See Va. Code § 58.1-2500.

55 Pursuant to 7 CFR 400.176, an insurance 
company may subtract the amount of any 
premiums payable on policies of multiple 
peril crop insurance that it reinsures. Such 
amounts may be subtracted only to the 
extent that such amounts were included on 
Form 800, Line 1.

56 Consideration for Contracts for Certain 
Annuities – Pursuant to Va. Code § 
58.1-2502, the insurance premiums license 
tax is not imposed upon consideration for 
contracts for annuities. For purposes of 
this subtraction, “annuities” are defined as 
all agreements to make periodic payments 
in specified or calculable sums pursuant to 
the terms of a contract for a stated period of 
time or for the life of the person or persons 
specified in the contract.

Variable annuities and modified guaranteed 
annuities are considered annuities for 
purposes of this subtraction. Annuities 
include contracts under which a lump 
sum cash settlement is an alternative to 
the option of periodic payments. Annuities 
do not include contracts for life insurance 
under Va. Code § 38.2-102 or qualified 
charitable gift annuities (as defined in 
Va. Code § 38.2-106.1).

57 Workers’ Compensation Finance and 
Services Charges – Enter the amount 
of Workers’ Compensation Finance and 
Services Charges to the extent they are 
included on Form 800, Line 1.

58 Medicare Part D Premiums – Enter the 
amount of Medicare Part D Premiums to 
the extent they are included on Form 800, 
Line 1.

99 Other – Enclose an explanation for other 
subtractions.

Line 10 Add Section B, Lines 6-9d. Enter here and on 
Form 800, Line 4.

Section C – Adjustments

Line 11 Complete Form 800C to determine whether or 
not you paid the correct amount of estimated tax 
by the proper due dates. If the minimum amounts 
were not timely paid, an additional charge may be 
imposed for the period of underpayment. Enter 
the amount of the addition to tax from Form 800C, 
Line 17. 

Line 12 Enter the amount of penalty for late payment.
12a . Insurance Premiums License Tax 

penalty . If you pay the tax after the due 
date, you are subject to a penalty of 10% of 
the tax due on Form 800, Line 15.

12b . Retaliatory Tax penalty . If you pay the 
tax after the due date, you are subject to a 
penalty of 10% of the tax due on Form 800, 
Line 17.

Line 13 Interest is due on any unpaid tax from Form 800, 
Line 15 plus Line 17, at the underpayment rate 
under IRC § 6621, plus 2%, from the due date 
until the tax is paid.

Line 14 Enter Fee for Late Filing . Companies are 
subject to a $50 late filing fee for each day that 
the report is late.

Line 15 Add Section C, Lines 11-14. Enter here and on 
Form 800, Line 18.
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Schedule 800CR – Tax Credits

Enclose Schedule 800CR with your return when claiming 
a credit(s). See the instructions below indicating additional 
requirements.
The following rules apply when claiming credits on 
Schedule 800CR:
• Nonrefundable credits without a carryover provision are 

claimed first.
• Carryover credits must be fully used before any current 

year credits may be used.
• To maximize the amount of credits allowed, carryover 

credits may be claimed in their order of expiration, 
regardless of the order shown on Schedule 800CR.

Many of the credits discussed below may not be claimed on 
your return until after you have submitted an application and 
have been notified in writing that you are allowed to claim 
the credit. If your return is due and you have not yet been 
notified, you must file your return by the due date without 
claiming the credit, and file an amended return after you 
have received notification.

Enterprise Zone Act Credit

This credit expired June 30, 2019. Only Enterprise Zone 
Real Property Investment Tax Credit carryover amounts 
from prior years are allowed. Use the worksheet below to 
determine the carryover amount that can be used on this 
year’s tax return. Enclose the computation with your return. 

Line A:  Credit carried over from prior years:
$ _____________  .00

Line B:  Allowable credit: Enter the amount from 
Line A or the maximum credit allowed:
$ _____________  .00

Line C:  Amount to be carried over to next year 
(subtract Line B from Line A)
$ _____________  .00

For additional information, contact: Virginia Department 
of Housing and Community Development, Community 
Revitalization Office, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main 
Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA  23219, call (804) 371-
7171 or email ezone@dhcd .virginia .gov .

Neighborhood Assistance Act Tax Credit 
The Virginia Neighborhood Assistance Act provides tax credits 
to businesses that donate money, marketable securities, 
property, limited professional services and contracting 
services directly to pre-approved Neighborhood Assistance 
Program organizations whose primary function is to provide 
educational or other qualified services for the benefit of 
low income families. Licensed veterinarians, physicians, 
dentists, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, 

optometrists, dental hygienists, professional counselors, 
clinical social workers, clinical psychologists, marriage 
and family therapists, physical therapists, chiropractors, 
pharmacists and physician specialists, or mediators who 
donate their services for an approved organization may be 
eligible for tax credits. In addition, a trust, or a fiduciary for 
a trust, may receive a tax credit for a donation made to an 
approved organization. The amount of credit attributable to a 
partnership or S corporation must be allocated to the partners 
and shareholders in proportion to their ownership or interest 
in the partnership or S corporation. Any unused tax credits 
may be carried forward for the next 5 taxable years. For a list 
of approved organizations or additional information, contact: 
Virginia Department of Social Services, Neighborhood 
Assistance Program, 801 E . Main Street, Richmond, VA 
23219-3301 or the Virginia Department of Education, 
23rd Floor, P .O . Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, 
ATTN: Neighborhood Assistance Tax Credit Program for 
Education, email address tax .credits@doe .virginia .gov.

Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit 
Individuals, estates, partnerships, trusts, or corporations, 
incurring eligible expenses in the rehabilitation of a certified 
historic structure are entitled to claim a credit against 
individual income tax, fiduciary income tax, corporation 
income tax, the bank franchise tax, and taxes imposed 
against insurance companies and utility companies. The 
credit is equal to 25% of eligible rehabilitation expenses. 
To qualify for this credit, the cost of the rehabilitation must 
equal at least 50% (25% if the building is an owner-occupied 
residence) of the assessed value of the building for local 
real estate tax purposes in the year preceding the start of 
the rehabilitation. For taxable years beginning on and after 
January 1, 2017, the amount of the Historic Rehabilitation 
Tax Credit that may be claimed by each taxpayer, including 
carryover amounts, may not exceed $5 million for any taxable 
year. The rehabilitation work must be certified by the Virginia 
Department of Historic Resources as consistent with the 
Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation. The 
request for certification of the completed project must be 
submitted within 1 year of the completed work. Any unused 
credit may be carried forward for 10 years. Applications for 
participation in the program may be obtained by contacting 
the Virginia Department of Historic Resources, 2801 
Kensington Avenue, Richmond, VA 23221, calling (804) 
482-6446, or visiting www .dhr .virginia .gov/tax-credits/.

Major Business Facility Job Tax Credit 
For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 
1995, but before July 1, 2025, individuals, estates, 
trusts, corporations, banks, insurance companies, and 
telecommunications companies may claim a Virginia tax 
credit if the taxpayer creates at least 50 new full time jobs in 
connection with the establishment or expansion of a major 
business facility or if the company is engaged in a qualifying 
industry in Virginia and creates at least 50 new full-time jobs 
in Virginia. If a taxpayer is located in an enterprise zone 
or in an economically distressed area (as defined by the 
Virginia Economic Development Partnership), the threshold 
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is reduced from 50 to 25. Credits will be recaptured 
proportionately if employment decreases during the 5 years 
following the initial credit year. 
Qualifying industries include: (1) manufacturing or mining; 
(2) agriculture, forestry or fishing; and (3) transportation and 
telecommunications companies. A major business facility 
includes a headquarters or portion of such a facility located 
in Virginia, where the majority of the company’s financial, 
personnel, legal, or planning functions are handled either 
on a regional or national basis. A major business facility 
also includes facilities located in Virginia that perform a 
central management or administrative function for other 
establishments of the same enterprise such as general 
management, accounting, computing, tabulating, data 
processing, purchasing, transportation or shipping, 
engineering and systems planning, advertising, legal, 
financial and research and development.
This nonrefundable credit is equal to $1,000 per qualifying 
new job in excess of the 50/25 job threshold and is spread 
over 2 years for taxpayers whose initial credit year begins on 
or after January 1, 2009. The credit only applies to facilities 
where an announcement to expand or establish such a 
facility was made on or after January 1, 1994. The credit 
must be claimed beginning with the taxable year following 
the year in which the facility is established or expanded, or 
the new qualifying jobs are added. 
Any amount unused this year may be carried forward 
for the next 10 taxable years. Credits will be recaptured 
proportionately if employment decreases during the 5 years 
following the initial credit year. If employment decreases 
below the threshold, the entire credit will be recaptured. 
Credits must be allocated by pass-through entities to its 
partners, shareholders, or members using Form TCA. 
Form TCA must be filed by the pass-through entity within 
30 days of certification of the credit but at least 90 days 
prior to the participants filing their income tax returns. If the 
participants’ income tax returns are due before Form 502 is 
filed, they must file amended returns to claim the credit or 
file for extensions.
Taxpayers may qualify for the Major Business Facility Job 
Tax Credit even if they have also received an Enterprise 
Zone Job Creation Grant. However, qualified business 
firms are not eligible to receive both an Enterprise Zone Job 
Creation Grant and a Major Business Facility Job Tax Credit 
for the same jobs.
To apply for this credit, complete Form 304. All applications 
must be submitted to the Virginia Department of Taxation, 
Tax Credit Unit, P .O . Box 715, Richmond, VA 23218-0715, 
at least 90 days prior to the due date of your return. A letter 
will be sent to certify the credit. To claim the credit you must 
complete Section 1, Part 5 of Schedule 800CR.

Worker Training Tax Credit

For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2019, 
but before July 1, 2025, the Worker Training Credit allows 
businesses to claim a tax credit for the training costs of 
providing eligible worker training to qualified employees. 
The credit is 35% of expenses incurred by the business 

during the taxable year for eligible worker training, subject to 
certain limitations. If the recipient of the training is a qualified 
employee, the credit may not exceed $500 per qualified 
employee annually. If the recipient of the training is a non-
highly compensated worker, the credit may not exceed 
$1,000 per non-highly compensated worker annually. 
“Eligible worker training” means the training of a qualified 
employee or non-highly compensated worker in the form of:
• credit or noncredit courses at any institution recognized 

on the Eligible Training Provider List or at any Virginia 
public institution of higher education, as such term is 
defined in Va. Code § 23.1-100, or as described in 
Va. Code §§ 23.1-3111, 23.1-3115, 23.1-3120, and 
23.1-3125, that results in the qualified employee or 
non-highly compensated worker receiving a workforce 
credential; or 

• instruction or training that is part of an apprenticeship 
agreement approved by the Commissioner of Labor 
and Industry. 

“Qualified employee” means an employee of a business 
eligible for a credit under this section in a full-time position 
requiring a minimum of 1,680 hours in the entire normal year 
of the business’ operations if the standard fringe benefits 
are paid by the business for the employee. Employees in 
seasonal or temporary positions may not qualify as qualified 
employees. “Qualified employee” does not include an 
owner or relative. “Non-highly compensated worker” means 
a worker whose income is less than Virginia’s median wage, 
as reported by the Virginia Employment Commission, 
in the taxable year prior to applying for the credit. “Non-
highly compensated worker” does not include an owner or 
relative. When claiming this credit on the basis of eligible 
worker training, the credit is allowable against individual 
income tax, estate and trust tax, corporate income tax, bank 
franchise tax, insurance premiums license tax, and license 
tax on telegraph, telephone, water, heat, light, power, and 
pipeline companies.
Before claiming the credit on their income tax return, 
employers and businesses must apply for certification 
of the amount of allowable credit using Form WTC, 
Worker Training Tax Credit Application, by April 1 of the 
year following the year in which the training expenses or 
orientation, instruction, and training program expenses were 
paid or incurred. All approved employers and businesses 
filing a timely Form WTC will be notified of their allowable 
credit by June 30 of the calendar year following the year in 
which the expenses were incurred. The maximum Worker 
Training Credits granted to all employers and businesses 
is limited to $1 million annually. If the total credits approved 
exceed this amount, each will be prorated. This credit is 
nonrefundable but excess credit may be carried over for 
the next 3 taxable years. To claim this credit, complete 
Section 1, Part 9 of Schedule 800CR. For information on 
pre-approved apprenticeship programs, contact the Virginia 
Department of Labor and Industry at (804) 786-1035. For 
more information regarding the Eligible Training Provider 
List, see the Virginia Workforce Connection website, at 
www .vawc .virginia .gov.
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Guaranty Fund Assessment Tax Credit 

An insurance company that is a member of the Virginia 
Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association 
or the Virginia Life, Accident, and Sickness Insurance 
Guaranty Association and that receives an assessment 
from such association has the option to show a certificate of 
contribution as an asset on its financial income statement. 
Such amounts must be amortized over the 10 calendar years 
following the year the contribution was paid, in an annual 
amount equal to 10% of the contribution. An insurance 
company may then claim the Guaranty Fund Assessment 
Tax Credit annually over a 10-year period in an amount 
equal to the amortized amount for each year. However, 
the amount of any Guaranty Fund Assessment Tax Credit 
claimed by an insurance company must be reduced by the 
same amount that federal income taxes were reduced for 
the same assessment.
Schedule 800B, Guaranty Fund Assessment Tax Credit 
Worksheet, must be completed if a credit is shown on the 
Virginia Insurance Premiums Credit Schedule (Schedule 
800CR). Columns A-H of the Schedule 800B must be 
completed for each certificate being shown for the credit.
Complete the FIT Benefit section of Schedule 800B in the 
initial year of credit carefully. 
Guaranty Fund Assessment Tax Credits in excess of the tax 
liability are not refundable and cannot be carried forward to 
future taxable years.

Barge And Rail Usage Tax Credit

For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2011, 
but before January 1, 2025, a business may receive an 
income tax credit for the usage of barge and rail to move 
cargo containers throughout the Commonwealth rather than 
using trucks or other motor vehicles on the Commonwealth’s 
highways.
The amount of the credit is $25 per 20-foot equivalent unit 
(TEU) or 16 tons of non-containerized cargo or one unit of 
roll-on/roll-off cargo moved by barge or rail. To receive this 
credit, an international trade facility is required to apply to 
the Department. No more than $500,000 in tax credits can 
be issued in any fiscal year. The Department will determine 
the allowable credit amount for the taxable year and provide 
a written certification of the credit amount to each taxpayer. 
Taxpayers can claim this credit against the individual 
income tax, estate and trust tax, corporation income tax, 
bank franchise tax, the insurance premiums license tax, 
and the tax on public service corporations. Any unused tax 
credits may be carried over for 5 taxable years.
The business must apply by April 1st using Form BRU. 
Submitting a late application will disqualify you from the credit. 
All applications must be sent to the Virginia Department of 
Taxation, Tax Credit Unit, P .O . Box 715, Richmond, VA 
23218-0715. This credit requires certification from the Tax 
Credit Unit to be claimed on your tax return. A letter will be 
sent in order to certify the credit. For assistance, contact the 
Tax Credit Unit at (804) 786-2992.

Education Improvement Scholarships Tax Credit

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, 
but before January 1, 2028, an income tax credit may be 
claimed for monetary or marketable securities donations 
made to scholarship foundations included on an approved 
list published by the Virginia Department of Education. 
Credits may be earned during taxable years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2013 but before January 1, 2028. Tax 
credits earned during the taxable year should be claimed in 
the year during which they were earned. The credit is equal 
to 65% of the monetary or marketable securities donation 
made to the scholarship foundation. The credit can be 
claimed against the individual income tax, corporate income 
tax, bank franchise tax, insurance premiums license tax, 
or tax on public service corporations. For individuals, the 
minimum value of any monetary or marketable securities 
donation eligible for a tax credit is $500 in a taxable year, and 
the maximum value of monetary or marketable securities 
donations eligible for tax credits is the first $125,000 in 
value of donations made in a taxable year. Limitations on 
the minimum and maximum values of donations eligible for 
tax credits in a taxable year do not apply to donations made 
by any business entity, including a sole proprietorship.
Tax credits will be awarded to taxpayers on a first-come, first-
served basis in accordance with procedures established by 
the Virginia Department of Education. The total amount of 
credits available in any fiscal year is capped at $25 million. 
Any unused tax credits may be carried over for the next 
5 succeeding taxable years or until the total amount of 
credit has been taken, whichever is sooner. For additional 
information on how to qualify for certification, contact the 
Virginia Department of Education, ATTN: Scholarships 
Tax Credits Program, 23rd Floor, P .O . Box 2120, 
Richmond, VA or email tax .credits@doe .virginia .gov.

Virginia Housing Opportunity Tax Credit

Effective for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 
2021, but before January 1, 2026, a housing opportunity tax 
credit (“HOTC”) is available for certain low-income building 
projects in an amount up to the amount of federal low-
income housing tax credit (“LIHTC”) allocated or allowed 
by the Virginia Housing Development Authority (“VHDA”) to 
such projects. To be qualified, the project is required to be 
a qualified low-income building, as defined under federal 
law, that is: 

• Located in Virginia;
• Placed in service on or after January 1, 2021; and 
• Allocated HOTC by VHDA. 

For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2021, 
but before January 1, 2026, a qualified taxpayer may claim a 
housing opportunity tax credit against its Virginia tax liability 
prior to reduction by any other credits allowed the taxpayer. 
The housing opportunity tax credit may be allocated by pass-
through entities to some or all of its partners, members, or 
shareholders in any manner agreed to by such persons, 
regardless of whether or not any such person is allocated or 
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allowed any portion of any federal low-income housing tax 
credit with respect to the qualified project, whether or not 
the allocation of the housing opportunity tax credit under 
the terms of the agreement has substantial economic effect 
within the meaning of § 704(b) of the Internal Revenue Code, 
and whether or not any such person is deemed a partner 
for federal income tax purposes as long as the partner 
or member would be considered a partner or member as 
defined under applicable state law, and has been admitted 
as a partner or member on or prior to the date for filing the 
qualified taxpayer’s tax return, including any amendments 
thereto, with respect to the year of the housing opportunity 
tax credit. Pass-through entities or qualified taxpayers may 
assign all or any part of its interest, including its interest 
in the tax credits, to one or more pass-through entities or 
qualified taxpayers, and the qualified taxpayer shall be able 
to claim the housing opportunity tax credit so long as its 
interest is acquired prior to the filing of its tax return claiming 
the housing opportunity tax credit.
For calendar years 2022 through 2025, the total amount 
of housing opportunity tax credits authorized for qualified 
projects under this article shall not exceed $60 million per 
calendar year. Such credits issued each calendar year 
shall be allowed ratably, with one-tenth of the total amount 
of credits allowed annually for 10 years over the credit 
period, except that there shall be a reduction in the tax 
credit allowable in the first year of the credit period due to 
the calculation in 26 U.S.C. § 42(f)(2) and any reduction by 
reason of 26 U.S.C. § 42(f)(2) in the credit allowable for the 
first taxable year of the credit period shall be allowable for 
the first taxable year following the credit period.
$20 million of such credits shall be first allocated exclusively 
for qualified projects located in a locality with a population 
no greater than 35,000 as determined by the most recent 
United States census. Such allocation of Virginia housing 
opportunity tax credits shall constitute the minimum amount 
of such tax credits to be allocated for qualified projects in 
such localities. However, if the amount of such tax credits 
requested for qualified projects in such localities is less 
than the total amount of such credits available for qualified 
projects in such localities, the balance of such credits shall 
be allocated for any qualified project, regardless of location.
The credit is allowed against the individual income tax, 
estate and trust income tax, corporate income tax, bank 
franchise tax, insurance premiums license tax, insurance 
premiums license retaliatory tax, and license tax telegraph, 
telephone, water, heat, light, power, and pipeline companies. 
The credit may fully offset any retaliatory tax imposed by the 
Code of Virginia.
Credits must be allocated by pass-through entities to its 
partners, shareholders, or members using Form TCA. 
Form TCA must be filed by the pass-through entity within 30 
days of certification of the credit but at least 90 days prior to 
the participants filing their income tax returns. 
Any unused credit amount may be carried forward for 
5 years from the year in which the credit is allocated to the 
taxpayer.

For more information, contact Virginia Housing 
Development Authority, 601 S . Belvidere Street, 
Richmond, VA 23220, call Stephanie Flanders at (804) 
343- 5939, or visit www .virginiahousing .com.

Retaliatory Costs Tax Credit

Qualified domestic insurers may claim a credit against the 
insurance premiums license tax in an amount equal to the 
retaliatory costs incurred during the corresponding taxable 
year as a result of the difference between other states’ 
lower premium tax rates and other costs, and the tax rates 
and costs imposed by the Commonwealth. Beginning in 
2006, the amount of credit is generally limited to 60% of the 
retaliatory costs paid to other states. However, companies 
that received a credit in Taxable Year 2000 may continue to 
claim the full credit. 
Any unused Retaliatory Costs Tax Credits may generally be 
refunded in an amount not exceeding $800,000 annually 
per domestic insurance company or affiliated insurance 
group. Qualified companies that received the Retaliatory 
Costs Tax Credit in the 2000 taxable year are entitled to 
receive a refund in an amount up to $7 million. Refunds for 
unused credits will be applied to reduce the oldest unused 
credit carryover amounts. Insurance premiums license tax 
refunds will be issued after July 1 following the filing of the 
refund application. 
Applications for Retaliatory Costs Tax Credits and for a 
refund of excess taxes may be submitted by a qualified 
company individually or on behalf of the members of an 
affiliated insurance group. Applications must be signed by 
an independent certified public accountant licensed by the 
Commonwealth who states that the domestic insurance 
company or affiliated insurance group is eligible for the 
credit claimed.
The Retaliatory Costs Tax Credit is taken into account 
after all other applicable credits. Any credit not taken by 
a domestic insurance company may be taken by other 
members of an affiliated insurance group. Any unused tax 
credits may be carried forward for 10 taxable years.

Retaliatory Tax Report

ENCLOSE DOCUMENTATION WITH THE SCHEDULE 
800RET TO SUPPORT YOUR CALCULATIONS .
The Retaliatory Tax Report (Schedule 800RET) is a 
supplemental report of additional taxes, fees, and other 
charges due to Virginia in accordance with Va. Code 
§ 38.2-1026, on business transacted during the 2023 taxable 
year. The report must show all taxes, fines, penalties, fees 
for licenses or certificates of authority, or any other sum 
exacted for the privilege of doing business imposed against 
Virginia insurance companies or their authorized agents by 
the state or any subdivision thereof in which the company 
is domiciled. Such taxes, fines, penalties, fees, and other 
sums are based upon the same kinds of insurance and 
amount of premium income which the reporting company 
has transacted in Virginia during the 2023 taxable year, 
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EXCLUDING Workers’ Compensation in ALL calculations 
for Column B. The reported taxes, fines, penalties, fees, and 
other sums should reflect those paid FOR the 2023 taxable 
year, not those paid IN the 2023 taxable year for another 
taxable year. Biennial fees MUST be shown as annual fees 
in Column B of the report.
Reduced Tax Rates or Tax Credits Based on Investments: 
Companies domiciled in states that allow reduced tax rates 
or tax credits based on investments MUST use their Virginia 
investments for the comparison. The reduced tax rate or 
tax credit can only be used if the Virginia investments are 
sufficient to produce the reduced rate.
Municipal Taxes and Fees: Companies domiciled in 
Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, 
South Carolina, or West Virginia must include municipal 
taxes and/or fees using the information on the chart that 
you will receive in the mail. 
New York Domiciled Life Insurance Companies: New 
York domiciled life insurance companies must ESTIMATE 
AND PAY a retaliatory tax, based on estimated franchise 
tax information, with the Retaliatory Tax Report by March 1 
in order to avoid penalties and interest that are associated 
with all payments made subsequent to March 1. If there is 
a difference in the Virginia tax liability amount after filing the 
franchise information in New York, the New York Franchise 
Tax Forms CT-33 and CT-33-M should be enclosed with 
your amended Virginia Insurance Premiums License 
Tax Return. This provision does NOT apply to NON-LIFE 
insurance companies.
Illinois Domiciled Companies: All Illinois domiciled 
companies must ESTIMATE AND PAY a retaliatory tax, 
based on estimated Income Tax information, with the 
Retaliatory Tax Report by March 1 in order to avoid penalties 
and interest that are associated with all payments made 
subsequent to March 1. After you have filed with Illinois and 
the IRS, a copy of the Corporation Income and Replacement 
Tax Return, Form IL-1120 is required. If there is a difference 
in the Virginia tax liability, you must file an AMENDED 
Virginia Premiums License Tax Return, Form 800.

Schedule 800RET Line Instructions
All non-domestic insurers, except insurance companies 
domiciled in Canada, are required to file Schedule 800RET. 
For purposes of determining whether the retaliatory tax 
applies, an alien insurance company is considered domiciled 
in the state where it has the largest amount of its assets held 
in trust and on deposit for the benefit of its policyholders, or 
of its policyholders and creditors in the United States. An 
insurance company incorporated in Canada is considered 
domiciled in Canada.
Domestic insurance companies are not required to complete 
Schedule 800RET. All other insurance companies that file 
Form 800 must complete Schedule 800RET. Schedule 
800RET must be filed, and the amount of any retaliatory tax 
owed must be paid by March 1 of each year. Any insurance 
company that fails to pay the retaliatory tax is subject to 
interest at the rate set forth in Va. Code § 58.1-15, and 

a penalty equal to 10% of the amount due for the period 
between the due date and the date of full payment.
When a domestic insurer (or its agents) is subject to 
regulatory costs in another state that are greater than those 
imposed by Virginia upon insurers domiciled in that state (or 
their agents), then the regulatory costs imposed by Virginia 
on foreign insurers from such state are increased to equal 
the regulatory costs imposed by the other state on the 
domestic insurer (or its agents). 
For purposes of this retaliatory tax, regulatory costs include 
the following:

• Any deposits of securities, 
• The payment of taxes, fines, penalties, or fees 

exacted for the privilege of doing business, and
• Any restitutions, obligations, or conditions 

necessary for doing business. 

Column A – Virginia Basis

Line 1 Enter the Total Insurance Premiums License Tax 
amount from Form 800, Line 9.

Line 3 Enter the Workers’ Compensation Tax amount 
paid to the Virginia Workers’ Compensation 
Commission.

Line 5 Enter the Annual Corporation Registration fee 
amount paid to the Clerk of the Virginia State 
Corporation Commission.

Line 7 Enter the Fee for Safekeeping Deposit amount 
paid to the Treasurer of Virginia.

Line 10 Enter the amount of the annual maintenance 
assessment paid to the Virginia State Corporation 
Commission’s Bureau of Insurance.

Line 11 Enter the amount of the Fire Programs Fund 
assessment paid to the Virginia State Corporation 
Commission’s Bureau of Insurance.

Line 12 Enter the amount of the Dam Safety, Flood 
Prevention and Protection Assistance Fund 
assessment paid to the Virginia State Corporation 
Commission’s Bureau of Insurance.

Line 13 Enter the amount of the Help Eliminate 
Automobile Theft (HEAT) Fund assessment paid 
to the Virginia State Corporation Commission’s 
Bureau of Insurance.

Line 14 Enter the amount of the Virginia State Police 
Insurance Fraud Fund assessment paid to the 
Virginia State Corporation Commission’s Bureau 
of Insurance.

Line 15 Enter the amount of the Managed Care Health 
Insurance Plan (MCHIP) assessment paid to the 
Virginia State Corporation Commission’s Bureau 
of Insurance.

Line 16 Enter the amount of the Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation assessment 
paid to the Virginia State Corporation 
Commission’s Bureau of Insurance.
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Line 19 Enter the number of initial and renewal Agent/
Agency Appointment Fees paid to the Virginia 
State Corporation Commission’s Bureau of 
Insurance.

Line 20 Other – Specify in detail other taxes or fees not 
listed and paid to Virginia. 

Line 21 Total of Column A, Line 1 through Line 20c.

Column B – Basis for State Domicile as of 12/31/23 

Enter state abbreviation in the box under the heading.

Line 1 Enter the amount of insurance premiums license 
tax that you would have paid in your state of 
domicile on the amount of premium income 
allocated to Virginia for the 2023 taxable year. To 
compute this amount, deduct the Virginia Workers’ 
Compensation Premium from Direct Premiums 
shown on Schedule T, and adjusted based on the 
allowances of your state of domicile, multiplied 
by the insurance premiums license tax rate(s) of 
your state of domicile. Enclose documentation to 
support your computation.

Line 2 Enter the amount of annuity or fire marshall taxes 
on the basis of your state of domicile. Calculate 
the amount based upon annuity or fire premium 
income derived in Virginia and adjusted by the 
basis of your state of domicile multiplied by 
the tax rate of your state of domicile. You must 
include the premium income used to determine 
the amount entered on Line 2, Column B on 
Line 2, Section A.

Line 4 Enter the company license or certificate of 
authority fee amount for conducting business in 
your state of domicile for the current taxable year 
on the basis of your state of domicile.

Line 5  Enter the annual corporation registration fee 
amount for conducting business in your state of 
domicile for the current taxable year on the basis 
of your state of domicile.

Line 6 Enter the annual statement filing, abstract, or 
publication fee amount for conducting business 
in your state of domicile for the current taxable 
year on the basis of your state of domicile.

Line 7 Enter the safekeeping deposit fee amount for 
conducting business in your state of domicile for 
the current taxable year on the basis of your state 
of domicile.

Line 8 Enter the corporation permit tax amount for 
conducting business in your state of domicile for 
the current taxable year on the basis of your state 
of domicile.

Line 9 Enter the capital stock tax amount for conducting 
business in your state of domicile for the current 
taxable year on the basis of your state of domicile.

Line 10 Enter the assessment for maintenance of the 
Bureau of Insurance amount for conducting 

business in your state of domicile for the current 
taxable year on the basis of your state of domicile.

Line 11 Enter the fire programs assessment amount for 
conducting business in your state of domicile for 
the current taxable year on the basis of your state 
of domicile.

Line 12 Enter the flood assessment amount for conducting 
business in your state of domicile for the current 
taxable year on the basis of your state of domicile.

Line 13 Enter the HEAT assessment amount for 
conducting business in your state of domicile for 
the current taxable year on the basis of your state 
of domicile.

Line 14 Enter the fraud assessment amount for 
conducting business in your state of domicile for 
the current taxable year on the basis of your state 
of domicile.

Line 15 Enter the managed care health insurance plan 
assessment amount for conducting business in 
the preceding year on the basis of your state of 
domicile.

Line 16 Enter the birth-related neurological injury fund 
assessment amount for conducting business in 
your state of domicile for the current taxable year 
on the basis of your state of domicile.

Line 17 Enter the municipal average gross premiums tax 
amount for conducting business in your state 
of domicile. This calculation is based upon the 
amount of premium income derived in Virginia 
multiplied by the state of domicile average 
municipal tax rate(s) provided by the Department. 
Companies domiciled in Kentucky must provide 
the amount of premium income from policies 
issued during the previous year. Companies 
domiciled in Alabama must provide the premium 
income amount of policies renewed without 
change.

Line 18 Enter the municipal average fixed fees amount 
for conducting business in your state of domicile. 
This amount is based upon the average fixed fee 
amounts provided by the Department.

Line 19 Enter the Agent/Agency Appointment Fees 
amount for conducting business in your state 
of domicile. The calculation is based upon the 
number of initial appointments and number of 
renewal appointments in Virginia multiplied by 
the fee imposed by your state of domicile.

Line 20 Other – Enter in detail any other taxes or fees 
not listed and the amount imposed by your state 
of domicile for conducting business in your state 
of domicile. Enclose a spreadsheet if additional 
space is needed.

Line 21 Total of Line 1 – Line 20c, Column B.
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Total Amount Due (Lines 22-24)

Line 22 Compare Line 21, Column A and Line 21, 
Column B. 
– If Line 21, Column A is less than Line 21, 

Column B, the Retaliatory Tax Amount Due is 
Line 21, Column B, minus Line 21, Column A. 
Enter this amount on Line 22. 

– If Line 21, Column A, is greater than Line 21, 
Column B, enter $0 on Line 22.

Line 23 If you are claiming the Virginia Housing 
Opportunity Tax against the retaliatory tax, 
enter the available credit here, less any amount 
claimed on the Schedule 800CR. The amount on 
Line 23 cannot exceed the amount on Line 22. 
See Page 10 of these instructions for additional 
information on the Virginia Housing Opportunity 
Tax Credit.

Line 24 Subtract Line 23 from Line 22. Enter the net 
retaliatory tax on Form 800, Line 17. Note: this 
amount cannot be less than zero.

Schedule 800RET CR Line Instructions

Line 1 Enter the amount of retaliatory cost paid, as 
defined in Va. Code § 58.1-2510.

Line 2 If the Retaliatory Costs Tax Credit was received 
for the 2000 taxable year, enter the amount from 
Line 1 multiplied by 100%.

Line 3 If the Retaliatory Costs Tax Credit was not 
received for the 2000 taxable year, enter the 
amount from Line 1 multiplied by 60%.

Line 4 Enter the amount of Retaliatory Costs Tax Credit 
carryover from prior years.

Line 5 Total Retaliatory Costs Tax Credit available. Enter 
the sum of Lines 2, 3, and 4.

Line 6  Retaliatory Costs Tax Credit allocated. Enter the 
sum of Lines 6a through 6f.

Line 7 Remaining Retaliatory Costs available for refund. 
Subtract Line 6 from Line 5 and enter on Line 7.

Line 8  Refundable Retaliatory Costs Tax Credit Allowed. 
Check the applicable box to identify your refund. 
Check the first box if the amount on Line 2 
is greater than 0. Your refund cannot exceed 
$7,000,000. Provide details on the schedule to 
allocate the credit amount available on Line 5. 
Enclose a separate schedule if more space is 
needed. 
Check the second box if the amount on Line 3 
is greater than 0. Your refund cannot exceed 
$800,000. Provide details on the schedule to 
allocate the credit amount available on Line 5. 
Enclose a separate schedule if more space is 
needed.

Enter on Line 8 the lesser of the Remaining 
Retaliatory Costs available from Line 7 or the 
Retaliatory Costs Tax Credit Limit.

Line 9 Retaliatory Costs Tax Credit. Enter the sum of 
Line 6 plus Line 8 here and on Schedule 800CR, 
Section 3, Part 1, Line 1A.

Line 10 Carryover Retaliatory Tax Credit. Line 5 minus 
the sum of Line 6 and Line 8. This is the amount 
of Retaliatory Tax Credit to be carried forward to 
taxable year 2024.

Schedule 800B Line Instructions

Column A Enter the assessment notice date received 
from the guaranty fund association for each 
certificate of contribution being claimed for 
credit against the insurance premiums license 
tax.

Column B Enter the certificate of contribution date for 
each certificate received from the guaranty 
fund association for credits claimed.

Column C Enter the certificate of contribution amount 
for each certificate of contribution received 
from the guaranty fund association for credits 
claimed.

Column D An insurance company is allowed to claim an 
amortized credit over the 10 calendar years 
following the year the contribution was paid, 
in an annual amount equal to 10% of the 
contribution. Calculate and enter the allowable 
amortized amount from each certificate of 
contribution for the taxable year. Sum the 
amounts from Column D and enter the total 
on Line 16, Column D. Enter the total amount 
from Line 16 of Column D on Schedule 800CR, 
Section 1, Part 7, Line A. 

Column E Check the appropriate box to indicate whether 
the guaranty fund assessment on each 
certificate of contribution was expensed on 
your company’s financial income statement. 
If your company included the guaranty fund 
assessment as an asset on its financial income 
statement, check yes. Otherwise, check no. If 
you checked “Yes” for any certificate claimed 
for credit and this is the first year you expensed 
the certificate(s) claimed the Guaranty Fund 
Assessment(s) on your Income Statement or 
you previously expensed the Guaranty Fund 
Assessment(s) on your Income Statement and 
the Federal Income Tax rate was adjusted, 
check the “Yes” box on Schedule 800CR, 
Section 1, Part 7, Line B.

Column F Enter your company’s effective federal income 
tax rate for the year in which the guaranty fund 
assessment was deducted for each assessment 
where you indicated “Yes” in Column E. 
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Column G The amount of any Guaranty Fund Assessment 
Credit claimed by an insurance company 
must be reduced by the same amount which 
federal income taxes were reduced for the 
same assessment. Enter the reduction in the 
allowable credit amount for the taxable year 
as result of treatment for federal income tax 
for each assessment where you indicated 
“Yes” in Column E. Multiply Column C by 
Column F. Divide the product by 10 and enter in 
Column G. Enter the total amount from Line 16 
of Column G on Schedule 800CR, Section 1, 
Part 7, Line C.

Column H Enter the Guaranty Fund Assessment Credit 
allowable amount for taxable year 2023 for each 
certificate of contribution. Add the amounts from 
Column H and enter on Line 16 of Column H. 
The amount on Schedule 800CR, Section 1, 
Part 7, Line 7D should be either the amount 
from Column H, Line 16 of Schedule 800B or 
the total amount of credit that may be claimed 
against the remaining tax liability, whichever is 
less. Any unused credits may not be carried 
forward to future taxable years. Subtract the 
amount(s) in Column G from the amount(s) in 
Column D and enter on the appropriate line in 
Column H. 


