Choose the tax type you need to pay below.

If you've already received a bill or notice of assessment for this payment, go to bill payment options.

Use these options if you're paying after you've filed your return. You may also pay at the time of filing through approved electronic filing options

Online, directly from your bank account (free)

Log in to your individual online services account to pay directly from your checking or savings account. Just log in and choose Make a Web/Return Payment.

Don’t have an individual account? Enroll now. You'll need a copy of your most recently filed Virginia Tax return to enroll. 

Not ready to create an account? 

You can pay direct debit from your checking account using eForms. 

Credit or debit card (fee)

Make a return payment (personal income tax) through Official Payments Corporation. A convenience fee is added to each payment you make with your card.

Check or money order

Mail the 760PMT voucher with check or money order payable to Virginia Department of Taxation to:

Virginia Department of Taxation
P.O. Box 1478
Richmond, VA 23218-0760

Include your Social Security number and the tax period for the payment on the check. 

Qualifying farmers, fishermen, and merchant seamen should use the 760PFF voucher. 

Note: If you filed a paper return with your local Commissioner, mail the voucher and check to the same place you sent your return and make the check payable to the local Treasurer.

Payment Fee - Returned Payments

If your financial institution does not honor your payment to us, we may impose a $35 fee (Code of Virginia § 2.2-614.1). This fee is in addition to any other penalties and interest you may owe.

Use these options before May 1 to avoid penalties & interest if you're filing your return during the 6-month extension period (May 1 through November 1, 2017), but expect to owe taxes. 

Online, directly from your bank account (free)

Log in to your individual online services account to pay directly from your checking or savings account. Just log in and choose Make a Filing Extension Payment.

Don’t have an individual account? Enroll now. You'll need a copy of your most recently filed Virginia Tax return to enroll. 

Not ready to create an account? 

You can pay direct debit from your checking account using eForms. 

Note: Check with your bank before setting up a debit transaction to make sure they'll accept the payment. If your bank denies your payment, it's handled like a returned check and a $35 returned payment fee will apply. 

Check or money order

Mail the 760IP voucher with check or money order payable to Virginia Department of Taxation to:

Virginia Department of Taxation
P.O. Box 760
Richmond, VA 23218-0760

Include your Social Security number and the tax period for the payment on the check. 

Payment Fee - Returned Payments

If your financial institution does not honor your payment to us, we may impose a $35 fee (Code of Virginia § 2.2-614.1). This fee is in addition to any other penalties and interest you may owe.

Online, directly from your bank account (free)

Log in to your individual online services account to pay directly from your checking or savings account. Just log in, choose Make an Estimated Payment, and:

  • schedule all 4 quarterly payments in advance,
  • save your banking information,
  • view your account history, and
  • receive confirmation that we've accepted your payment.

Don’t have an individual account? Enroll now. You'll need a copy of your most recently filed Virginia Tax return to enroll. 

Not ready to create an account? 

You can pay from your checking account using eForms - make sure to choose the correct voucher number for the payment you're making.

Note: Check with your bank before setting up a debit transaction to make sure they'll accept the payment. If your bank denies your payment, it's handled like a returned check and a $35 returned payment fee will apply. 

Credit or debit card (fee)

Make an estimated payment (personal income tax - estimated payments) through Official Payments Corporation. A convenience fee is added to each payment you make with your card.

Check or money order

Mail the correct 760ES voucher for the tax period to:

Virginia Department of Taxation
P.O. Box 1478
Richmond, VA 23218-1478

Attach check or money order payable to Virginia Department of Taxation. Include your Social Security number and the tax period for the payment on the check. 

Payment Fee - Returned Payments

If your financial institution does not honor your payment to us, we may impose a $35 fee (Code of Virginia § 2.2-614.1). This fee is in addition to any other penalties and interest you may owe.